Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

WIAW: Tuesday Recap

Happy [WIA] Wednesday all!  Halfway to the weekend!
Peas and Crayons

I started off yesterday with my new go-to breakfast – Kashi Go Lean, vanilla protein powder, half a banana, and almond milk.  I think I might try chocolate protein tomorrow.

image

Around lunch time, the fiance’ came downtown to pick me up because our wedding bands came in!  We went and tried them on, then each met with the sales associate seperately to tell him what we wanted engraved.  Top secret!

On the way back to my office, we stopped at Franktuary, a hot dog shop located in the basement of one of the cathedrals in downtown Pittsburgh (cute name, right?).  I had been there once before but never tried their veggie dog.  They offer a regular frank, a veggie dog, and a locally grown/grass fed all beef dog.  One you pick the frank you can add a bunch of toppings – I of course chose the Mexican veggie dog!

image

When I first became vegetarian I didn’t use many of the faux-meats, but learned to appreciate beans and soy products.  The sodium in some of the substitutes turns me off – but this seemed to interesting not to try.  It tasted so much like a normal hot dog that it almost freaked me out!  The guacamole was definitely the key to the delicious flavor.  Any fellow Pittsburghers been there before?

Speaking of Mexican, I did order the queso, and will definitely share my thoughts with you all!

image

Dessert (back at the office) was one of my chocolate chip cookie cake muffins.  Mmm.

Not pictured: greek yogurt and blueberries before PT.  I had a ton of protein yesterday!

I didn’t get home until after 7 and it was extremely hot and humid – which made me not want to eat a real dinner.  I snacked on my mother’s 3 bean salad (though there were 4 types of beans in this batch) and made a quick smoothie (almond milk, vanilla, ice, stevia).  After running some errands and stopping by the grocery store, I snacked on some cherries and nearly an entire bag of popcorn to end my evening.

image

image

Bad dietitian, right?  It was low fat popcorn.

What are you thoughts on faux-meats?

17 responses to “WIAW: Tuesday Recap

  1. Tiff June 22, 2011 at 12:51 pm

    I’ve been loving popcorn lately too. It hits the spot! I’d love the restaurant too if it were near me – such a clever name/theme. I like fake meats, but I’m not a huuuuge fan. I eat meat, so it’s often easier just to go for that. However, despite their often rubber-like texture, I do like that fake meats are often less greasy.

  2. The Food and Love Diaries June 22, 2011 at 1:07 pm

    Just found your blog through WIAW!! Haha not “bad RD”… I’m about to finish up my dietetic internship (6 months left!! woohoo!) and sometimes I feel like I’m the one ordering the fattiest meal of them all hahaha. Oh well, I’m a foodie.

  3. allieksmith June 22, 2011 at 1:59 pm

    Mm.. popcorn in the summer is delish because it doesn’t fill ya up!

    As for Franktuary .. I have heard of it numerous times BUUT I haven’t been there yet! Now that I know they have a veggie dog I DEF have to check it out!

  4. sprint2thetable June 22, 2011 at 2:09 pm

    Holy mother of delicious – that mexican hot dog looks incredible! I’m ok with faux meats as long as they taste good. 🙂

  5. Lisa @ Healthful Sense June 22, 2011 at 2:33 pm

    Love the veggie hot dog! Congrats on the upcoming wedding!!

  6. LizAshlee June 22, 2011 at 3:46 pm

    Those chocolate chip cookie muffins sound delightful…I feel the same way..undercook them a bit so they are gooey in the middle…my favorite cookie texture!!

    Have a beautiful day! 🙂

  7. Jenn @ Peas and Crayons June 22, 2011 at 5:19 pm

    OHMYGOSH! the mexican veggie dog looks to diiiie for! ❤ I need to find a way to make that at home! =) Happy WIAW Claire!

  8. hungryhealthyhappy June 22, 2011 at 5:25 pm

    I think if you’re not expecting it to actually taste like meat, faux meats are just fine. It’s obviously not going to have the exact same flavor, so I think that’s why people get disappointed.

    I love the food in Pittsburgh! Have you been to Willow? Love that place. It’s outside of the city, but so so fantastic. I will have to look for Franktuary next time I am there!

  9. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) June 22, 2011 at 6:29 pm

    I’ve heard of Franktuary but I’ve never been – it looks good though! I’m not a big hot dog person, but I need to try a veggie burger at some point in my life. 🙂

  10. Ashley June 22, 2011 at 7:12 pm

    Guac on a faux dog – such a wonderful idea. I havent found a faux dog that I liked yet though

  11. kristina@beancakes June 22, 2011 at 10:02 pm

    i LOVE your nail polish!! i like faux meats actually ~ you should try the field roast grain sausages if you haven’t already ~ they are delish!! and although i can’t officially call myself a vegetarian, because i DO eat small amounts of real meat, i really do avoid eating it and feel so much better when i don’t. oh yeah, and chez kristina DOES in fact accept reservations ~ so come on by!! 😉
    xoxo ~ kristina

  12. Shanna, like Banana June 22, 2011 at 10:24 pm

    I love tofu hot dogs — I think they are quite good actually and usually pack a ton of protein for not too many cals — win!

  13. Bianca @ Confessions of a Chocoholic June 23, 2011 at 2:34 am

    Guacamole on a hotdog – or a veggie dog – sounds great! I’m definitely a meat lover but I appreciate faux meats too. I like veggie burgers and seitan.

  14. IHeartVegetables June 23, 2011 at 3:59 am

    I tried some faux pulled pork the other day and I hated it… but it wasn’t the products fault… I don’t like pork. I know, I’m weird for thinking I would. I DO like the boca soy crumbles, and the lightlife mexican crumbles. Oh and the TJ’s soy chorizo! But the fake chicken strips and stuff just aren’t for me!

Leave a Reply

