Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Weekend Breakfasts and Wedding Invitations

Good morning and happy Monday to you all!  It was hard to get moving this morning.  A midmorning coffee break might be on the horizon today. 

It’s been hot and humid in Pittsburgh this past week, which makes me crave cool/simple/light meals.  I had breakfast for lunch both Saturday and Sunday.

I’m still not sick of carrot cake oats.  Using 1/4 cup of both regular oats and the 10 grain cereal makes them so filling – and microwaving the shredded carrots with the grains really helps to infuse the carrot flavor throughout.  I add so many combinations of flavors to these – vanilla, chia seeds (mostly to make them thicker), cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, raisins, protein powder, coconut, stevia, almond butter, walnuts – and no matter which ones you add, the result is delicious.  Not photogenic, but delicious.  This morning’s batch:

image

Sunday’s great oat combo came from blueberries, protein powder, nutritional yeast, sunflower seed butter, and cottage cheese.  Blueberry cobbler/muffin-ish.  Another overnight oat win.

 image

I’ve been a big fan of Jillian’s “30 Day Shred” video for a while and have done her “Banish Fat” DVD a few times.  I recently had some credit for Amazon that I needed to spend and ordered both the “Body For Life” book and Jillian’s “No More Trouble Zones”.

Jillian Michaels: No More Trouble Zones [DVD]

They came in the mail on Friday and I wanted to do an at home workout Saturday morning.  With my ankle injury I’ve been limited in the cardio department but thought I’d put on a brace and try to modify the moves in this workout as needed.

What I loved about Jillian’s other DVDs was the combination of cardio and strength training.  “No More Trouble Zones” is much heavier on the strength training than the others – my muscles were actually worked to the point of fatigue, even with light weights.  It’s definitely a great workout, but I’ll use as a substitute for strength training and not cardio in the future.

With my sore muscles I was craving some protein.  I had leftover grilled veggies from my fabulous sandwich that I made into an omelet with some shredded mozzerella.  So filling but healthy at the same time.

image

Having an omelet for breakfast made me miss my daily dose of oats – so I made a cookie dough/oat/protein ball cereal combo for lunch.

Monkey Ball Cookie Dough

1/4 cup oats + 1 Tbsp

1/2 banana

1 Tbsp almond butter

1.5 Tbsp coconut

1) Grind 1/4 cup oats in a blender/food processor/Magic Bullet until it forms a flour.  

image

2) Add remaining ingredients (except extra oats) and blend until a dough is formed.  You may have to scrape down the sides.

image

3) The dough will be very sticky – throw it in the fridge/freezer until chilled, about 30 minutes in the freezer or 2 hours in the fridge.

4) Stir in remaining Tbsp of oats and roll into small balls (about a teaspoon each).  Enjoy alone or topped with milk/milk substitute of choice!

image

image

The most exciting part of my weekend?  OUR WEDDING INVITATIONS CAME!  I had them made by an amazing designer, Michelle, from her Etsy shop.  We’re saving money here and there with the wedding but the invitations were definitely a splurge – they cost more than my dress!  But they turned out beautifully and I can’t wait to get them sent out.

image

Is it okay to send out wedding invites before shower invites?  What was the most exciting thing that happened to you this weekend?

23 responses to “Weekend Breakfasts and Wedding Invitations

  1. Shanna, like Banana June 13, 2011 at 2:52 pm

    The invitations are lovely! And yes totally acceptable to send out before the Shower.

    Do you need weights for the Jillian DVDs?

  2. Lisa @ Healthful Sense June 13, 2011 at 3:09 pm

    Morning! The monkey ball cookie dough balls look delish. Love the idea of putting them in milk. Vanilla almond milk!! Yum

  3. Holly at Greek Yogurt and Apple Slices June 13, 2011 at 3:51 pm

    I LOVE your invitations- they are soooo pretty!!
    & yes, that Jillian DVD is more hard core- I actually did some of the circuits this morning after my run. I do love it because I feel like I get a good workout in, like you said, even with light weights.
    Mmmmm about the Monkey ball cookie dough balls- I HAVE to try those- they would be great to have before I head to the gym..I would like to try to eat something, helps give me more energy 🙂

  4. ihearteggs June 13, 2011 at 4:03 pm

    LOVE Your invites! so classy and elegant!!!

    The most exciting thing to happen to me… i guess my house not burning down! ahahah

  5. Jenny June 13, 2011 at 4:05 pm

    Those invitations are adorable. And love those monkey balls, they look delicious! 😀

  6. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) June 13, 2011 at 5:03 pm

    Your invitations look gorgeous!! 🙂

    Not sure about the etiquette on sending…. I didn’t have shower. We just had a joint party thing months before the wedding.

  7. char on a mission June 13, 2011 at 5:08 pm

    Wow, love the look of the invitation. Looks like they were totally worth it! I need to do more Jillian Michaels; I’ve done her 30 day shred once…aka: the one day flop lol.

  8. Tiff June 13, 2011 at 8:15 pm

    What lovely invites! How exciting. 🙂

  9. Maria June 13, 2011 at 9:24 pm

    The wedding invites look amazing… you must be so pleased 🙂

  10. Amanda June 13, 2011 at 10:41 pm

    LOVE your invites! Ours should be in in the next week or so…I can’t wait to see them!!

    When is your shower compared to the wedding? I’ve always hear that your wedding invites should go out 6-8 weeks before the wedding. (I’m actually doing 6 weeks from the RSVP date, but close enough) Shower invites should be sent 4 weeks before the shower…my invites were sent out something like 8 weeks before the shower, but I had no control over that 🙂

  11. kristina@beancakes June 14, 2011 at 5:21 pm

    those wedding invites are gorgeous! so excited for you! you know i’m the wrong person to be asking questions about weddings, so i don’t have a good answer for you, sorry love!! an exciting thing that happened over the week-end was that i bought this really cool ring, it’s made out of wood and shell ~ the price was great, so i’m extra happy 😉
    xo ~ kristina

  12. Cait's Plate June 14, 2011 at 5:27 pm

    Oh my gosh your invitations are BEAUTIFUL. Such an exciting time 🙂

  13. Alexa @ Simple Eats June 14, 2011 at 6:09 pm

    Oh my gosh your invites are SO pretty! Love them!

  14. Pingback: Vacation All I Ever Wanted, Vacation Had To… Stay in town? « The Healthy Verdict

Leave a Reply

