Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Pizza Pizza

After my friend’s bridal shower on Sunday, I was stuffed – we had prepped the food, sampled the food, and grazed all day long.  By 7pm that night, I was hungry and wanted something substantial – luckily I had some Trader Joes garlic and herb dough that needed to be used and the perfect toppings leftover from the pasta salad I made for the shower.

I always divide the TJ’s dough into two smaller sections, which allows me to make pizzas with two different toppings.  Plus, I like my crust on the thin side, and I can only fit half the dough on my pizza stone.  I preheated the oven to 425 and baked each crust for about 5 minutes before topping them.

I threw some cherry tomatoes, basil, and oregano into the magic bullet for a quick homemade sauce, then topped this with a mix of buffalo mozzarella and shredded mozzarella, then added some romano after it came out of the oven.

image

The fresh sauce, combined with the flavorful dough and simple cheese made this pizza a winner.

image

For the second crust, I made a quick spinach spread with butter beans, sautéed spinach, garlic, and a few tablespoons of olive oil.

image

Topped with artichokes, roasted red peppers, tomatoes, and feta.

image

I’m thinking I’ll drizzle some balsamic on top when I have the leftovers later tonight.

image

I purcahsed a few new (to me) products at the grocery store last night.  This brand of granola was on sale 3/$9, and “dark chocolate almond” was a combination I couldn’t pass up.

image

image

The box was full of big clusters (which is key to a good granola, you know), and the nutrition profile wasn’t too bad for being “chocolate”. 

image

One of my other random purchases was a bag of dates.  I’m typically a big fan of dried fruit (I buy apricots and prunes regularly), but hadn’t been able to find dates that weren’t sweetened.  I’m seen them used in several recipes around the blog community, so I picked up a bag. 

image

Not thrilled with the flavor, but I’m excited to try to use them in baking and other recipes.

What’s your favorite topping combination when making (or ordering) pizza?

Any recommendations for ways to use my dates?

26 responses to “Pizza Pizza

  1. Averie @ Love Veggies and Yoga July 19, 2011 at 11:59 am

    Just saw your comment on jessica’s site and yes, cherries are pricey 🙂

    Dates…I have an entire recipe compilation post
    http://www.loveveggiesandyoga.com/2011/05/dates.html

    And so many of my raw/nobake dessert bites and balls, you can throw dates in.
    http://www.loveveggiesandyoga.com/2010/01/ball-recipes.html

    Sorry for the link dropping!

  2. Lauren @ What Lauren Likes July 19, 2011 at 12:04 pm

    Cute post! fave pizza topping is onions! haha. I love dates with pecans as a snack 🙂

  3. kristina@beancakes ❤ July 19, 2011 at 1:13 pm

    that was a little caesar’s commercial right? yum ~ pizza sounds so good right now, even though it’s time for breakfast. as far as the dates go, i know this sounds boring, but i like to just eat them as is!
    xo ~ kristina

  4. Lisa @ experiencelifewithme July 19, 2011 at 1:50 pm

    I love doing homemade pizza, but I haven’t attempted my own crust yet. I usually buy a store bought whole wheat crust. I need to branch out and try to make my own because your pizza looked soooo good. And I’m with you…thin and crispy is better!

  5. Shanna, like Banana July 19, 2011 at 2:47 pm

    I am on such the pizza kick lately. Mmmm..

    Lately I like to put red onions, jalapenos, and green olives. So tasty!

  6. sprint2thetable July 19, 2011 at 4:05 pm

    Great idea with that spinach spread!

    Dates… I’m also not a fan of them on their own, but you can make a raw pie crust or your own Lara bars. They are also good blended in smoothies or as a sugar substitute in baked goods.

  7. Annette @EnjoyYourHealthyLife July 19, 2011 at 4:07 pm

    I eat nut butters with dates. YUMM. Or stuff them with feta or a type of cheese.

    And that granola looks SO good!!

  8. ittybitsofbalance July 19, 2011 at 4:16 pm

    Cascading Farms granola is my favorite!
    I also lovers their hearty morning fiber cereal– it’s a must try 🙂

  9. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) July 19, 2011 at 4:28 pm

    As Averie said, they can be used in cookie dough balls! I’ve never made them this way, but actually bought some dates this weekend to try it out. 🙂

    I love garlic, spinach, tomatoes, and tempeh on my pizza!

  10. allieksmith July 19, 2011 at 5:38 pm

    Those pizza’s are winners! I always mean to pre bake my crust a little bit!

    I love to top pizza with mushrooms and lots of cheese and basil 🙂

  11. Heather @ Get Healthy With Heather July 19, 2011 at 5:42 pm

    Dates (and raisins) are my go to pre workout foods… They’re good at sweetening up baked goods too. I have a carrot bread recipe that uses them as the sweetener in it.

    Hope you can enjoy them!

  12. onefitfoodie(naomi) July 19, 2011 at 6:47 pm

    definately go to averies blog she has so many ways to use dates!! i would make homemade larabars or energy bites! just process them up and add PB, some agave, coconut…perfect for pre or post workout!!

  13. Life After Swimming July 19, 2011 at 7:35 pm

    I loveeee Cascadian Farms granola! Delcious 🙂 and I have been telling myself to try stuff with dates lately, too. I noticed how many of the recipes use them, and I would like to try them out soon!

  14. Alexa @ Simple Eats July 19, 2011 at 7:45 pm

    Those pizzas look awesome! I love the pureed bean mixture you put on the second pizza. Yum!

  15. Presley July 20, 2011 at 3:11 am

    That second pizza looks ridiculously good…

  16. nikkiana July 20, 2011 at 8:06 am

    Most of the time I tend to just have cheese pizza, sometimes pepperoni. Living in NYC and being alone, I tend to buy slices more than I buy pies…. but if I get a whole pie sometimes I’ll get sausage.

  17. Pingback: Pizza Party « Live and Love to Eat

  18. Pingback: Greek Pizza Bites and Asking for Advice « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

