Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Iron and NKOTBSB in the Steel City

I’m sorry I’ve been a bad blogger lately!  I’m trying to keep up with responding to comments and still checking in with my favorite bloggers.  Don’t worry, I still love you guys, just been extra busy recently!

As a vegetarian, I worry about eating enough iron.  Since iron is crucial for carrying oxygen in the blood, a low iron level can make you feel really tired and miserable!  I know I get enough protein (since I still eat eggs and fish), but one of my favorite non-animal sources of iron is spinach (for other food sources of iron, click here).

Although green monster smoothies are one of my favorite ways to use spinach, it’s been kind of chilly recently and I’ve worked spinach into my meals in other ways.

Like an egg white, spinach, and laughing cow sandwich on a sandwich thin.

image

Or leftover pasta with spinach, tempeh, and hummus.

image

Or raw on a toasted goat cheese and broiled tomato sandwich.

image

Definitely my favorite of the bunch!

image

NKOTBSB were incredible last night!  It was my 8th BSB show and they never disappoint!  They did a nice mix of performing all together and as separate groups.

image

Oh hey, Mr. Wahlberg.  They climbed through the crowd which got everyone excited.

image

image

Check out my on-the-go cereal container.  The bottom half has a gel that you freeze overnight that keeps your milk cold, and there’s a tiny fold up spoon that hangs out in the lid in the top half.  So convenient for my new breakfast routine!

image

Do you eat breakfast at home or at work?  I’ve been trying to wait until I get to work to stay full longer before lunch.

Which boyband was YOUR favorite? As much fun as the concert was last night, I kind of wish it was just BSB.  I was never an NKOTB fan – and of course you had to pick between BSB and NSYNC!

9 responses to “Iron and NKOTBSB in the Steel City

  1. Shanna, like Banana June 16, 2011 at 7:25 pm

    I eat my breakfast at work at 9a even though I wake up at 620a. I like having it to look forward to!

  2. sprint2thetable June 16, 2011 at 7:32 pm

    I used to love NKOTB! I can’t believe you got to see them!

    Where did you find that cereal container? That may be the coolest container I’ve ever seen.

  3. kristina@beancakes June 16, 2011 at 10:01 pm

    oooh, it looks like you had fun at the concert!! i love NKOTB ~ they were my favorite!!
    xo ~ kristina

  4. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) June 16, 2011 at 11:31 pm

    The concert looked awesome!! I was an N Sync fan all the way, but BSB was pretty cool too. 🙂

    I love the cereal container! Where’d you get it?!

  5. loftyappetite June 17, 2011 at 1:41 am

    I too have an on the go cereal cup and i get made fun of for it at work, but it is pink and fabulous!! unfortunately it’s a little small for my typical cereal portion, but it’s perfect for when i’m in a hurry in the morning! glad i’m not the only cereal nerd 😉

  6. char on a mission June 17, 2011 at 12:36 pm

    What a neat little container! For breakfast, it honestly depends what I’m doing in the morning; like yesterday, I was rushing out the door, so I had to take something portable, but the day before, I had all morning to figure out what to do/eat!

    I did love BSB, but also loved Hanson…yikes!

  7. Maria June 17, 2011 at 2:03 pm

    Never knew there were so many ways to eat spinach haha. And that breakfast box looks fab 🙂

  8. Kate June 21, 2011 at 9:03 pm

    I’ve had a hard time keeping up with blogging and visiting blogs lately too. Hence, me posting on this a week after you wrote. 🙂

    I love that ceral thing! We got a few similar ones as wedding gifts and they are so great! Mine doesn’t have the cool freezing gel in it though, great touch.

    I LOVED BSB back in the day. I wassn’t allowed to go to concerts though so I’ve never seen them live, sadness. Glad you enjoyed, looks like a great show!

Leave a Reply

