Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Watermelon Love

I took my wedding invitations to the post office this weekend.

It was like giving away a part of me.

A very expensive part of me.

But it means the wedding is so close (54 days!).

image

Hope you all had a fantastic weekend!  I spent less than 24 hours away at Lake Erie with my fiance’ and his family, but it was well worth the 2.5 hours each way – a change of scenery (and lots of too much sunshine) can de-stress like nothing else!

Thank you all for the support on my last post.

I think my mom’s reading my blog now (hi Mumma!).  I still can’t come to terms with my family/friends knowing about this.  I guess they think my eating habits are weird enough already and this would make them think I’m totally insane.

I know I’ve posted about watermelon smoothies before, but really, I’m obsessed.  I took one with me while running errands Saturday morning.  Simply watermelon, protein powder, almond milk, a teeny-tiny pinch of xanthan gum, and ice.  No sweetener needed!

image

I usually don’t like the “girly” pink Steeler memorabilia, but this doesn’t count! 🙂

image

As much as I liked Trader Joe’s unsweetened vanilla almond milk, I think the unsweetened vanilla Almond Breeze has it beat – much more creamy!  I’m just worried that I won’t get through it in the recommended time frame – but then again I’m terrible at those kind of things.

When packing a smoothie to bring to work, I wanted to keep it thick for the 40 minute commute (plus I usually don’t drink it for an hour or two after I get here).  I added some chia seeds and spinach to Saturday’s recipe before blending away.

image

image

A touch of vanilla, stevia, and nutritional yeast (just a pinch!) doctored it up a bit!

image

Cool, refreshing, delicious, and FILLING.  I’m thinking avocado would put this baby over the top.

I have my first dress fitting today!  I’m excited and nervous at the same time!

Have you tried a melon or avocado smoothie yet?

12 responses to “Watermelon Love

  1. Shanna, like Banana July 11, 2011 at 7:26 pm

    I haven’t. I’d be game for the watermelon smoothie, but I’m not a fan of avocados so I think I’d pass on that one.

    So exciting that the invites are out!

  2. Allison @ PickyEatingRD July 11, 2011 at 10:52 pm

    EEEK how exciting the wedding is so close!!! I felt a little weird blogging at first knowing my mom was reading but then I got over it. She still will ask questions about some posts but whatever it is my real life right?!!?

  3. allieksmith July 11, 2011 at 10:54 pm

    I LOVE watermelon.. I haven’t tried a watermelon smoothie yet though! Ahhh a Steelers mug.. my house is full of Steelers gear as well 😀 and Penn State stuff haha

  4. vegansunshine July 12, 2011 at 1:33 am

    I’ve never put avocado in a smoothie before! Sounds awesome.

    Whitney

  5. Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way July 12, 2011 at 2:01 am

    I love both avocado and watermelon smoothies! And I really love spinach in my smoothies!! What a great way to add nutrients into your day!

    Your wedding day is getting so close!! Enjoy these next days and don’t let them stress you out…Your wedding day will be over before you know it and you will be entering a new chapter in your story, so ENJOY this process!!

  6. sprint2thetable July 12, 2011 at 4:52 am

    Avocado is amazing in a smoothie – I love that you can freeze them if you only want to eat half. They don’t oxidize and are perf for a nice, creamy smoothies. They’re also good with mango added in. 🙂

  7. Lauren @ What Lauren Likes July 12, 2011 at 11:38 am

    woah! this looks intense ( in a good way) haha what an interesting combo. I have never tried avacodo or melon in my smoothie. I have had chocolate pudding with avacodo though. Not bad not bad!

  8. Pingback: WIAW – Cold Foods Edition « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

