Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Baked Wontons and Birthday Cake

I offered to make dinner for my family last night, but my parents had eaten a late lunch and I didn’t feel like making anything in depth or that would take too long to cook.

I remember seeing Andie’s recap post of her favorite tuna recipes last week and thought I’d try her tuna wonton recipe.  Unfortunately the men in the family aren’t big fans of tuna, so I used her buffalo chicken twist for them.  Perfect!

image

Once I mixed up the tuna ingredients, I wanted to enhance the flavor a bit more – so I added some lemon zest.

image

The assembly was simple but a bit time consuming.

image

image

By the time I got to the chicken wontons, I was a lot less picky about how they looked.  I was getting hungry and moving more quickly!

image

image

image

I sautéed a mixture of veggies, fried an egg, and added a batch of brown rice for an easy side dish.

image

The tuna variety came out nicely golden brown while the buffalo chicken ones were a bright orange (from the hot sauce).

image

Dinner was followed by family time and birthday cake – we celebrated early but I’m turning 26 tomorrow!  The cake was delicious but the icing was the thin, smooth kind.  Still didn’t stop me from enjoying a serious serving! 🙂  How beautiful is this cake?  It’s from one of our favorite bakeries (even though we chose not to get the wedding cake there).

image

This is the first time I’m not obsessed with my birthday – I usually make it a big deal, take off work, and celebrate for weeks.  I’m looking forward to my wedding so much that my birthday is just another day leading up to the big day.

Do you get excited about your birthday?

20 responses to “Baked Wontons and Birthday Cake

  1. loftyappetite August 8, 2011 at 3:09 pm

    Those wontons look delicious. i will have to try making them, the filling possibilities are endless! (kind of like pierogi 😉
    I don’t like my birthday, as I posted 2 weeks ago, I get really down and never know what i’m suppose to do and how i’m suppose to act because I just feel kind of sad and sentimental all day. However, every other day in July I’m excited because it’s my birthday month and “i can do what i want” including buying a lot of impulse purchases justified by the birthday 🙂
    But I love other people’s birthdays!! So Happy Birthday and enjoy your day!!!

  2. sprint2thetable August 8, 2011 at 3:16 pm

    Happy early birthday! I’m still birthday-obsessed… it’s bad. Any excuse to eat good food! 🙂

    Love the idea of baking the wantons. I usually boil mine like raviolis but the crispiness would be a great change!

  3. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) August 8, 2011 at 4:16 pm

    That cake is beautiful!!

    I get kind of excited for my birthday, but I usually don’t do anything too exciting for it. Happy *almost* birthday! 🙂

  4. allieksmith August 8, 2011 at 5:25 pm

    Happy birthday! What a lovely cake!!! 🙂

  5. Little Miss Fitness August 8, 2011 at 6:15 pm

    Claire, I love this blog! 🙂 So cute.

    My birthday lies two days after Christmas, so I’m usually partied out after the big holiday season. 🙂

    This is a big year for you with a wedding coming up! That’s awesome! I’m excited for you! Enjoy every minute!

  6. The Teenage Taste August 8, 2011 at 6:41 pm

    I saw that tuna round-up post on Andie’s blog last week too! I seriously need to make those wontons. They look fabulous!

  7. Paige @ Running Around Normal August 8, 2011 at 7:56 pm

    Those wontons look amazing. I should really try this!
    That cake is gorgeous!

  8. Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way August 9, 2011 at 2:07 am

    Very creative won ton recipe!!

    I never used to celebrate my birthday…It’s just another day in my opinion! That being said, my hubs rarely lets me get away with no cake or presents…i’m slowly getting used to people celebrating me 😉

  9. Katie August 9, 2011 at 2:17 am

    Happy birthday to you to Oreos!!! The cake looks amazing! Save a piece for me?! Ha!! Hope you have a wonderful birthday girl!!

  10. Katie August 9, 2011 at 2:17 am

    Omg my iPad auto correct typed Oreos instead of tomorrow! Lol! Sorry!!

  11. Andie @ CanYouStayForDinner.com August 10, 2011 at 12:11 am

    Claire!! happy belated birthday, love!!!!

Leave a Reply

