Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

The Best Hummus In The Whole Wide World

I thought that I was a part of a friendly, information sharing community.  A place where I could get great ideas and information about healthy living, exercise, and most importantly, food.

I was wrong.

How could you hold out on me?

Why didn’t you tell me about TBHITWWW (the best hummus in the whole wide world)?

image

Trader Joe’s only happens about once a month since it’s a bit of a drive from where I live, and would be against traffic in the middle of the week.  However, the fiance’ and I had a fantastic date night there last Friday and I discovered this magical product.

It’s the perfect texture with the most incredible flavor profile.  Oh man.  I could eat the whole thing with a spoon.

image

Or some Special K crackers.  I’d recommend the Herb flavored ones, not like you care.  But don’t worry, I’ve since taken care of my ugly nails.

image

And as with most TJ”s products, I’ve heard of the majority of the ingredients!  And the nutritional profile is perfect for hummus:

This product has made it’s way into pretty much all of my meals except my breakfast.  But it’s just DYING to be spread on an egg sandwich.

So there you have it.  The best hummus in the world.  I thought I’d be the bigger person here and share it with you.

I’ve never made hummus at home before because I won’t splurge for the huge jar of tahini at my local grocery store. 

Do you have a hummus recipe (preferably without tahini) that you swear by?

23 responses to “The Best Hummus In The Whole Wide World

  1. Jessica Rose June 7, 2011 at 8:40 pm

    Thanks for sharing! I’m definitely going to have my husband (who works next to Trader Joe’s) bring one home for me. I love hummus – on everything. And strangely enough, my cat also loves hummus haha!

  2. char on a mission June 7, 2011 at 9:37 pm

    I’ve never made hummus, but I would love to try. Now seeing this post, I’m kinda kicking myself that I put the hummus back on the shelf yesterday and opted to not buy it in place of other things….darn!

  3. Cait @ Beyond Bananas June 7, 2011 at 9:53 pm

    Yum, tha looks AWESOME! Tomato and basil sounds like a great combo. When I buy – I have a liking for spinach and artichoke hummus!

  4. janetha @ meals & moves June 7, 2011 at 10:01 pm

    I love that hummus! I don’t have a TJs but when I visit my sister in Cali I always tell her to have it on hand. It tastes like pizza!

  5. Alexa @ Simple Eats June 7, 2011 at 10:34 pm

    I’ve heard about this one, it sounds amazing! I love TJ’s white bean hummus, it’s So good!

  6. Lisa @ Healthful Sense June 8, 2011 at 12:22 am

    I have to admit that I never make hummus. The hummus at Trader Joe’s is just too good. I luuuv the tomato basil hummus and the original hummus.

  7. Regan @ The Professional Palaate June 8, 2011 at 1:08 am

    Since I’m a big old loser that has no access to TJ in less than a 2 1/2 hr drive, I make my own hummus. I gave up on store versions a while back… they all seemed to have a fake garlic flavor. A friend of mine at Cooking Light told me about a version that she loved that didn’t use Tahini (b/c although I don’t mind buying it, I’ve been burned by too many jars that were rancid… not enough turnover on store shelves.) I took that recipe & tweaked it. Here’s my version. I make this about once a week: http://professionalpalate.squarespace.com/recipes/2011/4/22/roasted-yellow-pepper-hummus.html

  8. mandeelicious June 8, 2011 at 1:39 am

    Well thank YOU for notifying me of the best hummus in the whole wide world!! I will be picking up a container tomorrow!

  9. Sarah @ The Smart Kitchen June 8, 2011 at 2:36 am

    All of mine…since I never make them with tahini. 🙂

  10. Diana @ VeggieNextDoor June 8, 2011 at 2:43 am

    The PPK forum (http://www.theppk.com/) has a good thread of everyone’s favorite (vegan) trader joe products. This one was mentioned several times so it is sitting in my fridge right now, though I’ve yet to try it!

  11. Diana @ VeggieNextDoor June 8, 2011 at 2:44 am

    P.S. it is totally worth it to get the huge jar of tahini. That will make loads and loads and loads of hummus!

  12. Claire @ livingspreethegoodlife June 8, 2011 at 8:45 pm

    OMG. I seriously LOVE Trader Joe’s hummus too! It’s the only kind I eat (if I can help it 🙂 ) It’s just so creamy…or something, I can’t put my finger on it. Once, on the way back from the store I ate more than half of the container (whoops!)

Leave a Reply

