Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Lightened Up Peach Cobbler

Peaches are FINALLY in season!  I got the baking bug Sunday night and decided to make one of my favorite summer desserts – peach cobbler.  Unfortunately I didn’t have enough fresh peaches on hand, so I had to cheat and use canned.  Ironic, right?

image

I also took this opportunity to try out the NuNaturals More Fiber Stevia Baking Blend that Ron from NuNaturals sent me about a week ago.  I was surprised by the texture of the product but substituted it for the sugar that I usually simmer the peaches with.

image

The filling looked just about right, even without the sugar!

image

The dry ingredients contained a mix of whole wheat and all-purpose flour, but you could definitely use whole wheat pastry or another gluten-free flour.  Next time I think I’ll try oat flour.

image

I don’t remember where I got this recipe from originally (the card is stained and tattered from lots of use), but I think it was Cooking Light or something along those lines.  It uses only 3 tablespoons of fat, and calls for light margarine.  For the milk I used unsweetened almond. 

Don’t over-stir your topping batter!

image

Before hitting the oven…

image

I can almost smell it now.  I’ve been eating this for breakfast and dessert – don’t you love when things work out that way?

image

Ingredients:

6 medium peaches, sliced (I cheated and used 1 large 28-oz can, drained)

1/3 cup MoreFiber Stevia Baking Blend (or you could use sugar – but the physical quantity is important while making the filling, so a liquid sweetener wouldn’t work)

1 Tbsp cornstarch

1 tsp fresh lemon juice

1 tsp cinnamon, divided

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

1/2 cup AP flour

1 Tbsp sugar

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

3 Tbsp reduced calorie margarine (I used Olivio light)

1/2 c milk (I used unsweetened almond)

1) Pre-heat oven to 375.

2) In large sauce pan, combine peaches, Stevia baking blend, cornstarch, lemon juice, and 1/2 tsp cinnamon.  Toss to combine.  Heat over medium high until it comes to a boil.  Cook until thickened, about 1 minute.  Remove from heat and stir in vanilla.  Pour into sprayed baking pan.

3) Combine 1/2 tsp cinnamon, flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt.  Work in margarine with a fork until course and crumbly.  Add milk and stir just until combined (batter should be thick and lumpy).

4) Drop by tablespoon on top of peach mixture. 

5) Bake 20-25 minutes.  Let cool about 10 minutes before serving (enjoyable both warm and chilled).  Makes six generous servings

Original nutrition facts on the left (Food Network peach cobbler), mine on the right (both for six servings):

 

Under 200 calories?  Definitely unexpected!  The taste was great too – wouldn’t know it wasn’t real sugar!   

Just to convince the fiance’ that it wasn’t too healthy, I added some whipped cream before giving him a serving.  Aren’t I sweet? 

 image

What’s your favorite fruit in season these days?  Is there a dessert that reminds you of summer time?

13 responses to “Lightened Up Peach Cobbler

  1. Averie @ Love Veggies and Yoga July 28, 2011 at 11:22 am

    Ok I have a pantry-full of that nunaturals blend but dont use it b/c I am scared to create chemically-tasting soup 🙂

    Good to know it works for you.

    I love the pure white stevia extract in things, just have never used the blends.

  2. sprint2thetable July 28, 2011 at 11:39 am

    Ohhhh… i never thought to use my Stevia in a cobbler. Love the idea – I have a ton of cherries begging to be made into one! 🙂

  3. allieksmith July 28, 2011 at 1:21 pm

    I’m glad peaches are in season! Your cobbler looks awesome 😉

  4. Sarah @ The Smart Kitchen July 28, 2011 at 2:27 pm

    Good work! That looks wonderful. 🙂 [I do love a good cobbler…although to be honest I tend to head straight for the cooked fruit, rather than the topping!]

  5. jranolajoyce July 28, 2011 at 2:37 pm

    That looks amazing! 🙂
    Thanks for posting; I must try this soon!

  6. Shanna, like Banana July 28, 2011 at 2:41 pm

    I’m not a huge fan of peaches but I love peach cobbler! This looks fab..

    I’m a fan of strawberry shortcake..mmmmmmm

  7. kristina@beancakes ❤ July 28, 2011 at 3:30 pm

    claire this looks and sounds delicious!! i love peaches! i don’t really have a favorite ~ one thing that i’ve been making a lot lately is smoothies ~ they’re yummy and healthy!!
    xo ~ kristina

  8. Cait's Plate July 28, 2011 at 4:13 pm

    Yum. I’m LOVE peaches right now – this looks amazing. I really need more cobbler in my life!

  9. Jenny @ Fitness Health and Food July 28, 2011 at 7:58 pm

    oh man this looks awesome! I am really intrigued by this nunaturals product!

    I do love when you can eat dessert for breakfast, snacks… lunch and dinner 😉

  10. Heather July 28, 2011 at 8:32 pm

    I love, love, love cobblers, and peach is my favorite! Thanks for the recipe, now I can have more with less guilt!

  11. sophia July 29, 2011 at 3:06 am

    White peaches. I like regular yellow peaches too, but they ain’t got nothing on white peaches!

  12. Pingback: Protein Packed Peach Baked Oats « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

