Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Dessert Diet

My dress fitting yesterday went really well.  I felt comfortable in the dress (not too tight), and the alterations shouldn’t be too complicated (a hem and some help up top, if you know what I mean).  The alterations were ridiculously expensive though (for the minimal work that they’ll take).  Thanks Mom! 🙂

I had on my Stuart Weitzman heels for the 20 minutes that the fitting took, and my peroneal tendon was killing me last night.  Ugh.  53 days to be able to walk in my heels!

We had some family time last night because it was my cousin’s 17th birthday.

image

It was also my pup’s 3rd birthday.  Happy Birthday, Bella! 🙂

My aunt is a fantastic baker, and my diet went right out the window.  I tried a small piece of each of her fantastic cakes.

image

Oreo ice cream pie with oreo crust and oreo filling and oreo topping.  So bad and so good at the same time.

image

Basic white cake with ch0colate buttercream perfection icing.

image

My fabulous aunt J (who also made the popular lemon curd featured here) is also baking cookies as favors for my bridal shower.  She makes the perfect sugar cookie with an incredibly smooth, sweet, but light icing.  With tons of different cookie cutters she’s made cookies for lots of different occasions, and I’m so excited she’s helping with the shower!

Here’s a sneak peak of the favor bags that I had custom printed, along with her two different cookie ideas – one large heart (that matches the design on the bag) or two that fit together.  We agreed that we like to two smaller ones better, and the sparkly sugar topping makes them look so pretty – but it distracts from the perfect simple butter taste of the cookie (at least in my opinion). 

What do you guys think?

image

She also made raspberry and lemon flavored icing variations, but I think we’ll stick with her classic recipe.  I think edible favors are much better than some little trinket that will take up space in a junk drawer. 

image

What’s the best favor you ever got at a shower or wedding?

23 responses to “Dessert Diet

  1. Christine @ Merf In Progress July 12, 2011 at 1:05 pm

    I am not a fan of walking in heels. I wore little pumps for my wedding. Soooo comfortable and of course no one could see them 😀

  2. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) July 12, 2011 at 1:06 pm

    Those cookies are adorable! We did cookies for our wedding favor – I agree that food is always better than a little trinket. 🙂

  3. sprint2thetable July 12, 2011 at 1:20 pm

    Glad the fitting went well!

    My favorite favors have been coozies. You can use them over and over!

  4. In Sweetness and In Health July 12, 2011 at 1:27 pm

    Your dog is so cute! And those cookies are adorable 🙂

  5. Sarah @ The Smart Kitchen July 12, 2011 at 1:40 pm

    I definitely would not have been able to resist that Oreo Ice Cream Pie! My willpower flies out the window in the face of ice cream…

  6. Shanna, like Banana July 12, 2011 at 3:18 pm

    Edible favors rock! I tend to eat them even before I leave the reception or in the hotel room that night 😉 I love the smaller interlocking hearts.

    Yay for a great wedding dress fitting =)

  7. allieksmith July 12, 2011 at 4:31 pm

    The best favor I ever got at a wedding was coffee. The worst was wine because i’m not 21 haha!

  8. Annette @EnjoyYourHealthyLife July 12, 2011 at 5:08 pm

    I like edible favors….other stuff gets thrown away or put in a junk pile! The cakes and cookies look delish!

  9. Amanda July 12, 2011 at 6:16 pm

    I am dreading my dress fitting. I’m pretty sure it will need taken in a bit and will most likely need to be shortened since even the “short size” dresses are cut for someone who is 5’6…I can only imagine what it’s going to cost :-/

  10. Cait's Plate July 13, 2011 at 1:42 am

    Oh my gosh you’re not joking about her amazing baking skills! Does your aunt want to come live with me?? Haha. Those all look awesome.

  11. michelle July 13, 2011 at 3:06 am

    wow I want to learn baking 🙂 lovely cookies

  12. kristina July 13, 2011 at 2:02 pm

    i agree that edible favors are best! at least in my humble opinion! i really like the idea of the two cookies fitting together, that is so cute! and that cake ~ OH MY!
    xx ~ kristina

  13. Presley July 13, 2011 at 7:00 pm

    The two cookies are perfectly cute 🙂

    I always love getting koozies! We did them an they turned out so cute… Maybe it’s just a southern thing, though? Love me some beer haha

  14. Pingback: Wedding Shower Weekend « Live and Love to Eat

  15. Pingback: Thinking About It Thursday « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

