Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Confession

image

I have a confession.  I feel like a hypocrite, like I shouldn’t ever talk to anyone about weight loss again.  About how it’s a lifestyle, how “diets” don’t work.

I’m on a diet.  Not Atkin’s, not the Dukan diet, not the 3 day diet.  Really, what you eat in a normal day is your “diet”, so we’re all on diets. 😉

And that’s why I haven’t posted regularly this week.  I haven’t baked (since the 4th of July cupcakes), haven’t made any fun and interesting meals.  It’s the first time I missed WIAW because my meals were nothing special!

I had my last scheduled physical therapy this week (Wednesday), and the PT encouraged me to try some plyometrics, lunges, and other challenging moves because my peroneal tendon had been feeling stronger. 

Since then, it’s been painful just to walk.

I don’t think it’s torn or injured again, but it’s definitely inflamed.

I went from running/spin class/other cardio 5 days per week (before April 9th) to a yoga class or two and modified circuit training workouts.  I haven’t had a good “runners high” in months.  I haven’t been able to de-stress in the only way I know how, and I’m under just a little bit of stress with planning my wedding and a hectic work day/schedule.

So my workouts of choice are out of the question.  I tried to make the best of it.  I tried not to change my eating much.  I broke up with my 400 calorie oatmeal breakfasts, but didn’t make too many other changes.

If I have no choice but to limit the “output” side of the scale, I have to cut back on the “intake side”.  I love that some bloggers have a “feel great” weight and can “eat intuitively” and listen to their bodies.  I know basic math.  I know that counting calories works (it’s proven by multiple research studies, and the clients that I work with).

So here I am, counting calories.  I’m eating well, getting a good amount of protein at meal times, and limiting processed and sugary foods.  Smoothies for breakfast (like today’s watermelon/strawberry/vanilla deliciousness pictured above), reasonable lunches, lean protein and veggies for dinner.  I still have my morning coffee and lots of water throughout the day (and a multivitamin when I can remember).

And I feel better.  I know I eat way too much sugar (and I was able to give it up for Lent).  I got through this week without too much temptation – it’s easier for me to stick to a plan when I’m busy, which is definitely the case these days.

I don’t have an eating disorder (which someone told me doesn’t make my blog interesting – uh, sorry!).  The title is “Live and Love to Eat”.  I am still enjoying my food, savoring each bite, but I’m just being much more conscious of what that food is these days.

Heck, I have a beautiful wedding dress to fit into and the man of my dreams to marry in less than two months.

Have you ever felt like a hypocrite?  Do you “diet”?

25 responses to “Confession

  1. Laura @ Sprint 2 the Table July 8, 2011 at 8:02 pm

    Don’t sweat it! How you eat is your business. There is still a lot of good food out there you can eat, get nutrients from, and that will fill you up. I think your blog is interesting even if you don’t have an eating disorder (worst comment ever, btw!).

    If you feel the urge to bake, go ahead and send the outcome my way. I’m always happy to help a friend. Haha!

  2. In Sweetness and In Health July 8, 2011 at 8:37 pm

    Good for you! You have to do what works best for you and not worry about what other people do. I don’t “diet” and by that I mean I don’t ever cut anything out of what I eat, I just try to be as healthy as possible

  3. lizeckel July 8, 2011 at 10:18 pm

    hang in there, claire. sounds like you know that you don’t have to be disordered to be an interesting person. the foods that nourish you ARE beautiful! i’m with laura on this one, for sure. how you eat is your business! i hope you keep sharing with us!
    best,
    liz

  4. kristina@beancakes ❤ July 9, 2011 at 2:46 am

    i don’t ever feel like anything, because quite frankly, how i eat is my business!! 😉 😉 and don’t feel guilty, how you eat is your business!! haha!! i’m sure you’re going about it in a healthy manner anyway 😉 happy friday to you claire!
    xx ~ kristina

  5. Annette @EnjoyYourHealthyLife July 9, 2011 at 9:10 pm

    Hey, good for you! Living a balanced, healthy living means giving and letting up a little here and there. Don’ t feel bad about your choices, b/c they are YOURS and they make YOU feel good 🙂 Besides, that is the lamest thing I have ever heard that “not having an eating disorder makes a blog uninteresting.” Most people who have struggled with disorders wish they did not have that struggle, so that is just pure ignorance if ya ask me!

    I agree that eating too sugar does not make the body feel good, so GOOD for you for sticking with it! We’re all cheering you on!

  6. char on a mission July 9, 2011 at 9:25 pm

    Seriously??! Someone actually said that if you don’t have an eating disorder, your blog isn’t interesting. I STRONGLY disagree. Anyone with a story can write a good blog. Yours is fine the way it is!!

    Sometimes I do feel like a hypocrite to myself. Especially when I cave and have something horrible that I KNOW I didn’t want anyways, but it was there and easy to access. It happens, we just gotta push through.

    I really hope your foot starts feeling better. Are you icing? Or what are you doing now since it hurts to walk on? You’ll be back on track soon, I feel it! 😀

  7. eat healthy. be happy. live well. July 10, 2011 at 11:41 am

    Wow! It sounds like you’ve got a lot going on! It’s good that you know exactly how to treat your body (even if you don’t think you’re doing it intuitively) when you know you won’t be working out as much.

    I don’t diet, but I definitely cut back when I can tell I’ve been eating too many sweets or not working out as much. I tend to just eat healthy food that tastes good because it makes me happy 🙂

  8. Katie July 11, 2011 at 11:34 am

    Hey love!

    You are a smart and beautiful girl, and whatever your eating routine is or exercise is what works for YOU! Don’t worry, no stress love! U have a big day coming up!!! woohoooo!

    I had someone leave me a comment today, and ask how many calories I eat a day, i swear, they should ban that word because I hate it, my life does not revolve around calories and is not controlled by them, I eat healthy, I eat enough, and I know what my body needs, nobody else does! love ya!

  9. Alexis - PumpedforPumpkin July 11, 2011 at 2:55 pm

    You are an amazing person. You should do what works for you and don’t worry about what others say. I am also a calorie counter, I prefer to know how much I’m taking in so I can make sure I keep up with what my body needs. I also try to listen to my body’s signals for food. I eat healthy because I enjoy it, fast food makes me feel gross! Keep doing what you need to do 🙂

  10. Lisa @ Healthful Sense July 11, 2011 at 2:56 pm

    Well said Katie!! I totally agree with doing what works for YOU. Whatever gives you the most inner peace. That was key for me to having a healthy relationship with food!!

  11. Cait's Plate July 11, 2011 at 3:12 pm

    I don’t “diet” – counting calories just drives me insane. I could never keep track so instead I just try to fill my plate with nutritious food and listen to my body.

    BUT I’m a firm believer that people should do WHATEVER works for them and not worry about anything else! So if dieting helps you feel better, then so be it! 🙂

    I’m with you on the injury train – I went from being INCREDIBLY active to getting injured and being much less so. A life without a runner’s high is so sad!

  12. Pingback: Watermelon Love « Live and Love to Eat

  13. Kristi @ Healthy Wife, Sweet Life July 12, 2011 at 11:13 pm

    I totally agree with you! I just got married last month and although I don’t “diet” I definitely watched what I ate more carefully leading up to the big day. Congrats on your wedding, you will look beautiful!

  14. Pingback: Blog Community Love « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

