Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Balsamic Artichoke Ravioli and Changed Plans

Last week when Ali posted her recipe for Balsamic Butter Pasta, I knew I had to try it.  I love balsamic on anything – have you tried balsamic strawberry gelato?  To die for!  I use balsamic vinegar instead of regular salad dressing and save a lot of calories that way.

Our Friday night was spent at Trader Joe’s since it’s out of the way and I only go there about once a month.  My fiance’ saw the following pasta and tossed it into my basket:

image

I’m also a sucker for anything artichoke, so I thought it would be a good application for the balsamic sauce.  I planned to cook it with the suggest zucchini, along with onion, eggplant, and some spinach.

However, my father had used the zucchini the night before and my spinach turned into the previous meal’s salad course.  What to do when your dinner plans go awry at the last minute?

Open a bottle of whine wine.

image

And dig some other random vegetables out of the fridge.  Enter green onions and green bell pepper.

image

The recipe calls for reducing 1/2 cup of balsamic vinegar, which I thought I had a large jug of in the pantry.  Wrong again.  Luckily I did have this yummy balsamic glaze on hand.  It’s already like a reduced balsamic vinegar, with sugar and xanthan gum added.

image

After the eggplant, peppers, and onions softened, I turned off the heat and stirred in a chopped tomato and some of the glaze.

image

I added the veggies to the cooked ravioli and topped with some Italian cheese blend and another drizzle of the glaze.

image

Per the package, about 3 ravioli make up a serving.  According to my fiance’, about 8 make up a serving.  The next day’s lunch plans were foiled as well, but that’s okay – he’s lucky I love him so much.

image

Things don’t always turn out this well when I’m forced to improvize, but I was pretty happy with this dish.

How do you react when things (in the kitchen or otherwise) don’t go as planned?

10 responses to “Balsamic Artichoke Ravioli and Changed Plans

  1. kristina@beancakes June 7, 2011 at 12:21 pm

    not good! well, i’m getting better at not being such a perfectionist! haha! i LOVE artichokes & that looks divine! 😉
    xo~ kristina
    http://beancakes.wordpress.com/

  2. Shanna, like Banana June 7, 2011 at 2:27 pm

    I’ll have to try this since I’m really starting to like balsamic on pastas and what not.

    Luckily most of my improvs have worked well in the kitchen (so far).

  3. Hannah (tickledtofu) June 7, 2011 at 2:41 pm

    That looks so delicious!!! I love having to make up new recipes as I go along..I feel like my cooking never goes as planned, but in a good way!

  4. jenn @ peas and crayons June 7, 2011 at 5:29 pm

    I’d be happy with it too! it sounds and looks gorgeous! I loooove those ravioli! Theres another brand that makes mushroom ones that are so to die for I keep them in my freezer at alll times! ❤

  5. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) June 7, 2011 at 6:23 pm

    I don’t deal with it well, and would probably go back – or send my husband back – to the store! But I think you did great! I like the addition of wine to ease the pain. 🙂

Leave a Reply

