Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Pizza Party

Yes, I’m a dietitian who loves pizza.  Lots of it.  I post about it often.

They count it in the national school lunch program as a serving of grains, dairy, and vegetables.  Who am I to argue with that? 

image

image

image

Especially when it’s homemade roasted tomato and garlic sauce on Trader Joe’s garlic and herb pizza dough (which I roll out super thin and get 2 pizza stone-sized pizzas).

image

Or carmelized onions.

image

image

With 40 spices hummus and Trader Joe’s reduced fat smoked gouda.

image

Practically as healthy as steamed broccoli. 😉

image

At least as delicious.

image

Or how about that homemade sauce with pesto and three cheeses?  Good enough for a pizza and a half. 

image

image

Oh, and a side salad.  Since I’m so healthy.

image

So I joined Twitter (follow me @ClaireTheRD) and discovered Alyssa works out with J Timberlake.  Obviously it’s worth the effort.

Do you make pizza a part of your healthy lifestyle?

33 responses to “Pizza Party

  1. foodsweatandbeers August 16, 2011 at 2:43 pm

    I make pizza a part of every lifestyle I’ve ever led, from healthy to (for quite some time….) unhealthy, to questionable, to nomadic. Pizza is constant.

    LOVE that TJ’s pizza crust, and well done on your rolling skills. 2 pizzas for the crust of one! Perfecto.

  2. Shanna, like Banana August 16, 2011 at 2:49 pm

    Heck yes! I loooove pizza. And I also love TJ’s dough. I have a lot of fun playing with different variations of pizza: mexi, white, grilled, veggie, bbq, etc.

    Dangit, now I want pizza =P

  3. sprint2thetable August 16, 2011 at 2:55 pm

    I love making pizzas half-and-half. There are too many topping choices to only make one! Love caramelized onions and gouda.

  4. Tessa @ Amazing Asset August 16, 2011 at 3:46 pm

    I am starting to make pizza a part of my lifestyle now… it can be so healthy and it’s fun to make myself 🙂

  5. Katie August 16, 2011 at 4:50 pm

    I lobe making pizzas with a whole wheat pita or wrap, in fact I think that’s going to be dinner tonight!! Yay your on twitter!!

  6. Lauren @ Sugar Coated Sisters August 16, 2011 at 5:54 pm

    Did you magic bullet your pizza sauce?!

    My sister is leaving behind her magic bullet as she leaves for college… today! eek!… the pizza’s look goooooood, I worked at a pizza shop for three years so I have a love for pizza too!

  7. stephanie August 16, 2011 at 6:09 pm

    i love homemade pizza! love the fire roasted tomatoes, that one sounds delicious

  8. Alexa @ Simple Eats August 16, 2011 at 6:35 pm

    I love pizza. Especially with caramelized onions and goat cheese. Your pizzas always look fantastic!

  9. GOtheXtraMile August 16, 2011 at 6:41 pm

    Homemade pizza is honestly better than buying it! Making it exactly how you want is the best part 😀

  10. Life of a Happy Blonde August 16, 2011 at 7:38 pm

    Ohhhhhhhh everyone is posting pizza today and now i’m desperate for it!
    Love love love your toppings 🙂
    Ps: i’m a total fan of considering pizza healthy food!

  11. Jamie @ Food in Real Life August 16, 2011 at 11:17 pm

    Your pizzas look fabulous! That TJ’s gouda sounds awesome. I make pizza a part of my lifestyle for sure! We make our own pizza at home with whole wheat dough and top it with tons of veggies. Homemade pizza also makes the best leftovers!

  12. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate August 16, 2011 at 11:43 pm

    Hummus and cheese pizza? Sign me up!

  13. Melissa August 16, 2011 at 11:55 pm

    Here I was, thinking my dinner was soooo good. And now I want pizza. Your pizza, to be specific. YUM!

  14. Jessica @ Stylish Stealthy and Healthy August 17, 2011 at 12:23 am

    I probably make pizza at least once a week and i love experimenting with toppings. However, due to my lack of a Trader Joes (insert long sob here) I have to make my own whole wheat crust which can be a little bit of a deterrent when I’m feeling…lazy.
    This looks great though!

  15. Mallory @ It's Only Life After All August 17, 2011 at 1:30 am

    Looks doughy and delicious! I definitely incorporate pizza into my diet– I’m Italian and I couldn’t live without bread & tomatoes!

  16. Jenny August 17, 2011 at 1:42 am

    I love making my own flatout pizzas! So healthy and yummy 😀

  17. Paige @ Running Around Normal August 17, 2011 at 1:49 am

    On average, I have pizza once a week. Most times it’s not too healthy 😉 But every once in a while I’ll make a healthy one!

  18. Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way August 17, 2011 at 2:03 am

    Pizza is my ultimate comfort food….I absolutely LOVE it and it’s just so darn easy to make it healthy and delicious!!

    I love your ideas!

  19. Pingback: WIAW – Snack Style « Live and Love to Eat

  20. kate @ pomelo sunshine August 19, 2011 at 12:38 am

    I love pizza more than anything, in pretty much any incarnation. I’m not sure it’s always part of a “healthy” lifestyle but I love thin crust the best and my favorite pizza is a plain pineapple pizza so that’s not too bad. Mmmm, I might order one for dinner tomorrow.

  21. Pingback: Semi-homemade Pizza « Live and Love to Eat

  22. Pingback: Greek Pizza Bites and Asking for Advice « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

