Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Trying New Things (free yogurt coupon!)

My friend’s wedding is tomorrow, so I ran out during my lunch break to get a manicure.  While I was searching for a salon in downtown Pittsburgh, I started reading about these Shellac manicures that are supposed to last up to three weeks.

The last time I got a manicure it chipped after a day, so I figured it was worth a try.  The shellac polish is cured by UV light after each layer, which is supposed to make last longer.  It cost twice as much (usually I get regular polish for $15, this was $30).  I’ll keep you guys updated!  Does anyone get these on a regular basis?

image

After work I rushed to get to the dentist to have them check out a sore spot on my gum – I told them it felt like there was a piece of popcorn stuck behind my left molar.  After waiting to be seen for 2 hours, the dentist checked it out and did remove a tiny piece of a popcorn kernal.  What a waste of time!

I had a Groupon expiring soon for a spray tan, and figured it couldn’t hurt to get my color evened out a bit before my friend’s wedding.  It was a strange experience – I didn’t listen to them about not showering for 18 hours because the spray was so stinky – we’ll see how long that lasts.

After all of these errands it was 8:30 and I was starving.  I knew there wasn’t much to eat at home and I didn’t feel like cooking, so I broke the simple rule of never going to the grocery store hungry.

Case in point: I bought *two* bags of goldfish grahams.  I’ve been in love with the chocolate ones for a while, but the vanilla cupcake ones are like changing.  Like cake batter ice cream.  I could have eaten the whole bag but held myself back.

image

I usually avoid frozen dinners, knowing they’re typically loaded with sodium and other preservatives and usually don’t keep me full for very long.  One that I do love is Amy’s Teryiaki bowl, but they are almost $5 and Lean Cuisines were on sale 4/$10.  I was in the mood for something flavorful but light, and this spicy shrimp dish did the trick for only 210 calories.

image

Any frozen meals that you love?

Dannon Activia Selects is giving away free samples of their new French and Greek Yogurts.  I’m excited to try these since I LOVE the protein content of Greek Yogurt.  Click the link to download a coupon – but be sure to grab it soon because the offer expires August 15th!

Visit the Activia Selects Facebook page to get your FREE coupon now!

This sponsorship is brought to you by Activia Selects who I have partnered with for this promotion.  FREE coupon offer good 8/3 /11 – 8/15/11, up to 1 million coupons, on any Activia Selects Single Serve, up to $3.00. One coupon per household. Offer valid in the U.S only. VOID IN LA, NJ, CA. Coupon valid until 8/15/11.  Residents of LA, NJ, CA will be given a ‘$1 off 3 Activia Selects’ coupon.

Have a great weekend everyone!

19 responses to “Trying New Things (free yogurt coupon!)

  1. Amy August 5, 2011 at 12:20 pm

    I’ve been wanting to try the shellac. The manicurist at the salon I work at steared me away cause she said its basically the same upkeep as artificial nails and that after so many times getting them done they tear up your nails when you have them removed. Anxious to see what u think cause I’d still like to do it. Ahh, Pgh I miss it. I need to get home soon and visit.

    • Claire @ Live & Love to Eat August 5, 2011 at 3:07 pm

      I’ve read that too, then I read that it can actually strengthen your nails – I think you have to be careful about the way you have it removed. Will keep you posted, and give me a holler if you’re back in the ‘burg! 🙂

  2. sprint2thetable August 5, 2011 at 12:36 pm

    You’ll have to give an update on that shellac polish! I’ve never tried it but my manicures never last more than a couple of days (sometimes not even past the time I walk from the salon to me car). 🙂

  3. cityrunnergirl August 5, 2011 at 1:17 pm

    You just can’t go wrong with Amy’s, I love their wraps and lasagna. I’m really curious to see how that spray tan holds up. I need to figure out something for my wedding day! Have a good time at the wedding 🙂

    • Claire @ Live & Love to Eat August 5, 2011 at 3:39 pm

      Honestly it seemed like it washed off a lot in the shower this morning already – my skin still looks darker but the water running down the drain was pretty brownish… they tell you not to shower for at least 18 hours but I made it about 10… I just couldn’t go to work smelling that funny!

  4. cheryl August 5, 2011 at 1:56 pm

    Stumbled here from a comment you left on Faith, Fitness, Fun. The chocolate goldfish are absolutely a staple food…I have them every weeknight as part of dessert. On weekends, I sometimes have my dorky trail mix….Choc goldfish, Fruit Loops, and Fiber One (the plain ole twigs).

  5. Katie August 5, 2011 at 2:01 pm

    I heard the shellac is awesome and does last! Let me know though! Girl I might be coming your way soon, will let u know! I know u have the wedding and honeymoon, but bit would be after that! Love goldfish!! The vanilla cupcake are bomb!!

  6. Annette @EnjoyYourHealthyLife August 5, 2011 at 4:07 pm

    Cool! I know, I try to avoid the grocery store RIGHT after the gym…but it is soooo convenient! I usually bring an apple to snack on as I shop if I do that. Hah—crazie chomping down while strolling the aisles!!

  7. Allison @ PickyEatingRD August 5, 2011 at 6:50 pm

    I had the shellac and it lasted for awhile! My only problem is I have a nervous habit of picking my nails. I couldn’t stop picking it off (which is the worst think you can do) and it took some of my regular nail with it =(

  8. Tessa @ Amazing Asset August 5, 2011 at 7:50 pm

    I get the shellac from time to time and it always turns out great and lasts for about 6 days for me. I know it should last longer, but I am using my hands all of the time, so I ruin regular manicures in about 3 hours!

  9. Presley August 5, 2011 at 8:27 pm

    I got a Shellac French manicure before my wedding and it actually lasted two weeks. I loved it! I think if you mess with them, they’ll ruin your nails, though. I guess you just have to be careful!

  10. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) August 6, 2011 at 1:09 am

    I’ve never had the shellac, but it looks really nice!

    I love Amy’s frozen meals because I usually recognize every ingredient. Have a great time at the wedding! 🙂

  11. Life After Swimming August 6, 2011 at 3:10 pm

    Oh my goodness! Those goldfish look YUMMY! Who has ever heard of vanilla cupcake goldfish??? And thanks for letting us know about the coupon!

  12. teabagginit August 6, 2011 at 4:56 pm

    thanks for the coupon heads-up! i saw those at the store & wanted to try them out (but didn’t want to spend the money) so this is great! 🙂

  13. elizabethlikesbutter August 7, 2011 at 3:40 am

    I actually try to avoid frozen dinners sometimes, too. But some are pretty good! My favorite Lean Cuisines are Sesame chicken, Thai-styled chicken with noodles and tortilla crusted fish. They’re quick, light and tasty! 🙂

  14. pbbrittany August 8, 2011 at 1:26 am

    Your nails look gorgeous!! I love the color! But, I am so cheap. You would never see me paying $30 for a manicure! lol. I’d rather do a DIY mani. 😛

  15. kate @ pomelo sunshine August 8, 2011 at 2:09 am

    Great coupon! How are your nails looking? I’m curious to see how long they last.

Leave a Reply

