Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Lighten Up – “Chips and Dip”

I’m feeling the “Lighten Up” Thursdays I’ve been posting recently, but the title of this one is a bit of a stretch (I admit it).

“Chips and dip” make me think of the bags of Frito’s and containers of french onion dip that my dad brings home from the grocery store a few times per week.  You know how some people get worried that they might be out of milk at home so they grab some just in case?  That’s the way my father feels about his super salty/greasy corn chips and artery clogging, glue-like sour cream based condiment.

Our nutrition professors told us not to ever try to change our families’ eating habits.  They were more right about this than anything.  But I digress.  Love you, Dad!

My recent obsession?  Roasted sweet potatoes.  Yes, even when it’s been over 80 degrees for the past 30 days or so.  Yes, even in a house without air conditioning.  I’ve used them for nachos, fries, as a side dish or main course. 

I chopped one huge sweet potato in half, then half again, and again.  You get cute little triangular “chips”.   When tossed with a minimal amount of oil, cinnamon, red pepper, and salt – then roasted – they become so warm and sweet lovely.

image

And just because I can never get ENOUGH cinnamon (and I wanted to get some kind of protein with the chips), I mixed 1/2 tsp of cinnamon with about 1/4 cup of 0% fat greek yogurt.  So much that it had a borderline gritty texture.  Yes, I have a serious cinnamon addiction. 

Ingredients

For “chips”:

1 large sweet potato, scrubbed and cut into small “chips” – make them as e

1 Tbsp vegetable oil

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp dried red pepper

1/2 tsp kosher or sea salt

For “dip”:

1/4 cup greek yogurt

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1) Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

2) Toss all chip ingredients well in a large bowl to coat evenly.

3) Spread into a thin layer on cookie sheet (with cooking spray/oil).

4) Roast 10-15 minutes (or 8-10 in a toaster oven), until they begin to brown.

5) Combine dip ingredients and mix well.

Servings: 2

Approximate nutrition information (per serving): 175 calories, 8g fat, 21g carbs, 7g protein

 These look especially classy when re-heated on a sheet of foil at work.

image

A little more yummy than corn chips and onion dip, right?!  Excuse the ugly nails (manicure donations greatly appreciated).

image

Just to continue the recent obsession with smoothies, I look Laura’s suggestion of adding a bit of avocado (I used about 1.5 Tbsp) to a mango smoothie, with almond milk and vanilla protein powder.  INCREDIBLE. 

image

So creamy and satisfying! 

image

This morning’s smoothie was a horrendous failure.

image

And ugly, too!  I thought it would be a nicely sweetened blueberry breakfast smoothie, but subbing spring mix for spinach doesn’t work.  In case you were wondering.

Ugly blue/green monster:

image

I think the appeal of a green smoothie is how delicious they taste (even though you don’t expect them to).  I had such high hopes for this one that it was disappointing!

Another green product that EXCEEDED expectations?  This gum.

image

Go buy some.  Now.  It’s so reminiscent of Baskin Robbins ice cream.  I can almost see the cute little pink spoons.

Previous “lightened up” recipes:

S’Mores Chocolate Cupcakes

Black Bean Goat Cheese Quesadillas

Blueberry Cheesecake Bars

Sweet Potato Pancakes

Buttermilk Waffles

Have you “lightened up” any recipes recently?  Anything you’d like me to try?

 

23 responses to “Lighten Up – “Chips and Dip”

  1. Shanna, like Banana July 14, 2011 at 5:26 pm

    Aww man, I love good ol’ chips and dip — the greasy full fat kind. Yum.

    I lighten up my stirfry’s by using cabbage slaw as my base instead of rice. Did this last night for dinner (and leftovers for today’s lunch)

  2. Annette @EnjoyYourHealthyLife July 14, 2011 at 6:23 pm

    yah, don’t think spring mix would taste quite as good…but that was a good try! I prob would’ve made the same mistake too! (romaine isn’t too bad, in it, though!)

    I love making lighter versions of cakes, quick breads, and cookies!

  3. Cait's Plate July 14, 2011 at 6:28 pm

    I love sweet potato “chips” – I used to make them ALL the time and really should start doing so again!

  4. Kim @ Imperfectly Perfect July 14, 2011 at 7:48 pm

    Your “chips” look great. I just happen to have a bunch of sweet potatoes on my kitchen counter. Hmmm….. 😉 I think my boyfriend will kill me if he sees me out of bed, since I’m home sick. There’s always tomorrow though. 🙂

    I recently made a lower cal chicken cordon bleu. It was yummy! The recipe is on my blog, if you’re interested.

  5. Jessica @ Stylish Stealthy and Healthy July 14, 2011 at 8:29 pm

    I’ve been wanting to make sweet potato fries and now I’m thinking I should get on that ASAP. And I love lightening up recipes too, especially when it turns out that they taste good, you really feel extra proud!

  6. allieksmith July 14, 2011 at 9:54 pm

    I really like the dip idea! I usually dip my sweet potatoes in ketchup. Now I NEED to try greek yogurt and cinnamon!

  7. Kjirsten- Balanced Healthy Life July 15, 2011 at 12:26 am

    Yum, I love that “chip and dip” idea! I will have to try this out!

  8. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) July 15, 2011 at 12:45 am

    Mmm that looks really good – such a good idea! Sorry the smoothie was a fail. 😦 I probably would’ve tried spring mix too at some point..who knew it wouldn’t work?? I need to try the avocado in the smoothie thing next!

  9. sprint2thetable July 15, 2011 at 5:59 am

    That gum is my new addiction! I haven’t had that flavor, but can vouch for the key lime pie. Mmmmm!

  10. The Candid RD July 15, 2011 at 10:56 am

    I am definitely with you on the hot meals/drinks in the summer. I still drink my hot coffee every morning, and crave a hot spud on occasion 🙂 Roasted anything sounds good to me, at any time!

    I actually added avocado to a smoothie the other day, just to see how it tasted, and I loved it! It’s great for flavor, texture, and of course as a thickening agent.

  11. kate July 15, 2011 at 5:01 pm

    ohhh these look so great and a perfect alternative to regular chips & dip!

  12. Presley July 15, 2011 at 9:12 pm

    I stare at that gum every time I go through the checkout line… I’ve never pulled the trigger, though. Guess I was thinking it would be a “too good to be true” thing. Now I want it!

  13. ittybitsofbalance July 16, 2011 at 12:25 am

    Any chip recipe involving sweet potatoes will usually also involve me making them soon after– thanks for this!

    I tried that Extra gum and it just did not do it for me! You neeeeeeeed to try the strawberry shortcake one though 🙂

  14. loftyappetite July 16, 2011 at 11:16 am

    I had sweet potato fries at a restaurant yesterday and almost died and went to heaven. I love this healthier at home version. Totally need to try.

  15. Jenny July 18, 2011 at 12:55 am

    I love chips and dip! Definitely nothing like it.

  16. Pingback: Simple Black Bean Sweet Potato Burgers « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

