Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Protein Packed Peach Baked Oats

Thank you for all of the feedback on yesterday’s post… I was super stressed and your kind words and suggestions were comforting!

Peaches are finally in season.  I bought some that weren’t quite ripe and then decided to ripen very quickly.  I didn’t have time to make my lightened up peach cobbler, but I did want to incorporate them into my breakfast yesterday.  The cooler weather also had me in the mood for oatmeal, so I threw some oats & peaches in the oven while I got ready for work, inspired by Katie’s baked oatmeal for one.

These photos are from my new camera that I got for my birthday!  I’m definitely learning as I go!

Protein Packed Peach Baked Oats

Ingredients:

1/3 cup oats (I used old fashioned) + 2/3 cup water (or substitute any kind of milk) OR 1 cup cooked oatmeal

1 peach, chopped

1 scoop protein powder (I used JM’s vanilla cake batter)

2 egg whites (or two flax “eggs”)

sweeter, to taste (I didn’t use any because the protein powder is extremely sweet)

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1 tsp cinnamon

1/8 tsp salt

1 tsp brown sugar

1) Preheat oven to 375 and coat a small baking dish with cooking spray.

2) Cook the oats in the microwave for 75-90 seconds, until the majority of the water is absorbed.  Allow to cool (I stuck mine in the freezer for 10 minutes).

3) Add egg whites, protein powder, sweetener, vanilla, cinnamon, and salt to cooled oats.

4) Pour half of the oat mixture into the dish, followed by chopped peaches.  Top with remaining oats and sprinkle with brown sugar.

5) Bake 30-35 minutes, until top is lightly browned.

Approximate nutrition (1 serving): 275 calories, 34g carbs, 4g fat, 27g protein

27 grams of protein!

Using precooked oats in this recipe gives it a creamy texture, as opposed to the chewy, dense texture of regular baked oats.

I topped mine with some vanilla almond milk, but you could definitely use some whipped cream or yogurt to get really fancy! 😉

Fall always makes me a little sad… something about summer being over, knowing a miserable Pittsburgh winter is on its way… but I’m definitely looking forward to warm fall foods (and the small event that’s happening in NINE DAYS!).

Julie & Janetha both recently posted about how they first got involved in the blogging community.  One of the first recipes I tested from a blog was for baked oatmeal.  I don’t remember exactly which one I tried, but I LOVED the flavor and texture of baked oats, and have experimented with different variations since.

Have you ever made baked oatmeal?

15 responses to “Protein Packed Peach Baked Oats

  1. Meredith @ food, shoes, and booze August 25, 2011 at 12:59 pm

    I’ve never made baked oatmeal before, but your recipe looks great! And i definitely understand not looking forward to winter… I love fall and I like winter for about a month, but it snows sooo much where I am, and I hate driving in it!

  2. The Teenage Taste August 25, 2011 at 1:07 pm

    This looks delicious! I love the summery addition of the peaches. Yum!
    I’ve made baked oatmeal before and loved it! My favorite flavors are banana bread and pumpkin! 😀

  3. loftyappetite August 25, 2011 at 1:36 pm

    I’ve never heard of baking oats! Well besides in cookies and muffins of course 😉 I have really ripe peaches sitting on my coutnter and i might try this recipe tonight! Also, loving the new camera photos!

  4. Kjirsten- Balanced Healthy Life August 25, 2011 at 3:47 pm

    I’ve never had baked oats. They look good though! I’m wishing we had cooler weather like you guys! We were over 100 yesterday, I’m so ready for fall. It’s my favorite season!

  5. Shanna, like Banana August 25, 2011 at 4:03 pm

    I haven’t! But I like oats in everything so baked oats would probably be a huge win for me.

  6. Tiff @ Love Sweat and Beers August 25, 2011 at 4:11 pm

    Oooo that looks good! I’ve been trying to eat more peaches while they’re still in season too. Yesterday I put some in my Stoneyfield peach yogurt. It had more sugar than I’d like, but it was super yummy!

  7. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) August 25, 2011 at 4:22 pm

    I’ve made baked oatmeal a few times, but it always dries out. Yours looks amazing though!

    Ugh, I feel you on the miserable Pgh winters. I could cry.

  8. Sara @ The Foodie Diaries August 25, 2011 at 6:30 pm

    I’ve never made my own baked oatmeal. I actually had oatmeal this morning for breakfast 🙂 It was fantasticcccc!

  9. Katie @ Peace Love and Oats August 25, 2011 at 7:11 pm

    That looks delicious! My problem with baked oatmeal is that I don’t have the patience or the time! I’ll have to try it out on a weekend.

  10. Allie August 25, 2011 at 11:49 pm

    Aww I love your baked oats! So cute 🙂

  11. Pingback: Lightening Up: 2011 « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

