Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Lighten Up – “Bacon” and Spinach Souffle

 Who doesn’t love Panera?  The sweet bakery smell, the healthy soup options, the myriad of salad toppings…

My family especially loves their breakfast souffles.  As breakfast snobs who have tried every breakfast place in the tri-state area, Paneras souffles are an easy decadent option for a weekend breakfast.

I was really intrigued last week by Laura’s recipe using cottage cheese.  Loving both cottage cheese and eggs, I had to try it.  By adding some veggie bacon and two strong flavored cheeses (including gouda, which tastes like bacon to me), I had a mock souffle that was big enough for two but still fit into my breakfast calorie goal. 

Here’s Panera’s souffle (from their website): 

FYI: a lot of the calories in the Panera version come from a puffed pastry/croissant dough layer.   Eliminating this makes a big difference!

Panera’s version: 570 calories, 37 grams of fat, 36 grams carbs, 21 grams protein [see aother photo here, it’s not mine but one I found through Google]

Lightened Up “Bacon” And Spinach Souffle

[based on this recipe from Sprint 2 The Table]

3 eggs (3 whites, 1/2 a yolk)

1/4 cup lowfat cottage cheese (I used 1%)

1/2 tomato, seeded and chopped

1 cup spinach

1/2 ounce goat cheese

1/2 ounce gouda cheese 

1 slice frozen veggie bacon

pinch of dried basil

pinch of dried parsley

pinch of dried thyme

pinch of salt

1) Preheat oven to 350.

2) Whip egg whites and cottage cheese together until frothy.  I try to get part of one of the yolks into the mixture when cracking the eggs to add a little bit of emulsifier, color, and flavor.

3) Add in veggies and cheese.  Cook veggie bacon (or sub 1 slice regular or turkey bacon – will change the calorie content), crumble, and add to mixture once cooled.

image

image

4) Spray/butter baking dish.  I used an long, shallow oval dish, probably about 8″; because I like to feel like I’m eating a big portion and it cooks more quickly than a deeper dish. 🙂

image

5) Bake for 28-30 minutes, then broil 2-4 minutes until top is lightly browned. 

  image

image

Approximate Nutrition: 250 calories, 12 grams fat, 6 grams carbs, 28 grams protein

This version is more than twice the size of Panera’s and less than half the calories and fat.

What do you like in an egg souffle?

22 responses to “Lighten Up – “Bacon” and Spinach Souffle

  1. sprint2thetable June 30, 2011 at 1:16 pm

    I’m so glad you liked it! I love the idea of adding bacon and gouda (one of my all-time favorite cheeses!). Thanks for the link. 🙂

  2. Sarah @ The Smart Kitchen June 30, 2011 at 1:37 pm

    Looks great! I’m going to have to try this. [Although I’d probably use real bacon, just because.] 🙂

  3. Lisa @ Healthful Sense June 30, 2011 at 2:15 pm

    Looks delicious and super filling with the protein combo of eggs + cottage cheese + bacon + cheese.

  4. char on a mission June 30, 2011 at 2:22 pm

    Great way to cut back on the calories and looks equally as delicious. I used to love putting spinach, mushroom and onions in my egg white omelette. I used to be on an egg white kick, and wouldn’t go a day without eating them. It’s funny how you get into food phases!

  5. Tiff June 30, 2011 at 2:55 pm

    If it has goat cheese and gouda, it’s got to be good. Those ar emy two favs!

  6. Shanna, like Banana June 30, 2011 at 3:35 pm

    I’m anti-eggs so I’d pass, but I love the creativity in this recipe!

  7. bakebooks June 30, 2011 at 3:39 pm

    Eggs? Cheese? Cottage cheese? Vegetables? Yes please! Finally someone who isn’t dairy free. Refreshing from all the vegan blogs I’ve been seeing.

    (by the way, why are going to physio?)

  8. kristina@beancakes❤ June 30, 2011 at 3:57 pm

    claire, this looks super YUMMY! i think bacon sounds perfect in egg dishes ❤
    xx ~ kristina

  9. allieksmith June 30, 2011 at 4:46 pm

    I love how you said your family is breakfast snobs LOL! I wonder what breakfast places you have been to in the Burgh’?!

  10. Cait's Plate June 30, 2011 at 5:59 pm

    Can you believe I have yet to ever make a souffle?! I really have to get on that – yours looks amazing!

  11. Errign June 30, 2011 at 8:25 pm

    I really like the taste of veggie bacon, but I am admittedly creeped out by it’s appearance 🙂 souffle looks tastyyyy.

  12. Kris July 1, 2011 at 4:44 am

    Ok, I don’t feast much on eggies, but I am just getting going on Goat Cheese….Goat Chedda to be exact and this sounds delish!!

    xxoo

  13. She-Fit July 1, 2011 at 5:27 am

    YUM! What a perfect combination. I love anything that includes eggs. Count me in!

  14. Pingback: Lightening Up: 2011 « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

