Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Satisfying Cravings (Without Excessive Calories)

After a moderately difficult early morning spin class, I was craving pancakes but didn’t want to completely undo my calorie burn, so I turned to The Fitnessista’s Protein Pancakes (which she recently highlighted in her 7 links post). 

image

I used Designer Whey protein and oat flour, bringing the pancakes in just under 200 calories before topping with sugar free syrup.  Not bad!  Added some cherries for good measure.

image

I’d like to become known as the food blogger who can’t wait to take a bite before photographing her food.

image

After a long shift at work I was craving frozen yogurt – but didn’t feel like making a trip to the east side of the city thanks to the parking tickets I got the past two times!  Instead, I whipped up some triple chocolate soft serve. 

image

Approximately 1 banana, 2 Tbsp dark chocolate cocoa powder, NuNaturals Cocoa extract, and half a handful of semisweet chocolate chips.

image

And just to make it more fro-yo like, I had to add some colorful toppings – sprinkles!

image

Unfortunately they were the really hard, crunchy kind.  I’m partial to the long, skinny, softer sprinkles, but these ones were good enough!  I guess I’m a sprinkle snob in addition to being an icing snob.

image

The cool, sweet treat helped me power through half of the thank-you notes from my shower.  I received so many generous gifts – and some of the most beautiful cards I’ve ever seen!

Only 30 days until my wedding!  We picked up our wedding bands earlier this week, which we each had engraved without telling the other what words we had chosen.  Even though we planned on waiting, we were too excited to not share.  To my surprise (and delight) we both chose “To the moon and back” – a line from the sweet children’s book, “Guess How Much I Love You”.  I am truly marrying my soul mate! 🙂

If you’re married, are your wedding bands engraved?  If not, how will you choose what words to use?

15 responses to “Satisfying Cravings (Without Excessive Calories)

  1. loftyappetite August 4, 2011 at 3:36 pm

    I love that you both chose the same words without even knowing it! So cute! I can’t wait to to read all about the wedding!!

  2. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) August 4, 2011 at 4:08 pm

    I’m such a sprinkle snob too… I can’t handle the round ones – must be the long skinny ones! haha. People argue with me and say there isn’t a difference, but there very much IS. 🙂

    I looove the identical wedding bands. How adorable are you two?!

  3. allieksmith August 4, 2011 at 4:21 pm

    Your pancakes look great and I like the long skinny sprinkles as well!!

  4. Kim @ Imperfectly Perfect August 4, 2011 at 5:02 pm

    So cute about your wedding bands! Those are the little things in life that I love!! 🙂

    Your banana soft serve looks great! I have to give it a shot.

  5. Annette @EnjoyYourHealthyLife August 4, 2011 at 5:37 pm

    awwww that is soooo sweet 🙂

    We engraved our bands….with each other’s name (just like my parents) and I LOVE it!

    Love your ideas of calorie swaps, thanks!

  6. tadwell August 4, 2011 at 6:49 pm

    Both our wedding rings are engraved… they both say “Matched 9/18/10”. We met on Match.com and then we have our wedding date. Works in many ways for us, cheesy yes, but we’re a perfect match, and the site is how we found each other 🙂

  7. char on a mission August 4, 2011 at 8:26 pm

    That is so cute that you both chose the same thing. I’m wondering how on earth that was engraved in the rings…we had a hard enough time getting one word on my ring!!!

    And to answer that question, we both have ‘forever’ engraved in our bands!

  8. sprint2thetable August 4, 2011 at 8:29 pm

    I love that your fro-yo ingredient list reads “approximately 1 banana” – because you know we all have random freezer containers of various sized banana pieces. LOL!

    You guys are too cute with your matching engravings! My mom and dad’s rings both read “forever yours.”

  9. Maria August 4, 2011 at 9:21 pm

    Those pancakes look yum. And only 200 cals, wow 🙂 xxx

  10. In Sweetness and In Health August 5, 2011 at 12:02 am

    Oh yum, that soft serve looks tasty! I am partial to the longer, skinny sprinkles as well! I LOVE that you engraved your wedding bands! I am not married, but I think that is such a cool idea 🙂

  11. Jenny August 5, 2011 at 12:43 am

    Loving the pancakes, they look delicious!

  12. Paige @ Running Around Normal August 5, 2011 at 1:00 am

    I like the longer sprinkles too 🙂 We did not get our rings engraved. But I do think it’s cute!

  13. teabagginit August 5, 2011 at 2:42 am

    i’ve never been a sprinkles fan but i am a HUGE fan of frozen fruit soft serve! i freeze apples & do apple pie soft serve! so goooooood! it’s like apple pie ala mode in a bowl 🙂

Leave a Reply

