Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Hot Yoga at Home and WIAW

I really look forward to Wednesdays… being a part of WIAW saves me from thinking too much about what to post!

Peas and Crayons

With my coffee in the morning I enjoyed more of my favorite bread (walnut raisin) and new favorite peanut butter.   It’s very calorie dense (as are all nut butters), but I find myself satisfied with just a teaspoon or so.

image

The return of carrot cake oats.  So.  Darn.  Good.  I had made them before in the form of the carrot cake breakfast cookie, but the overnight version is equally amazing.

image

In the bowl: 1/3 cup oats (90% cooked with 1 cup water), 1/2 scoop protein powder, .5 Tbsp almond butter, 1 tsp chia seeds, 1/4 cup shredded carrot, 2 Tbsp raisins, 1 Tbsp dried coconut, 1/2 tsp allspice, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1 packet Splenda, 1/4 tsp vanilla – refrigerated overnight.  I added a few tablespoons of vanilla soymilk to thin them out in the morning.   So delicious!

Approximate nutrition: 260 calories, 9g fat, 29g carbs, 16 protein

Lunch was kind of boring but satisfying: tuna salad with Laughing Cow swiss, light miracle whip, and a tiny bit of relish on lite wheat bread.  I wish I had a red pepper on the side but that’s recycled from another post; I had an apple with almond butter instead.

Mid afternoon snack: cookie dough protein ball (a combo of Gina and Averie’s recipes) and a Venti Iced Passion Tea.

image

Not pictured: greek yogurt with strawberries

It’s been incredibly hot and humid here in Pittsburgh.  I debated going to hot yoga after work but decided against it.  When I got home, my bedroom (which has skylights and no airconditioning) was about 100 degrees.  I rolled out my yoga mat, downloaded an hour long class on iTunes, and did some hot yoga on my own!

My late dinner was a plate of leftovers – my vegetarian enchiladas and a piece of a sweet corn cake.  Mexican is always satisfying!

image

For dessert, I whipped up some strawberry banana soft serve in my magic bullet.

image

Incredibly simple: 1/2 frozen banana, 5 large strawberries, 1/2 scoop vanilla protein, dash of vanilla, and a tiny bit of the liquid from my Fage container to get it all blended.  The cup full of fruit shrunk down to about 1/4 cup when blended, so I added some ice cubes and a pinch of xanthan gum to make it more voluminous.

image

A perfect light and cool treat for a hot night.

Do you live without airconditioning?  Usually it doesn’t bother me, but a few 90+ degree days in a row and I’m pretty miserable!

32 responses to “Hot Yoga at Home and WIAW

  1. Shanna, like Banana June 1, 2011 at 2:11 pm

    We have AC but rarely need it since Cali weather stays pretty dry and quite cool at night. I still turn it on when it gets to about 77 inside 😉

  2. Beyond Bananas June 1, 2011 at 2:11 pm

    We have A/C.. but try to wait til it is pretty hot to turn it on… for money saving reasons. Well.. that is how I look at it. I get home. and sit in the house.. sweating.. being like.. ahh a little sweat won’t kill ya.

    As soon as Justin walks in the door.. he runs to the AC and turns it on full blast!

  3. Laura @ S2theT June 1, 2011 at 2:25 pm

    Carrot cake oats are one of my favorite blog finds. Best breakfast ever!

    I’d die without A/C. It’s going to be over 90 here today!!!

  4. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) June 1, 2011 at 3:40 pm

    Sweet corn cake may be the best Mexican side dish ever. 🙂

    It is SO hot lately. I love hot weather, but I’m not 100% used to it yet. I’ll take this over snow any day though!

  5. Jenny June 1, 2011 at 3:46 pm

    Omg in Miami without AC it would be terrible. It’s really hot here. Love your soft serve with banana and strawberries. I have a Magic Bullet too and you definitely need some kind of liquid to get it going 😀

  6. mindrunningwild June 1, 2011 at 6:22 pm

    I think the question is WOULD I live without it and no, I don’t think I could, even in New York State.
    that pb is so delish, you’re right that you only need a bit!

  7. Heather June 1, 2011 at 7:01 pm

    I love tuna and laughing cow! I lived w/o AC in college since I went to school in the NC mtns, but it still got really hot there and was miserable at time.

  8. pumpedforpumpkin June 1, 2011 at 7:11 pm

    I love that it was so hot you could do yoga at home! My mom puts on the AC but I could live without it although I much prefer it on 🙂 Your lunch looks awesome I need some of those protein balls!

  9. Daniella @ Runner at Heart June 1, 2011 at 8:23 pm

    I love air conditionining at home I hate to be hot when I sleep but I always freeze at work, so I guess my answer is yes and no.

  10. Suzzie V June 1, 2011 at 11:08 pm

    Those protein cookies look so yummy!

  11. Claire @ livingspreethegoodlife June 1, 2011 at 11:55 pm

    So awesome that you did some hot yoga in your room (way to find a way to use the heat where you live to your advantage!!)

    P.S. I love tuna for lunch too, I don’t know why. I put a bit of hummus and a drop of dijon mustard in it and it tastes so creamy. Mmmm

  12. Jenn @ Peas & Crayons June 2, 2011 at 12:55 am

    Walnut raisin bread!? hello if I can get my hands on some that will be my new fav as well! =) Happy WIAW Claire!!!

  13. kate June 2, 2011 at 1:56 am

    ooh your eats look delicious.. I love that you did hot yoga at home I have been wanting to try it forever!!!

  14. Katie June 2, 2011 at 2:15 am

    I have had so manyboat combos but never carrot cake! I need to!!

    It was hot here today too!!

    Hope your night was great!! Xoxo

  15. Jenny @ Fitness Health and Food June 2, 2011 at 3:29 am

    No AC for us because we live in a garden apt and have bars on our windows!

    We use lots of chilled La Croix waters are our ‘AC’ 😛

    love the look of your overnight carrot cake oats, I’ve made it hot but that looks even better 🙂

  16. Kate (What Kate is Cooking) June 2, 2011 at 3:59 am

    We only got air conditioning about five years ago. It can get miserable without it! Summers are actually pretty mild here- it’s fall when it gets really hot :/

  17. char June 2, 2011 at 12:45 pm

    Hot yoga at home – very cost effective and productive! I can handle no AC for warm days but when it gets reeeeally hot, then it’s nice to turn it on if you have the option! I’m not saying I have the option right now, but it’d be nice haha

  18. LizAshlee June 2, 2011 at 12:50 pm

    Tasty eats! I need to get back to doing YOGA! I haven’t done yoga in a couple months and I am missing it!

    Go you for doing hot yoga after work…I am not sure I could pull that off…I do much better with an AM workout!

    Have a great day!

  19. kristina@beancakes June 2, 2011 at 1:38 pm

    i love that peanut butter! that’s a cute idea ~ WIAW, i may just have to join in!, and as for air-conditioning, it depends on where i’m living at the time. in CA, i never need it as it doesn’t really exist in NorCal, but in the midwest ~ heck yes! 😉
    xo~kristina
    http://beancakes.wordpress.com/

  20. Pingback: Causes And Protein Cookie Dough Bites « Live and Love to Eat

  21. emily (a nutritionist eats) June 2, 2011 at 2:11 pm

    Oooh, I don’t think that my fiance could live without ac. And I’m not so sure I’d want to live with him without it! 😉

  22. Lisa @ Healthful Sense June 2, 2011 at 2:13 pm

    I don’t like it too hot either… or the opposite, being too cold. I guess if I would have to chose though i would rather be too hot. Love the carrot cake oatmeal in the AM.

Leave a Reply

