Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Grilling (and Tempeh) 101

Disclaimer – this is not a lesson in grilling.  This was my self taught first grilling experience. 😉

I picked up some tempeh from TJ’s to try it for the first time and was pumped to pick up a 3 pack of colored bell peppers for $2.99!  1, I was excited that the price was so great, and 2, they’re sold by package, not by weight, so I got some HUGE peppers – it was like hitting the pepper lottery.

Food nerd much?

Anyway.  I needed to use the peppers because they were beginning to get soft and I was at a loss for how to use the tempeh.  I know people eat it raw but I wanted to add some flavor and cook it, so I threw it in a quick barbeque marinade and attempted to not blow up the neighborhood while lighting the gas grill.

image

I had a little leftover eggplant on hand (previously used on pizza and with pasta), so I threw those slices on the grill as well.

image

No explosion = success in my book!

image

Check out those grill marks!  I used half of the tempeh block, cut down the middle to make the slices thinner.

After a good airdyne bike workout I was in the mood for some carbs – enter Mancini Italian bread (famous Pittsburgh bakery).  And of course bread always tastes better toasted, thanks to the Maillard reaction that occurs and causes the bread to brown and become sweet tasting. 

Food nerd moment #2.

image

I know I saw an episode of “Boy Meets Grill” where Bobby Flay had some incredibly simple method of peeling the blackened skins off the roasted peppers, but I just couldn’t remember his strategy.  However, it was worth the finger burning and slight frustration to get to the yummy, soft, roasted pepper underneath. 

Add some goat cheese and TBHITWWW, and there’s no failing with this meal.

image

Assembly…

image

Satisfaction and success!

image

WIN!

I LOVED all of the flavor combinations on this sandwich, and the tempeh was yummy, though plain – even with the barbeque sauce it just tasted like tightly packed brown rice, but that’s still okay in my book.

image

Can’t forget dessert!  I found a jar of tart pitted cherries in the pantry – I have no idea when or how they got there or what they were intended for.  I decided they’d make a yummy smoothie.

I combined 1/2 cup of the cherries (drained), 1/2 frozen banana, vanilla soymilk, protein powder, xanthan gum, and 1 small piece of dark chocolate in a bullet cup.

image

Dark chocolate covered cherry smoothie anyone?

image

Double win.

Are you an experienced griller?  What’s your favorite way to use grilled veggies?

18 responses to “Grilling (and Tempeh) 101

  1. Shanna, like Banana June 9, 2011 at 5:35 pm

    Ooohh very creative! I would have just doused my sandwich in add’l BBQ sauce, because, well, I just can’t get enough.

    My hubby is the griller in our house, but I like grilled pizza!

  2. Eva June 9, 2011 at 5:37 pm

    Thank you so much for posting this! I really like tempeh and I add it to salads, but I loved reading your post about grilling it. Your sandwich with the grilled peppers looked amazing. Also – what exactly is xanathan gum? Does it have a taste? Do you add it to just smoothies, oatmeal, etc? Thanks!!

  3. sprint2thetable June 9, 2011 at 6:55 pm

    I WISH I had a grill! Silly condo rules. I do regularly invited myself to friend’s houses to take their over. 🙂

    “Cherry Bombs” in the Magic Bullet are one of my fav desserts. YUM.

  4. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) June 9, 2011 at 7:30 pm

    The sandwich looks SO good! I still need to try tempeh baked at home – I’m a little nervous. You make it look easy though!

  5. Alexa @ Simple Eats June 9, 2011 at 9:52 pm

    You’re a brave girl for using the grill, I wouldn’t know where to begin. This sandwich sounds fantastic, I really need to try tempeh!

  6. allieksmith June 9, 2011 at 11:03 pm

    YUM 🙂 I have just recently started grilling and I just like to pour some olive oil and sea salt + pepper

  7. kristina@beancakes June 10, 2011 at 1:23 am

    I am in no way an experienced griller, i leave that to my husband! i DO believe that i’d be pretty good at grilling veggies though 😉 that meal that you made looks delish!!
    xoxo~ kristina

  8. tickledtofu June 10, 2011 at 4:42 am

    Yummy yummy! I’m more of a kabob type of girl!

  9. Tiff June 10, 2011 at 2:31 pm

    Will you come grill my dinner tonight???

  10. Pingback: Page not found « Live and Love to Eat

  11. Pingback: Miscellaneous Monday « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

