Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Lighten Up – Pancake Edition

High protein / low carb pancakes seem to be EVERYWHERE around the blog world these days.  Luckily, I am a breakfast fanatic and never mind trying out a new pancake recipe!

I already posted about lightening up a restaurant inspired sweet potato pancake if you want to check that out here.

As much as I love Denny’s or IHOPs sugary pancake breakfasts, it’s nice to indulge for less than 600+ calories sometimes.  Last week, I attempted Tina’s protein pancakes:

image

I added some toasted walnuts to the batter and ended up with a banana/walnut cake that was delicious and had a real-pancake-like consistency.

image

This week’s test was the recipe most recently posted on Eating Bird Food.  I found the batter too runny and ended up adding some oat flour to make it stay together.

image

It was a little plain, chewy, and flat, but definitely better with some Healthy Diva inspired protein “frosting” on top (made with mashed banana and vanilla protein powder).

image

image

Lastly, I posted about my experience with the Fitnessista’s recipe last week.  They were tasty and filling, but just didn’t have the texture I was hoping for.

My favorite blog-inspired cakes?  Definitely Biochemista’s garbanzo bean flour pancakes.  They have the most similar consistency and flavor to a regular pancake.   Yes, they are higher in calories since they are more than egg whites and protein powder, but they are worth the price tag of the GB flour & the few extra calories.  Even my picky eating health-food phobic family likes them.

Am I missing any great alternative pancake recipes?  What’s your favorite?

19 responses to “Lighten Up – Pancake Edition

  1. char on a mission August 11, 2011 at 2:45 pm

    You are a pancake making machine! And now I want pancakes haha! It’s funny how stuff flies around the blog world in doses. It’s like someone said to someone else, “let’s ALL make this same recipe!”

  2. loftyappetite August 11, 2011 at 4:14 pm

    have you ever made Polish potato pancakes? I spent all last weekend working the potato pancake booth at a Polish festival! I totally forgot how much I love them… but I need to make my own at home healthy version because the festival version is a little too greasy!

  3. Kris | iheartwellness.com August 11, 2011 at 4:19 pm

    I love pancakes!! I usually make mine with oats, banana, flax, etc. Just a vegan mess usually after I try to flip them! LOL

    xxoo

  4. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance August 11, 2011 at 4:26 pm

    I have a recipe for a vegan oatmeal pancakes which I LOVE but thats only because I can’t have wheat or eggs anymore 😦 I used to love the FItnessista’s protein pancakes though 🙂

  5. Alyssa @ Life of bLyss August 11, 2011 at 4:35 pm

    OOOH, I have GOT to try that pancake frosting!!

  6. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) August 11, 2011 at 4:36 pm

    Thank you for comparing these! I’ve only made the Fitnessista ones and really liked them. I’ll have to give some of these others a try too. 🙂

  7. Katie August 11, 2011 at 4:46 pm

    Yay! Love the frosting!! It’s tbebest!! I love pancakes, coconut flour pancakes I like, but sometimes hard to make, they crumble!!

  8. Heather @ girlyeverafter August 11, 2011 at 5:12 pm

    I love pancakes but when I eat them I’m hungry within 30 minutes after so it’s nice to have less sugary version!

  9. Kjirsten- Balanced Healthy Life August 11, 2011 at 6:56 pm

    I’m not a huge pancake lover but do get the craving occasionally. I love any pancake with fruit in it especially blueberries.

  10. Jenny August 11, 2011 at 8:37 pm

    For some reason I love pancakes but I never make it at home. I will eat it out tho, yum 😀

  11. Alexa @ Simple Eats August 11, 2011 at 8:52 pm

    I can’t make pancakes for the life of me. I tried Tina’s and they turned into one messy blob. Yours look awesome though!

  12. teabagginit August 20, 2011 at 4:33 am

    thank you so much for this review!!! i see these pancake recipes all over the place but never really know how they’ll actually taste – great to go in with an idea! 🙂

Leave a Reply

