Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Simple Pleasures

How to start the day in Pittsburgh in the summer?

Left over Frappuccino + iced coffee + magic bullet + Steeler Tervis Tumbler, of course.

image

Followed by the most delicious and filling overnight oat combination yet – carrot cake 10 grain oats!

1) Add 1 cup water to 1/4 cup BRM 10 Grain Hot Cereal and 1/4 cup oats.  Microwave.

2) Mix in 1/2 cup shredded carrot, 1/2 scoop protein powder, and 1 Tbsp raisins.  Add more water/milk until the cereal won’t absorb any more.

3) Add other mix-ins – chia seeds, cinnamon, stevia, etc.  Sit in fridge overnight.

In the morning you have 1.5+ cups of delicious cold cereal right around 300 calories.  So good!

image

When I got home from work yesterday, I had a lovely heavy package on my doorstep.  At first I got excited that it was my wedding invitations arriving, but it was actually a giveaway I won on Heather’s [fabulous] blog.

image

3 bottle’s of Tazo’s new naturally sweetened (Stevia) Iced Chai, a cute insulated tote, and 2 glasses from Crate and Barrel.  I’m pumped to try this since I love their regular chai so much.  I threw one in my lunch bag for today.

image

Sweet and no calories?  Count me in!

Don’t judge, but the next thing I got in the mail was equally exciting!

image

NKOTBSB baby!  Next Wednesday my BFF/Maid of Honor will attend our 6th Backstreet concert together.  I’ll always love my boybands! 😉

Happy Friday all!

What simple pleasures are you enjoying these days?

 

24 responses to “Simple Pleasures

  1. sprint2thetable June 10, 2011 at 1:41 pm

    Ohhhh… I love my hot carrot cake oats. Love the idea of having them chilled and ready to go in the AM!

    Happy Friday!

  2. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) June 10, 2011 at 1:59 pm

    Ahhh, I’m going to be at Consol tonight!!!

    BSB sounds really fun. 🙂

  3. hungryhealthyhappy June 10, 2011 at 5:22 pm

    This is going to sound super dorky, but I am loving the Wicked/Glee channel on Pandora! I crank it up and belt out the tunes (very badly) at the top of my lungs. Never fails to make me smile! 🙂

    Have a great weekend!

  4. char on a mission June 10, 2011 at 5:45 pm

    They just had their concert here in Toronto last night and the night before. The last time I went to a BSB concert was when they came back, so about 4-5 years ago!

    I am enjoying smoothies right now…preferably the amazing free ones I’m scoring at work! lol

  5. Little Miss Fitness June 10, 2011 at 5:57 pm

    Claire! I’m so glad I stumbled upon your blog–so cute! Congrats on winning the giveaway! Yay! I just posted my very first giveway today! 🙂 Definitely check it out if you get a chance! Maybe you could win twice!

    I love the simple pleasure of hot coffee in the morning! It’s so delightful. 🙂

  6. Katie June 10, 2011 at 8:33 pm

    Hi love! Anthony says we can totally be BFF”s! We should! How fun you are going to NKOTB! I saw them when I was young, was obsessed! I wanted to try to go but with wedding, its too much going on! Im going to britney in boston in august, i hope she comes to Pittsburgh too!

    Love the giveaway you won! Awesome swag!!

    Have so much fun at that concert! I head to PA tomorrow!!!

    xoxo

  7. Alicia at AliGirl Cooks June 10, 2011 at 8:51 pm

    You will love NKOTBSB! I saw them in Philly on Sunday (and I drank a mixed drink out of my Eagles Tervis Tumbler in the parking lot beforehand!).

    Carrot cake overnight oats look delish. I think I will try them for tomorrow morning!

  8. allieksmith June 11, 2011 at 12:49 am

    Love the mug my fellow Pittsburgher !!

    Simple pleasure I have been enjoying? Reading in my pool

  9. Jenny @ Fitness Health and Food June 11, 2011 at 1:06 am

    oh my goodness, I am soo jealous! I want to go to that concert, talk about reliving teenage dreams! 🙂

    I love the look of that oat combo, I’ve made some carrot cake oats but not with my fabulous new protein powder. mmmm 🙂

    Hope you have a wonderful weekend! 🙂

  10. Sara @ Nourish and Flourish June 11, 2011 at 2:56 pm

    Carrot cake oats sound pretty amazing…Love it!

    Maybe I’ll stay in Pittsburgh for the week and join you at the BSB concert Wednesday! Boy bands are the JAM! Please take lots of pictures and share the experience with us!

    I’m staying outside Pittsburgh, in a teeny town called Delmont until tomorrow morning…Then we’re driving into the city for the day to sightsee…Any must-see or must-do recommendations?! Good places to eat, get coffee etc etc?

    Happy weekend!

    • Claire @ Live & Love to Eat June 13, 2011 at 2:32 pm

      I’ve never been to Delmont but Oakland is a great part of town to walk around in – two different frozen yogurt shops (I recommend Razzy Fresh) and a great cafe (Red Oak) that serves local and some vegan/veggie friendly options! Hope you have a blast here!

  11. cheerfulfeast June 11, 2011 at 3:39 pm

    Ahh BSB–they are timeless. Simple pleasure: I got a free iced coffee this morning at Starbucks because they were out when I got there. I only waited for a few minutes and they gave me a free drink!

  12. kristina@beancakes June 13, 2011 at 12:51 pm

    OMG! i loved NKOTB! my girlfriends and i went to their concert back in the 7th grade. my favorite was jordan & my best friend loved joey. HAVE FUN!!!
    xo~ kristina

  13. Holly at Greek Yogurt and Apple Slices June 13, 2011 at 3:52 pm

    AHHHHH! That tumbler…makes me have to overt my eyes 😉

  14. Natalie @ While I Breathe June 13, 2011 at 10:45 pm

    sooo jealous…i want to go to the nkotbsb concert so bad!!! i was with ya with the iced coffee these past few weeks…

    simple pleasures are taking a nap with my puppers and long walks with her on days like today 🙂

Leave a Reply

