Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Blueberry Cheesecake Bars

When I got this month’s Cooking Light, I was intrigued by the recipe for Fresh Cherry Cheesecake Bars.  I didn’t have cherries on hand, but I did have frozen blueberries – a simple substitution (they actually cooked more quickly than the original recipe).

I love that they contain greek yogurt, and next time I’ll definitely experiment with increasing the yogurt and decreasing the cream cheese.

As per usual, I made some substitutions – margarine for butter, TJ’s light cream cheese, Splenda blend, and the blueberries.

I don’t usually like making cheesecake because I hate waiting for it to cool and set.  Patience is not one of my strengths.

image

image

But it was worth it.  I think next time I’d use a small spring-form pan and make it more cake than bar-like. 

image

Approximate nutrition (my version): 130 calories, 6g fat, 16g carbs, 3g protein

17 responses to “Blueberry Cheesecake Bars

  1. Lisa June 21, 2011 at 4:57 pm

    anything with blueberries and cheesecake in the title is a winner to me.

  2. sprint2thetable June 21, 2011 at 8:27 pm

    YUM! These count as breakfast right? Fruit, dairy… :)’

    I bet you could do them in muffin-form too!

  3. Heather June 21, 2011 at 8:38 pm

    I could eat cheesecake for days! Love the substitution of blueberries, that seems like it would taste better anyway;)

  4. Alexa @ Simple Eats June 21, 2011 at 9:18 pm

    Umm these look fan-flippin-tastic. Yum!

  5. char on a mission June 21, 2011 at 9:21 pm

    Oh cheesecake!! Love it! I don’t have patience either…it’s definitely something I have to work on…maybe I should bake tonight because I don’t have my sense of smell/ability to taste I might not be as quick to taste the brownies I want to make since I won’t be able to taste them anyways lol

  6. Cait's Plate June 21, 2011 at 9:38 pm

    Wow those look SO good – and that’s saying something cause I don’t really like blueberries! 🙂

  7. Shanna, like Banana June 21, 2011 at 10:08 pm

    I love cheesecake but hate cream cheese — how ironic right? But these look like something I would definitely make. Very summery too.

  8. anjobanjo22 June 21, 2011 at 10:54 pm

    Oh my lord…blueberries and cheesecake…heaven sent! Yum! Going to have to definitely try this out 🙂

  9. Kristen @ The Red Velvet Life June 22, 2011 at 5:11 am

    Mmm these look fantastic! Perfect for a summer get-together 🙂

Leave a Reply

