Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Weekend treats

Hi friends!  Hope you all had a fantastic weekend!

After my dress fitting went well last week and I was still sticking to a pretty healthy low cal diet, I indulged during a quick dinner before marriage class Thursday night with one of all time favorite foods – grilled cheese.  This one came on huge italian bread with gouda, mozzarella, and sun-dried tomatoes.  So greasy and delicious!

image

I can’t STAND pickles.  I hate when they touch my sandwich and that bite is maimed by pickle flavor.  The fiance’ saved the day and ate it for me!

Friday I had scheduled to have the day off, so I spent the morning seeing this:

Did you see it?  Did you LOVE it?

I’ve seen a few of them at midnight showings and decided it’s more enjoyable when you’re not totally exhausted and have to get there two hours early, so my mom, cousin, and two friends of ours went at 10:45 Friday morning.  I thought the movie was excellent – they did a fantastic job.  There have been a few HP movies that drag in parts, but this one had me on the edge of my seat the entire time.  I’m kind of glad I read the book so long ago because it still kept me in suspense.  It is sad to think that there will be no more movie premieres, but they have been so much fun!  I think it’s time to read the books a second time.

Friday the fiance’ and I went and grabbed some fro-yo and saw this beautiful sunset on the way home. 

image

I didn’t take a picture of my yogurt because I was too distracted and angry about getting a parking ticket for an expired meter! 

Dear whoever decided to make meters in Pittsburgh go until 10 PM and whoever ticketed me the very SECOND that my time ran out,

Screw you.

Sincerely,

Claire

See the Cathedral of Learning in the beautiful picture above?  Love my alma mater (aka the second most expensive public university in the country).

Saturday night and all day yesterday I spent prepping for, setting up, celebrating, and cleaning up my friend’s bridal shower.  She is getting married August 6th and I’m HONORED to be a bridesmaid for the first time – just happens to be less than a month before my own wedding!

I love her to pieces but we didn’t want our bridal party to be too large and I really struggled over not being able to ask her to be in my wedding.  I’m sure that she is appreciating it now that she’s not worrying about TWO big days, but it’s still in the back of my mind.  We’ve talked about it and it’s not a big deal to her though.

In other food-related news, I *finally* got to the bottom of a peanut butter jar and enjoyed overnight oats in it for the first time!

image

To the remaining ~1.5 Tbsp of PB&Co Cinnamon Raisin I added 1/3 cup pre-cooked voluminous oats, a few drops of liquid stevia, vanilla, (more) cinnamon, and 1 tsp of chia seeds.

Super thick oats at my desk this morning!

image

Absolutely everything I had hoped for.  Now I need to restock!

image

I’m SO excited to visit the PB&Co store when I visit friends in New York this weekend!

And just because Mondays after a long weekend are extra tough, I grabbed an iced coffee at Dunkin’ on my way in.

image

Random questions from my random post:

What did you think of the new HP movie (if you saw it)?

Do you think you have to ask someone to be in your wedding if they ask you?

What’s your favorite PB&Co flavor ?

27 responses to “Weekend treats

  1. loftyappetite July 18, 2011 at 4:15 pm

    You know that i’ve never tried PB&co before?? I pass it in the grocery store and think about it, but then i think it’s expensive… but you know my bday is coming up this week and i deserve it! lol.
    As for the bridesmaid dilemma, i can definitely see how tough that can be, but i really don’t think you should feel a responsibility if they ask you. everyone has different budgets, different wedding visions, and if she’s a good friend she should understand. it sounds like she does. as long as she’s part of the bachelorette/shower activities than it’s all the same!

  2. Christine @ Merf In Progress July 18, 2011 at 4:32 pm

    GAH I CAN’T WAIT TO SEE HARRY POTTER!!!

  3. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) July 18, 2011 at 4:46 pm

    Ahhh, I really, really want to see HP! Glad to hear you liked it. 🙂

    The cinnamon raisin PB&Co. looks really good; I’ve only had a few, but I’m obsessed with White Chocolate Wonderful!

  4. Shanna, like Banana July 18, 2011 at 5:33 pm

    Didn’t see HP…not a fan — don’t hate me 😉

    I think it’s nice to return the ‘favor’ but you absolutely 100% don’t have to. Weddings are way too personal to work around obligations.

    Cinn raisin PBCo is AWESOME!

  5. Meri July 18, 2011 at 5:49 pm

    I’ve never really thought that you need to reciprocate bridal parties just because. I think people feel like they need to, but every wedding is so different that it would be ridiculous to expect to always be able to make things match perfectly like that 🙂 I think the most important thing is being open about it with your friend so if there are any hurt feelings you can at least talk about it instead of bottling it up! You must be getting so excited for your wedding!

  6. Allie July 18, 2011 at 6:06 pm

    Cinnamon raisin is my favorite pb and co flavor and I am soo jealous you get to go to the shop!!!

  7. Tiff July 18, 2011 at 8:04 pm

    Bride AND bridesmaid? Busy busy busy! I didn’t know PB&Co had a store. I’ve been missing out! My fav is cinnamon raisin, but that’s the only flavor I’ve tried.

  8. In Sweetness and In Health July 18, 2011 at 8:55 pm

    I haven’t seen the new HP movie yet..I’m going later this week! So excited :). I don’t think I have to ask someone to be in my wedding if I’m in theirs, but I know that I will still probably feel bad about it.

  9. Alexa @ Simple Eats July 18, 2011 at 9:39 pm

    I loved the new HP movie!
    I have NEVER tried PB and Co. PB…I need to jump on the bandwagon, huh?!

  10. Chelsea Talks Smack July 18, 2011 at 10:13 pm

    Literally looks like a perfect weekend.

  11. Kim @ Imperfectly Perfect July 18, 2011 at 10:47 pm

    I’m glad to hear the new HP movie is so good! My boyfriend has to go out of town on business this coming weekend, but I’m hoping we can see it together the following weekend. He watched all the HP movies prior to this one, just so he could see it with me. 🙂

    How good are oats in a jar?! I’ve only had them once before because I keep forgetting to save the empty jars. Now you have it on my mind. 😉

  12. Kjirsten- Balanced Healthy Life July 19, 2011 at 1:17 am

    I haven’t seen the new Potter movie, but can’t wait to see it. Maybe this weekend!

    I don’t think you need to ask someone to be in your wedding if they asked you to be in theirs. Some people have such large wedding parties and some have very small ones. I only had 4 bridesmaids and thought it was perfect! I don’t think my other friends minded at all that they weren’t asked, they knew we wanted to keep it small!

  13. kate @ pomelo sunshine July 19, 2011 at 2:26 am

    We JUST got back from Harry Potter. It was amazing but I’m now feeling ab it sad that it’s over. I feel weird about that being that I’m a 25 year-old woman but hey, we love what we love.

    Also, I hate pickles too! If they touch my food, I avoid eating the part they touched and always throw them off my plate immediately. Pickle juice is the worst it can ruin a perfectly good sandwich, side of fries or chips or hamburger bun. Yick. I’m totally on the same page with you.

  14. Laura @ Sprint 2 the Table July 19, 2011 at 2:49 am

    Aren’t overnight oats in a jar the best thing ever? As if I needed anything else to encourage me to eat PB faster. 🙂

  15. Life After Swimming July 19, 2011 at 2:54 am

    I am really behind the times, but I am just reading Harry Potter for the first time! I have made it to book six in less than a month and can hopefully watch all movies and finish reading in time to catch the final movie before it leaves theaters! I was always so anti-HP but I am HOOKED!

  16. Diana Sternberg July 19, 2011 at 3:19 pm

    oh my gosh your comment about bites being “maimed” by pickle juice made me laugh out loud! …in my cubicle, awkward. I feel the same way about mustard. EW EW EW EW EW.

    I am very far away from organizing a wedding party of my own but I have given it some thought and I feel like that is quite the undertaking – I have a few very close knit groups of friends, and while having all of them in the party would make it too large, leaving one or two girls out would make me feel terrible! Kudos to you for being able to figure that one out, yikes!

  17. char on a mission July 20, 2011 at 2:14 am

    You bet i saw the new HP movie!! On Sunday with the hubby…I made him go. He’s making me go to see Transformers…which is fine because I wanna see that too! haha I thought the movie was good…my only con was how undramatic it was after Harry ended Voldemort. I thought it would be a big celebration, but whatever! other than that, it was awesome! I haven’t tried that flavaa of PB & Co!

  18. Pingback: WIAW – Cold Foods Edition « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

