Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Blog Recipe Night

I got home from physical therapy last night around 7, starving and exhausted.  I didn’t want to eat any of the leftovers in the fridge (most of which weren’t Claire-friendly anyway).  I had sprouted TJ’s tofu and had purchased rice noodles earlier in the week, so I figured it was as good a time as any to try Iowa Girls Eats’s Thai Peanut Noodles that Kristin had linked to earlier this week.  Of course I changed a few things – added garlic powder, used lemon juice instead of water, no chicken or egg, and different veggies (just whatever I had on hand).

I broiled my tofu (1 of the packages from the 2 pack) with some of the sauce from her recipe.

image

Stir-fried the veggies with sesame oil and cooking spray:

image

The cooked rice noodles freaked me out — too much like jellyfish tentacles!

image

Tossed it all together….

image

Totally worth the 20 minutes of prep that this dish took!

image

Dessert?  Homemade granola, based on Julie’s recipe, with Courtney’s genius idea of the sunflower seed butter (because I like it but not on its own and didn’t feel bad using it up), and subbing sugar free maple syrup for the honey.

image

Didn’t get as many clusters as I’d hoped – but the ones that did turn out didn’t last long!

image

Still craving something cool and creamy, I turned 1/2 a frozen banana + 1/2 cup of pitted cherries + almond milk + stevia into a simple smoothie.

image

It was almost overly sweet – and I have an extremely high sweet tolerance! 😉

I still STINK at blogging this week – my Google Reader now simply reads 1000+ – but I will be catching up!  And I get to guest post for my girl Jessica while she’s on vacation, which I’m excited about!

image

Happy weekend all!

Have you tried any blog recipes lately?  Which are your favorites?

10 responses to “Blog Recipe Night

  1. sprint2thetable June 24, 2011 at 7:07 pm

    I haven’t been adding an sweetener to my fruit smoothies lately – the berries are so deliciously sweet on their own right now! YUM.

  2. cheerfulfeast June 24, 2011 at 7:40 pm

    I made Jessica’s peanut butter frosted blondies from How Sweet It Is last week for a BBQ and they were a huge hit. So delicious. http://www.howsweeteats.com/2010/05/peanut-butter-frosted-chocolate-chip-blondies/

    I bookmarked the sweet potato nachos that you made from Heather’s blog–they look so good!

  3. Cait's Plate June 24, 2011 at 7:43 pm

    Loooove baked/broiled tofu! I haven’t tried any lately but I’m dying to make Jessica’s whole wheat banana bread pancakes – I think they may be on tap for breakfast tomorrow 🙂

  4. Shanna, like Banana June 24, 2011 at 9:05 pm

    That dish looks fab — I love those type of noodles..they seem to soak up flavor.

    I’ve tagged a few blogger recipes but haven’t made them quite yet!

  5. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) June 24, 2011 at 9:43 pm

    The rice noodles do look like jellyfish… ahh!! I try blog recipes all the time, mostly smoothies right now. I usually do my own recipes, but blogs definitely started the trend.

    I can’t waitttttt for your guest post, girly! 🙂

  6. Kris | iheartwellness.com June 25, 2011 at 12:45 am

    lol!! the noodles do look like jelly fish!!!! i have never had them before, but would love to!

    xxoo

  7. Paige is Running Around Normal June 25, 2011 at 2:29 pm

    Those rice noodles do look pretty creepy! haha
    I haven’t tried any blog recipes this week, but this weekend will be a different story 🙂

  8. allieksmith June 25, 2011 at 2:38 pm

    I tried a chickpea recipe from another blogger and I loved it 🙂

  9. Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way June 26, 2011 at 8:39 pm

    That dish looks fantastic!!!

    I’m in love with homemade granola!

    I’m far behind on blogs too…I’m still one of your readers though! 😉

  10. Kristin @ Iowa Girl Eats June 27, 2011 at 1:23 pm

    So glad you liked the recipe! Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

