Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Taking a Break From Oatmeal

I’m sorry to be posting so late – I had my first session of physical therapy to hopefully rehab my ankle.  My ortho said I could start “weaning” from the boot, which scared me.  At first I was so against wearing it at all – until you guys convinced me to – but then I was scared to part with it.  My biggest fear is reinjury – especially since they never pinpointed whether I had tendonitis, a muscle tear, or a fracture (it wasn’t worth the MRI since they treat them all identically).

Anyway, physical therapy was interesting but my ankle is extremely sore now.  I’ve progressed to a regular stationary bike at the gym (no more Airdyne exhaustion), but still not quite strong enough for spin class.  Oh ankle, please hurry up and heal already!

On that note, I’m not burning nearly as many calories as I used to.  My body hasn’t reacted as severely as I’d feared, and I’m only about 5lbs above my “feel great” weight.  I’m trying to limit snacky foods and empty calories, but I think I need to cut a few here and there.  

I have really become obsessed with overnight oats in the past few months and found some incredible recipes.  But after all of the add-ins to keep me feeling full, they are coming in around 400 calories – which is too much for me for breakfast.   I know that I like to eat more in the evening and still have snacks between meals so I need to cut back my breakfasts.

Goodbye, amazing carrot cake oats.

image

So long, strawberries and cream oats.

image

Farewell, banana nut deliciousness.

image

See ya later, chocolate protein oats.

image

Au revoir, blueberry cobbler oatmeal.

image

Welcome back Kashi Go Lean!

This is a cereal I’ve loved since I first tasted it.  The protein and fiber content keep me full for at least 3 hours, and with a little extra protein powder or fruit on top, I can stay full for around 200 calories.

image

Win!

I’m not breaking up with oats forever, just re-evaluating our daily relationship.  I still LOVE oats and will work them into my diet – just not as 400+ calorie breakfasts!

I’m not encouraging calorie restriction.  I just know that my energy balance equation is currently less impacted by exercise – and I need to control my caloric intake.  I don’t track religiously but I am these days with my wedding less than 3 months away.

Are you a calorie tracker?  Any foods you need to break up with?

16 responses to “Taking a Break From Oatmeal

  1. Shanna, like Banana June 14, 2011 at 7:57 pm

    Yep, I actually do track calories because it works for me. I don’t tell myeslf I have to be under X number per day, but I tally as I go so I know where I’m at comparative to my activity level, etc.

    I too target a 200 cal breakfast — I still eat hot oats everyday, but keep the cals right at 190.

  2. Maria June 14, 2011 at 8:13 pm

    I try not to count calories as I am recovering from Anorexia and try very hard to simply follow my mp. But for those who don’t have a “problem” with food I think it’s a great idea. I hope you can be at your “feel great” weight for your wedding… but just remember you’ll look great whatever 🙂

  3. Smore June 14, 2011 at 8:24 pm

    I try not to count calories but I do anyways. My breakfast oats are always pretty calorie dense too but they are the only thing that fills up me and keeps me satisfied through the morning.

  4. Sarah @ The Smart Kitchen June 14, 2011 at 9:27 pm

    I do track calories…mostly to make sure I’m eating enough! But I’m definitely a snacker and love to eat a lot later in the day and at night, so I keep breakfasts small on purpose.

  5. sprint2thetable June 14, 2011 at 10:26 pm

    I track to ensure I’m eating enough, but the biggest “tracking” reason is to be sure I’m getting the balance of protein/carbs/fiber/fat I need.

    My oats don’t come in at the high of a calorie count though… maybe just cut back on the amount and add protein powder if you are craving the overnight oats? I am digging the chia pudding too. Chia seeds tend to keep me pretty full with the good fats and the hydration factor!

    Glad you’re able to start going boot-less!!!

  6. Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way June 14, 2011 at 11:26 pm

    I don’t track calories officially but I know how much I burn and I have an idea about how much I consume…As a habit from my weight loss days really….I no longer live by calorie counting but the habit is still there!

  7. Beyond Bananas June 14, 2011 at 11:52 pm

    I like to eat bigger breakfasts to get my self going in the day – although I definitely watch how much I add to my oats as to not go overboard!

    I don’t count my calories. I eat when I am hungry.. But I snack on only fruits and veggies. So I suppose it balances out!

  8. Annette @EnjoyYourHealthyLife June 15, 2011 at 12:02 am

    I don’t count calories (I used to) but I can eyeball it usually pretty good. Plus, I try and listen to my body and it definitely tells me when I am satisfied! I do love eating tons of fruits & veggies, and I snack on those in between meals.

    I love oats, but it totally depends on my morning if I get to eat them or not -I do NOT like teaching after eating a bowl of oats! heh. 🙂

  9. Act Fast Chef June 15, 2011 at 1:04 am

    Hi! Found you through Sprint2theTable!
    I do try to generally track my calories. I start off pretty good in the morning, but the time between lunch and dinner is the hardest for me.

    I love Kashi cereals. I typically eat egg whites for breakfast. Every. Single. Day. I need to break up with them and bring something new into my life!

  10. char on a mission June 15, 2011 at 2:51 am

    All those oats will miss you! I find I don’t really count calories. I may look at the amount of calories on packaging and think, “that’s good” or “that’s bad,” but I never look to gage how my overall intake should be. I know restrictions and when or how much to eat, but I’m definitely not a all-day calorie counter!

    I’ve never tried the Kashi Go Lean, but heard so much about it…definitely should pick some up. Good luck with the therapy, and hopefully you’re back on both feet in no time!

  11. Jenny June 15, 2011 at 9:39 pm

    I am definite calorie tracker. I hate when people criticize it but honestly it’s what really works when trying to lose, maintain, or gain weight. I’ve been tracking for about a year now and it helped me lose weight, maintain it and now to gain some back 🙂

  12. Pingback: Confession « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

