Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

His and Hers Sloppy Joes and Crispy Sweet Potato Fries

Ever since Katie posted this incredible looking recipe for vegetarian sloppy joes, I’ve been planning to try it but never had all of the ingredients on hand at the same time.  The fiance’ was working late last night, so I went to the gym (stationary bike AGAIN) and then grabbed the necessary ingredients and spent some time in the kitchen.  I know he would have tried the lentil version, but thought I’d be considerate and make him a manly meaty sloppy joe.

Can you tell which version is meat and which is lentils?

image

image

I made the sauce following Katie’s recipe but added 1 Tbsp of worchestire and 2 Tbsp of barbecue sauce.  I also used good old Heinz ketchup and only 1.5 Tbsp of honey – I didn’t want them to be too sweet.  The mix turned out to be delicious – the sautéed onions really made the sandwich – and I think I’ll add some bell pepper next time.

On the side I whipped up some baked sweet potato fries using an egg white to make them crunchy on the outside.  I don’t even remember where I got that one from.

Crunchy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

1 large sweet potato, washed and cut into thin, even strips

1/2 tsp chili powder

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp ground red pepper

1/2 tsp salt

1 egg white

1 Tbsp water

cooking spray

1) Pre-heat oven to 400.  Line a cookie sheet with tin foil, top with a cooling rack, and spray with cooking spray.

2) Spray a large bowl with cooking spray.  Add the fries, spray again, and toss until lightly coated.

3) Add dry ingredients and toss around in the bowl until all fries are seasoned.

4) Beat the egg white and water in a small bowl (I use a fork and whip for about 3-5 minutes).  Add to fries and toss again.

5) Spread fries in a single layer on to cooling rack/cookie sheet (using the cooling rack prevents having to flip the fries, and lining it with foil prevents having too much cleanup).

image

6) Bake 25-30 minutes until edges are brown and crispy.

image

image

The fiance’ didn’t make it to my place until after 10 – the fries didn’t last that long.  I didn’t even make a sloppy joe since I ate so many fries and tasted the lentils through the cooking process.  Pictures of an assembled sandwich to come after lunch today (hello, leftovers).

I did not sleep well last night… dreading the inevitable post-coffee crash this morning.  Happy Tuesday all!

What’s your favorite meat-turned-meatless meal?

PS – Check out my guest post on Jess’s blog today – I’m honored to get to discuss being an RD on one of my favorite blogs!

24 responses to “His and Hers Sloppy Joes and Crispy Sweet Potato Fries

  1. sprint2thetable June 28, 2011 at 12:49 pm

    I have never heard of using an egg white to make sweet potato fries! Great tip! I’m going to have to try that out – I can’t stand when mine don’t crisp up enough.

  2. pumpedforpumpkin June 28, 2011 at 12:57 pm

    Ah yum those sweet potato fries look delicious! I’ve never used an egg white to make potatoes but it seems to work cause they look amazing. I’ll have to give it a try soon

  3. Allison @ PickyEatingRD June 28, 2011 at 1:06 pm

    Ohhh you are so kind as to make two dishes. I am more along the lines of “this is what were are eating so eat it!”. Though I will say I do cater to a lot of his tastes so the idea to make two separate dishes, is probably a really good thing in the end!

  4. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) June 28, 2011 at 1:20 pm

    I love lentil sloppy joes! You can’t even tell the difference. Sweet potato fries are another one of my favorites, but I’ve never had them with cinnamon. I’ll give that a try!

    Yayyy, your guest post is so good! Thanks so much again for posting, Claire! 🙂

  5. Lisa @ Healthful Sense June 28, 2011 at 1:39 pm

    Love sweet potato fries!! Really anything sweet potato!! My fav meat turned meatless meal is a homemade veggie burger made with beans/veggies!!

  6. Katie @ Nourishing Flourishing June 28, 2011 at 2:28 pm

    So glad you liked it! I was similar the first time around; I ate so much while I was making it I couldn’t really try it the traditional way until the next day! 🙂 A good problem to have, methinks. The sweet potato fries look amazing! xoxo

  7. Shanna, like Banana June 28, 2011 at 3:27 pm

    I’ve never been a fan of sloppy joe’s, but I do have a new love for lentils! I like just topping them with marinara and some parm!

  8. Heather June 28, 2011 at 3:54 pm

    I’m always stuck on how to make my fries crispy, great tips! I love adding lentils to sauces for a “meaty” texture.

  9. Mary @ Bites and Bliss June 28, 2011 at 5:14 pm

    Yum! this looks delicious. It’s been far too long since I’ve had sloppy joes! My favorite meatless meaty meal is chili. We use Morningstar crumbles and the boys can’t even tell the difference. It’s soo good!

  10. allieksmith June 28, 2011 at 5:48 pm

    I have never though to use spices (besides salt + pepper) on sweet potatoes… yum 🙂

    My fav meat turned meatless recipe is chili!

  11. Jenny June 28, 2011 at 8:26 pm

    Love the sweet tatter fries! I have to try the egg white trick, they look delicious 😀

  12. Cait's Plate June 29, 2011 at 12:34 am

    Those sweet potato fries look amazing. I love making my own – and I definitely want to try that recipe of yours!

    I love doing tacos with fake ground beef as a meat-turned-meatless dish. That and chilis! 🙂

    PS – loved your guest post!

  13. Simply Life June 29, 2011 at 12:41 am

    Oh those fries look SO good!

  14. Kate June 29, 2011 at 3:06 am

    Yum, those fries look delicious! I never would have thought of putting egg white on my oven fries!

  15. Pingback: What I Ate – Wedding Food « Live and Love to Eat

  16. Pingback: Long Weekend Recap « Live and Love to Eat

  17. kristi July 8, 2011 at 4:55 am

    I love making sweet potato fries and had never heard of using an egg white before – I’ll definitely try it next time! Thanks for the idea 🙂

  18. Pingback: Lightened Up Mozzarella Sticks « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

