Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Wedding Shower Weekend

So much planning and effort went into my wedding shower and bachelorette party this past weekend.  I have the most incredible bridesmaids, friends, family, and fiance’ that a girl could ever hope for.

I contributed by helping with the favors – heart-shaped sugar cookies with custom bags.  I ordered the bags from some random website and they were magically the PERFECT size for two side by side heart cookies.  Remember my Aunt J’s popular lemon curd & birthday cakes?  She makes her famous sugar cookies for all kinds of special occasions, but I’m honored that she offered to make them for my shower.  I went to her house last week to help put on the finishing touches and bag them.

image

Freshly baked perfection, with a light sugary glaze.

image

White and gold glitter for some sparkle…

image

Perfect fit for the favor bags!

image

image

Sealed with a kiss sticker.   Here is the final product displayed Saturday at the shower:
 

 
My mom, maid of honor, and a few friends/bridemaids spent so much time making the restaurant we rented look fantastic – it all coordinated with the wedding colors too!  I was so busy at the shower that I didn’t even take one photograph of the fantastic food – we had a spread of hummus, tomato basil pasta, vegetables, breads, caramelized onion dip, caprese salad skewers, and lots of desserts. 
 
After the shower I was blindfolded, distracted for an hour or two, then swept away to the hotel room that my girls had decorated for our pre-bachelorette party festivities.  With all of the flowers, I said it felt like a funeral:
 
 
4 dozen red roses from my fiance’, an arrangement from my dad (which he dropped off at the shower), and a beautiful vase of pink roses from one of my girls.  Aren’t they beautiful?   Complete with plastic champagne glasses, bachelorette sash & napkins.
 
One of my friends attacking the champagne bottle (and two others ducking in the background!):
 

 
After a laid back dinner at a local restaurant/bar, we enjoyed VIP bottle service at one of the nicer clubs in town (courtesy of my fiance’, that sneaky boy).   We took lots of pictures but I won’t post any of my friends’ faces since I didn’t ask them ahead of time, but we ALL had a blast.
   
  
One of the girls even made us custom water bottle labels for recovery the next morning:
image

Again, I try to keep the blog focused on food & healthy eating, but I had to share a few special details with you all!  Thanks again to my fantastic friends, family, & future husband for a perfect weekend.

19 responses to “Wedding Shower Weekend

  1. sprint2thetable August 2, 2011 at 2:42 pm

    Great idea to do the cookies! Lucky bride to have such a talented friend… and lucky guests to have a wedding favor they can actually enjoy! 🙂

  2. Shanna, like Banana August 2, 2011 at 2:46 pm

    What fun! Looks like a beautiful day and those cookies turned out really wonderfully. They look so tasty — any leftovers? 😉

  3. LizAshlee August 2, 2011 at 3:26 pm

    The cookies look perfect! Sounds like you enjoyed a wonderful time…thanks for sharing such a special time!

    Have a wonderful day! 🙂

  4. allieksmith August 2, 2011 at 3:40 pm

    How fun!! What an awesome weekend with friends + family 🙂

  5. loftyappetite August 2, 2011 at 3:50 pm

    What a fun weekend! The cookies look fantastic and all the little surprises from friends along the way made it so special. These kinds of weekends are a great reminder of all the overwhelming amount of love you have in your life. Enjoy it!

  6. Jenny August 2, 2011 at 4:04 pm

    Those cookies were such a cute idea. I love how they came out. So classy looking

  7. Kim @ Imperfectly Perfect August 2, 2011 at 6:03 pm

    Sounds like the perfect day, Claire! Yay for great friends, family and your future hubby for making everything so special! Your cookies looked beautiful. 🙂

  8. Casey August 2, 2011 at 8:08 pm

    Sounds like a wonderful day! Your cookies are adorable!

  9. char on a mission August 2, 2011 at 8:10 pm

    Sounds like you have some great people in your life!!! I hope your bachelorette was a good one! I know on mine it was pretty awesome – we ended up at a bar where girls paid $10 and drank free all night. Let’s just say, we had fun!

  10. Kjirsten- Balanced Healthy Life August 2, 2011 at 9:27 pm

    What a super cute idea for your shower favors! I love it! So sweet.

  11. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) August 3, 2011 at 12:05 am

    Everything looks wonderful! I love reading about weddings/life stuff! 🙂

  12. Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way August 3, 2011 at 2:10 am

    Have so much fun!!!! Can’t wait to read all about it!

  13. Pingback: Satisfying Cravings (Without Excessive Calories) « Live and Love to Eat

  14. Katie August 5, 2011 at 2:17 am

    The cookies turned out so great and the bags did too!! I am so happy you had a beautiful wedding shower and fun bachelorette party weekend!! U deserve it girl! So excited for you! Your big day almost here!!

  15. Pingback: Generosity « Live and Love to Eat

  16. sonia Rogers August 19, 2011 at 12:15 am

    Wow you have some really nice friends to get you that super dooper grill!!! Love ya Claire!!

  17. Pingback: Shower Number Three! « Live and Love to Eat

  18. Pingback: Miscellaneous Monday « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

