Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Shower Number Three!

As if it wasn’t enough that my family/bridemaids threw me a shower (and amazing bachelorette party), then my neighbors threw Adam and I a shower… today at work, there was ANOTHER shower!

image

I don’t know how many of you work in an office, but a food-based event is always popular and gets everyone in an uproar.  There are actually three of my fellow employees getting married this fall, too, so it was a group wedding shower for the four of us.

My plate: zucchini square (delish), panzanella salad, fresh fruit and veggies, and lots and lots of desserts.  I tried two different types of chocolate chip cookies, a “magic” cookie bar (read: magic=butter+sugar), and of course, cake!

image

Check out the beautiful cake (from a local bakery we sampled wedding cakes at but decided we couldn’t afford): 

image

You can’t tell from the photo but the icing is metallic and shimmery and beautiful (but not the kind I like).

Our coworkers presented us with generous giftcards on top of all the good eats!   I contributed some cookie dough balls and a twist on granola bars… recipe to come soon.

In the spirit of “thankful Thursday”, I just had to say how thankful I am to not only have generous family and friends, but neighors & coworkers, too!  Everyone is helping to make this wedding experience memorable.

15 responses to “Shower Number Three!

  1. Kathryn @ Flopoodle August 25, 2011 at 7:02 pm

    That cake is beautiful! Sounds like you work with a really great group of ppl 🙂

  2. Katie @ Peace Love and Oats August 25, 2011 at 7:13 pm

    One of my favorite parts of my internship this summer was when the office got together for little parties! It was so great to hang out with people on a different level, and see what they could cook! Some of those ladies were impressive !

  3. tea-bag August 25, 2011 at 8:22 pm

    so glad that your co-workers were able to share in your happiness! (and that your co-workers are good cooks!) always helps! 🙂

  4. Jamie @ Food in Real Life August 25, 2011 at 10:15 pm

    That cake is gorgeous! What bakery is it from?

  5. Katie August 25, 2011 at 11:53 pm

    So sweet! Congrats to all u girls!! Cake looks amazing!! Where is it from?!

  6. LizAshlee August 26, 2011 at 12:19 am

    Cake is beautiful! I love your thankful Thursday! What a great idea!! I am ABSOLUTELY thankful for my amazing family!! I ❤ SO much!!

  7. emily (a nutritionist eats) August 26, 2011 at 12:51 am

    That is so nice of them – quite the spread! 🙂
    I felt so blessed to have as many showers as I did – it was so not necessary!!

  8. Nicole August 26, 2011 at 1:40 am

    Awww, sounds like so much fun!

  9. Kris | iheartwellness.com August 26, 2011 at 3:19 am

    Love this gorgeous CAKE!!!! I need cake 🙂 You always brighten my day!

    xxoo

  10. Pingback: Substitutions and Asking for Advice « Live and Love to Eat

  11. kristina@beancakes ★ August 26, 2011 at 2:28 pm

    awww ~ so nice!! lovely photo of the cake!! one of my absolute faves is wedding cake! wish i could come to your wedding claire 😉
    xx ~ ks

  12. Little Miss Fitness August 26, 2011 at 5:53 pm

    That is so sweet! I love working with awesome people! It makes a job 110% better! 🙂

    How many days until the big day?!!

Leave a Reply

