Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

NYC Weekend WIAW

My weekend in eats in New York City with my wonderful friends.

Peas and Crayons

Friday afternoon: samples here and there from Union Square market

image

Friday lunch: Eataly (more photos here)

image

Cheers to the hottest day in NYC in years! 100+!  We stood and dined at La Piazza.

Martini Asti Spumanti.

image

Crostini: tuna, fava bean, smoked salmon, arugala. So perfect.

image

Mozzarella and heirloom tomatoes.

image

Incredibly fresh bread.

image

Dessert: Gelato (I ordered stracciatella & banana)

image

Mid afternoon snack: Baked By Melissa cupcakes

image

Peanut butter cup, red velvet, chocolate chip pancake (mine!)

image

Friday Dinner: Miriam in Brooklyn (too dark for more photos)

We split 4 meze items: hummus, labane cheese, quinoa salad, and burekas

I drank watermelon sangria and enjoyed the Mediterranean salad: veggies & avocado wrapped in grilled eggplant and topped with feta

image

Saturday breakfast: Dunkin Donuts (coffee & egg white wrap)

Saturday lunch: PB & CO (more here)

image

We split the sampler platter (all 8 varieties of PB with veggies, fruit, and crackers) & two homemade cookies

image

Saturday shopping snacks:

Samples at Vosges (no, I didn’t eat any bacon chocolate)

image

Food truck Fro-Yo

image

Saturday dinner: Paprika (again too dark for photos)

Delicious cocktails made my fabulous hostess as we were getting ready.

image

We shared risotto, asparagus & marscapone ball appetizers and I ordered an incredible

pasta: tagliolini with porcini mushrooms, kale, and truffle oil – to die for.

After dinner drinks: Crocodile Lounge

You get a ticket for a free pizza every time you order a drink.  Seriously.

1crocodilelounge.jpg

Sunday brunch: Farm on Adderly (Brooklyn)

image

Mushroom and onion omelet, mixed greens, brioche

image

We (I) also had to try the chocolate brioche – grilled with about 1/2 cup of butter.

image

I could eat all day and all night in New York City.  What’s your #1 favorite restaurant in NYC?

16 responses to “NYC Weekend WIAW

  1. sprint2thetable July 27, 2011 at 1:56 pm

    I can’t begin to choose which of these looks the best! I thought the chocolate chip pancake cupcake had it until I saw the PB tasting and the brioche. What was the best PB flavor?

    Unbelievably, I have NEVER been to NYC. That needs to be remedied soon.

  2. Jenny July 27, 2011 at 3:39 pm

    Those cupcakes are so cute! You made a good choice 🙂 I’ve been to NYC once when I was small so I don’t even remember!

  3. Allie July 27, 2011 at 4:41 pm

    Wow! GREAT eats! I want to visit pb&co super bad 🙂

  4. Cait's Plate July 27, 2011 at 6:19 pm

    Ahhh you hit some really good places. I adore Eataly and Peanut Butter & Co. AND Baked by Melissa. We have those for every office celebration – soooo good 🙂

  5. bakealittle July 27, 2011 at 7:06 pm

    Arent Baked by Melissa’s addictive! I live in the city and we always bring them to work when its someone’s birthday. Today is my bosses birthday, 4 cupcakes have been consumed.. at least they are small? 🙂

  6. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) July 27, 2011 at 7:47 pm

    It all looks fantastic! Food in NYC is really the best. My favorite restaurant was The View on top of the Marriott Marquis, not sure what it would be as a vegan now though. Glad you had fun! 🙂

  7. Presley July 27, 2011 at 10:38 pm

    I haven’t been to NYC since I was in middle school… when I thought a Sbarro’s pizza and a McDonald’s burger were fine dining options. I need to plan a trip just to eat 🙂

  8. Paige @ Running Around Normal July 27, 2011 at 11:33 pm

    I’ve never been to NYC! Though I’d love to go 🙂

  9. Jenn L @ Peas and Crayons July 27, 2011 at 11:55 pm

    ahhhh yum! it all looks so good! from the foyo to the crostini! I would eat it alll! ❤

  10. Kim @ Imperfectly Perfect August 1, 2011 at 8:31 pm

    So sad that I’m only a hop, skip & a jump away from NYC and don’t venture in more frequently. I’ll have to add it to my “to do” list! All your eats and drinks looked great!

Leave a Reply

