Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Another Blog Recipe Success (And Request For Suggestions!)

Some recent patriotic treats:

Cottage cheese and fresh strawberries

image

Blueberries, granola, and yogurt.  Yeah, that’s all I’ve got. image

The other night I baked the amazing Angela’s Oil Free Zucchini Walnut Raisin Loaf.  I came really close to making it exactly according to her recipe, but subbed in 1/2 cake flour and 1/2 whole wheat flour, and I didn’t have coarse sugar for the topping so it came out kind of lame.

image

It was still incredibly moist for an oil free bread!

image

Even better toasted the next morning with light TJ’s cream cheese!

image

Okay, I need your advice!

1) Going to NYC in two weekends (during the end of restaurant week) – any places I MUST eat?  We’ll be staying in Brooklyn at my friend’s apartment but will probably be all over the place! 

My friend (who’s wedding I’m in) just said our hair will cost $75 – which I think is insane!

2) Past brides/bridesmaids: Who paid for hair and makeup?  What’s the best and worst bridesmaids gift you received?  I’m thinking about paying for my girls’ hair and jewelry, and already purchased them one small gift.  Is that enough?

Have a WONDERFUL long weekend!  Might not see you ’till Tuesday – off to the lake and hoping for nice weather so we can use the fiance’s sailboat and his brother’s new SeaDoo!

13 responses to “Another Blog Recipe Success (And Request For Suggestions!)

  1. Cait's Plate July 1, 2011 at 1:00 pm

    Definitely visit the West Villiage – it’s super cute down there and it’s where all the movie stars live 🙂

  2. allieksmith July 1, 2011 at 2:23 pm

    $75 is crazy for hair .. but it will be worth it for your friends wedding 🙂 Have fun in NY!!!

  3. sprint2thetable July 1, 2011 at 3:53 pm

    That loaf was on my “to try” list – I’ll definitely be doing it now.

    Have fun in NYC! I’ve (shockingly) never been. Can’t wait to see where you eat. 🙂

  4. Shanna, like Banana July 1, 2011 at 4:01 pm

    I paid for my hair. I didn’t ask the girls to get their hair professionally done unless they wanted to, in which case they would have paid. As one of their gifts, I gave them each a unique necklace that I thought reflected their personality.

  5. Annette @EnjoyYourHealthyLife July 1, 2011 at 5:52 pm

    Okay 75$ is a LOT for hair! It had better be reallllyyy good 😉

    Pretty much anywhere in NYC is delish to eat at, promise!

  6. anotherhealthyhabit July 2, 2011 at 12:46 am

    I was recently the Maid of Honor for my best friend and she paid for hair and makeup, but not nails. She got us all matching necklaces to wear with our dresses, picture frames and key chains that all matched the wedding theme (it was at a vineyard, so the picture frames had had pretty grape vine stylings on it)

  7. Amanda July 5, 2011 at 12:53 pm

    I have no NYC suggestions – I was just there last week and saw nothing but the inside of JFK, and a teeny section of Queens that was scary as hell. 😦

    As for hair, I haven’t gotten a “quote” yet, but when I got my hair and makeup done for engagement pictures it was about $100, I think?
    I also got a haircut that day so the actual total was more like $120. I go to an Aveda salon, though, so things tend to get a little pricey. Their salon “menu” says that bridal styles start at $60 and go from there.
    I wasn’t planning on paying for the girls hair/makeup. For their gifts, I purchased black clutches and simple pearl necklaces from JCP that were $30(!!) on sale. I also planned on putting some stuff in the clutches like lip gloss, face blotters…little things that they would need that day. I may also pay for anyone who wants to come get manicures with me the day before, but I haven’t decided on that one yet.

  8. clarissa July 10, 2011 at 2:13 am

    Do you love cheesecake bc if you’re staying in brooklyn definatelyyyy go to juniors! And then in manhattan, there’s eataly- which is a must! artichoke basille is the best pizza i’ve tried so far here! (i’m interning). and I went to the standard in meatpacking and that was delish. during restaurant week, you def want to check out opentable and make your reservations like NOW bc all the super fab places were already reserved last week!

Leave a Reply

