Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Leftovers Don’t Have to be Lame

Thanks for all of the wonderful feedback on the crab cake post.  I enjoyed them too! 🙂  It made about 10 cakes, and after 2 days of leftovers, I still had 3 left and decided to make a “new” meal out of them.

My plan was to make a creamy crab & asparagus risotto, but things don’t always go according to plan (ie, I had no rice in the house), so it turned into whole wheat crab orzo.  Probably a healthier option!

First I reheated three of the crab cakes by crumbling them in a skillet and sauteing them with some chopped scallion while cooking the orzo.

image

The “creamy” ingredients included some 40 spices hummus, 1 wedge of light spreadable swiss (the Aldi version of laughing cow), and some 1/3 less fat chive & onion cream cheese.  With about 1/4 cup of the pasta water mixed in, all of the sauce ingredients came together and provided just enough of a coating to add flavor without overpowering the crab.

image

I added chopped asparagus and topped it with some parmigano reggiano for a delicious second meal.

image

Dessert: a spin on my new favorite treat – a vanilla version with avocado, banana, vanilla protein powder, almond milk, and almond butter.  To die for, seriously. 

image

Off to catch up on my 39285029 Google reader items and continue to be jealous of everyone who got to hang out at HLS.

The wedding count down is at 12 days!  I apologize for any lack of blogging the next couple weeks! 😉  Happy Monday!

Do you like to recreate leftovers into new dishes, or can you eat the same thing several days in a row?

24 responses to “Leftovers Don’t Have to be Lame

  1. Madeline (Food Fitness & Family) August 22, 2011 at 2:02 pm

    Ahh!! So excited for you – this was my FAVORITE time during wedding planning. The best piece of advice I got before my wedding was to take a minute at the reception and just sit with your new hubby and watch everyone else. Even if it’s just for a minute. Soak it up. The day is over in an instant and that moment with Chris is one of my favorite memories of the day 🙂

    As for leftovers – I will have to try to think of ways to incorporate them into a new dish. I am not a big fan of leftovers at all. The hubs is though so I usually just pack them up for his lunch 🙂

    Glad I found your blog!

  2. Meredith @ food, shoes, and booze August 22, 2011 at 2:46 pm

    Wow I am never that creative with my leftovers… your leftover dish is pretty amazing! I typically just eat the same the over again.

  3. Lauren @ Sugar Coated Sisters August 22, 2011 at 3:40 pm

    I eat leftovers all the time… Sunday night I make a big pot of mush and eat it for lunch mon-fri. I need to learn how to “mix up” the leftovers bc by Wednesday I’m SOOOO tired of it. This week’s concoction: southwest quinoa “salad”

  4. sprint2thetable August 22, 2011 at 4:29 pm

    I’m getting better with leftovers (thank to the raw carrot salad!), but I do try to make smaller portions so that I don’t have more than 1-2 extra servings. Variety is the spice of life! Your leftover creation looks great – I love the idea of re-purposing items so they do taste a bit different.

  5. Melissa August 23, 2011 at 12:16 am

    Just catching up–the crab cakes and your risotto remix both look fantastic! I’m not all that great with leftovers, so this is a great solution for me. It’s on my must make list now!

    Enjoy the final wedding preparations! So exciting! 😀

  6. Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way August 23, 2011 at 12:54 am

    I love leftovers. So much in fact I will own a t-shirt that says “i love leftovers” someday 😉

    I like to switch things up though…Eating the same thing over and over gets a little boring!

  7. Presley August 23, 2011 at 10:05 am

    It’s getting SO close… I bet you are excited! I seriously can’t wait to read all about it… I know you will be a beautiful bride!

  8. Amanda August 23, 2011 at 12:16 pm

    I can’t believe how close your wedding is…which means that mine is so soon too. Ahh!!

    PS – your crab cake recipe looks amazing. I really need to try that out. I read that on Friday morning and was craving crab cakes for the rest of the day. Somehow, we ended up at the North Park Lounge that night where, coincidentally ;-), they happen to have absolutely fantastic cakes. Definitely try them out!

  9. teabagginit August 23, 2011 at 12:58 pm

    I love leftovers but I never change them up & always eat them the same as the firs time – I’m soooooo boring when it comes to my own food!
    Ps- if you add blueberries to your dessert, they’d be your “something blue” – just saying! 😉

  10. kristina@beancakes ❤ August 23, 2011 at 5:38 pm

    i love to recreate from leftovers as well as continue on eating leftovers! in my humble opinion ~ food usually tastes even better the second and even third time around!! have a great tuesday claire 😉
    xx ~ ks

  11. Heather August 23, 2011 at 7:33 pm

    We’re huge into leftovers. I make a huge pot of pinto beans in a crock pot and have that in a different meal like tacos, veg pasta sauce, etc and it saves a ton of $.

  12. Bianca @ Confessions of a Chocoholic August 23, 2011 at 8:15 pm

    I love how you recreated your leftovers into a new dish that sounds as delicious! I go through phases where I can eat the same thing for days but other times, like you I end up making-over the leftovers 🙂

  13. Alexa @ Simple Eats August 23, 2011 at 9:19 pm

    You are seriously awesome at re-creating leftovers. I love orzo and I bet the combo of crab and orzo was awesome!

  14. Blair August 23, 2011 at 11:05 pm

    You are so creative with leftovers! I usually just end up eating the same thing for a couple of days. Pretty boring, but oh well. When I’m school I’m just grateful for food that is already ready to be eaten!

  15. Allie August 24, 2011 at 12:09 am

    Yay for yummy left overs!!

Leave a Reply

