Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

WIAW – Birthday Edition

WIAW – on my birthday (August 9th)! We had already celebrated Sunday night, but yesterday was the real deal.

Peas and Crayons

Breakfast: egg, cheese, and tomato sandwich on wheat:

image

Work snack: frozen grapes (I can’t believe I don’t eat these more often)

image

It was the first birthday that I’ve celebrated at work. I started my first job after graduate school last summer about a week after my birthday, so I was a little bummed that the day wouldn’t be special. My mom said she’d take me out to lunch to celebrate. We went to Crystal on Penn, which was on Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives. It ended up being decent Mediterranean food, but definitely a dive.

Mom and I split a tabbouleh appetizer:

image

I ordered a veggie delight sandwich with a side salad. The veggies were warm and marinated, but the bun was like a big hot dog bun. Definitely would have been better on some of their fresh pita.

image

I didn’t want to make a big deal of my birthday at work, but I think a few coworkers saw it on Facebook and word got around. I was so surprised and touched when my cube neighbor brought this back for me after her lunch break:

image

It’s either the largest cupcake or tiniest cake I’ve ever seen. Either way it was such a sweet gesture – and it’s covered in the good, thick, gritty icing. Mmm. I came home and did a “No More Trouble Zones” workout once I realized that the day would completely revolve around eating.

For dinner on my birthday I usually like to try a new or upscale restaurant. This year I was all about a good Mexican meal at Emiliano’s, one of the best local spots. My family & fiance’ and I split a pitcher of margaritas.

image

Since there were five of us we ordered guacamole as an appetizer, which they prepared table-side, starting with 2 whole avocados, lime, cilantro, tomato, jalapeno, and garlic. So incredibly delicious.

image

I thought we were crazy to order so much, but figured I should take an “after” picture once I licked the bowl clean it was gone.

image

Although I love their fish tacos and sincronizada, I tried to make a relatively “healthy” choice and went with veggie fajitas, subbing corn tortillas for the flour ones.

image

image

Since I had dessert elsewhere in mind, we didn’t order anything, but the wait staff brought me a mini sopapilla complete with a candle, sombrero, and a birthday song. I definitely felt more like 12 than 26 – and that’s fine with me!

image

Dessert? Food blogger heaven – frozen yogurt. Flavors: cake batter, red velvet, and french vanilla. Toppings: raspberries, sprinkles, dark and white chocolate chips, and a drizzle of caramel.

image

That treat completed the food side of my birthday, but what about presents?

My incredible fiance’ bought a stove for our new house yesterday, which I’m really excited about. Stainless steel, 5 burners, and a convection oven – AND he got a great deal on it. So proud of him!

As if the birthday stove wasn’t enough, he surprised me with this:

image

I think the fancy new camera makes me a real blogger! ๐Ÿ™‚ It will really be used for our honeymoon to Poland and Italy, but I can’t wait to start playing around with it.

My parents got us a reservation in a suite at one of the historic, upscale hotels in downtown Pittsburgh, complete with late checkout and breakfast the next day. We thought we might just end up at the same Marriott as our guests, but I’m glad we’ll be spending our wedding night somewhere a bit more special!

image

All in all working on my birthday wasn’t so bad, since my family, fiance’, and coworkers still made it a special day. Do you work on your birthday?

32 responses to “WIAW – Birthday Edition

  1. buttonss - Cherie August 10, 2011 at 12:15 pm

    Yummy frozen grapes! And that cake is adorable!
    Happy birthday ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Emily P August 10, 2011 at 12:22 pm

    The new camera (and oven!) will be such a great addition to your blog! i LOVE Emiliano’s and usually order the veggie quesadillas when I go also ๐Ÿ™‚ happy belated birthday!!

  3. loftyappetite August 10, 2011 at 1:22 pm

    Glad you had a wonderful birthday! And that’s so awesome that you’re going to Poland on your honeymoon!! That’ll be so fun! 3 weeks from today I will be on a plane on my way there… i can’t waitttttttt

  4. Shanna, like Banana August 10, 2011 at 3:30 pm

    Yay! Happy Birthday to you ๐Ÿ™‚

    I work on my Birthday — if I didn’t, others would still be working and I think I’d be more lonely/bored.

  5. allieksmith August 10, 2011 at 4:21 pm

    Happy birthday!!! How nice that your parents got you such a great gift too ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance August 10, 2011 at 4:33 pm

    How did you keep your grapes frozen at work!? That’s awesome!

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

  7. Meri August 10, 2011 at 4:39 pm

    Looks like you had a great birthday! Mmm cake batter froyo (or better yet… just cake batter) would make my day even without all of the other stuff! I usually work on my birthday because I don’t mind going to work, but this last year I took off and spent the whole day doing whatever I wanted, then we got a bunch of Thai takeout at our apartment for dinner. This year… who know! Maybe mexican?

  8. Errign August 10, 2011 at 4:53 pm

    Happy Belated! That guac looks delicious & how nice of your coworker to bring you a baby cake ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Andrea @ Vegvacious August 10, 2011 at 5:27 pm

    Sounds like a fantastic birthday! That birthday dinner looks amazing – Mexican is a personal fave of mine!

  10. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) August 10, 2011 at 7:54 pm

    Happy, happy birthday!! It looks like it was a great day. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Why have I never heard of all these amazing Pgh restaurants?! The Mexican place looks amazing!

  11. Sam August 10, 2011 at 9:05 pm

    i always forget how much i love frozen grapes!! they are tasty ๐Ÿ™‚

    Sam @ fitness food & faith (giveaway today!)

  12. Mallory @ It's Only Life After All August 11, 2011 at 12:23 am

    That camera looks awesome! You are already a real blogger- I love your blog!
    Happy Birthday ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. sprint2thetable August 11, 2011 at 1:09 am

    Happy Birthday!!! You loaded up with the oven and a camera! Lucky b-day girl. ):

  14. Jenny August 11, 2011 at 1:30 am

    Happy Birthday!! Everything looks delicious, love the cake!

  15. Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way August 11, 2011 at 2:07 am

    I love frozen grapes!! The perfect summer snack!

    Your birthday festivities look absolutely fantastic!!!

    I always work on my birthday! It always works out that way it seems!

  16. kate @ pomelo sunshine August 11, 2011 at 2:48 am

    All of your eats look amazing. When I was a lifeguard, frozen grapes were my favorite snack. I’d leave them in the freeze and then pop a bunch of them in my mouth when I needed a cool treat – so much better than freeze pops all day long.

  17. IHeartVegetables August 11, 2011 at 3:14 am

    Happy Birthday!!! We’re almost twins! Mine was on Sunday ๐Ÿ™‚ Today my manager brought me flowers, which was super cute, but it was funny carrying them to my car. Everyone kept asking what they were for. haha

  18. Jenn L @ Peas and Crayons August 11, 2011 at 5:08 pm

    HOPE YOU HAD A FABULOUS BIRTHDAY CLAIRE!!!!! eeee! I’m so sorry it took me forever to come over and shout this at ya! yesterday was nuts — hope you have a baller bday WEEK! โค

  19. Kim @ Imperfectly Perfect August 11, 2011 at 8:19 pm

    Sounds like it ended up being a nice birthday after all. That was really nice of your coworker. At my office, we celebrate birthdays every other month with a company wide breakfast. They set up a nice spread for us, including a ton of fruit, which I love. I’ve had to work the last few birthdays, but this coming birthday falls on a Saturday. Yay! Happy Belated Birthday to you, Claire!!

  20. Pingback: Protein Packed Peach Baked Oats « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

