Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Substitutions and Asking for Advice

When planning the 4 person wedding shower, my boss put a sign up sheet in the kitchen for people to mark down what kind of food they’d bring.  I had originally written “cookie dough bites”, knowing they’d be a hit, but had to change my plans at the last-minute when Angela posted her chocolate chunk toffee bar recipe on Wednesday.

Angela said they were a byproduct of PMS symptoms, and I immediately identified with that! 😉  She was curious if other nut butters or flours might work, so I thought I’d try some substitutions.

I think I over did it.

– 1/2 c slivered almonds, 1/2 c walnuts (instead of 1 cup walnuts)

– coconut flour for spelt flour (grabbed some free from Swanson and have been looking for a reason to try it)

– sunflower seed butter for peanut butter (trying to use it up since I’m not infatuated with it)

– chocolate/peanut butter chips for chocolate chunks (I’ve had them in the pantry awhile and couldn’t ever find a reason to use them)

– date syrup (homemade from Chelsey’s recipe) for brown rice syrup

Not that I’m too discouraged – they still tasted good – just not quite chewy, moist, or toffee-like.  They were dry, cakey granola bars, and they were one of the healthiest options at our luncheon – and my fellow dietitian (and good friend) assured me they were delicious.

Liking the photos from the fancy new camera?  I definitely need to play around and learn how to use all of the features!

HELP!  I need advice from the more experienced bloggers out there: should I purchase my own domain?  If I do, should I buy hosting through WordPress, or purchase it elsewhere?

24 responses to “Substitutions and Asking for Advice

  1. In Sweetness and In Health August 26, 2011 at 11:22 am

    I’m not an experienced blogger…but I’ve heard from experienced ones that buying your own domain is the way to go! It makes your site more easily recognizable since it doesn’t have the .wordpress behind it, and it makes people take you “more seriously” (I’m not sure if that’s true or not). Anyway, I bought mine through wordpress and it’s like $12 a year…totally worth it!

  2. sprint2thetable August 26, 2011 at 12:22 pm

    I wanted to try these with coconut flour too! I find when baking with coconut flour you have to add more moisture.

    As far as self-hosting, I am happy with WordPress and it isn’t too expensive!

  3. Angela August 26, 2011 at 12:25 pm

    Awww sorry your changes didn’t work out! I think it was probably the date syrup…Im not sure if BRS could be subbed or not, but im sure the nut butter and nuts would be fine to swap. 🙂

  4. kristina@beancakes ★ August 26, 2011 at 2:30 pm

    claire ~ i still have yet to purchase my own domain, still thinking about it! we’ll see if my blogging keeps up!! happy weekend to you 😉
    xx ~ k

  5. Shanna, like Banana August 26, 2011 at 2:41 pm

    Keep it through wordpress..some of the other ones are terrible interfaces!

  6. Katie @ Peace Love and Oats August 26, 2011 at 3:03 pm

    They look good to me! And no advice from me… I’ve only had my blog for 3 weeks!

  7. Holly August 26, 2011 at 3:23 pm

    I just did mine- used wordpress- just dropped the .wordpress.com & it was only $17 a year! SUPER cheap & no worries about transitioning to another host site!

  8. Tiff @ Love Sweat and Beers August 26, 2011 at 4:12 pm

    I was thinking of self-hosting on wordpress. I don’t have access to any cool design software to really pimp my site (and I don’t think Xzibit from MTV is going to come to my rescue), so I guess I’ll keep it as-is for now. Good luck with your decision!

  9. Alexa @ Simple Eats August 26, 2011 at 6:04 pm

    Those still look awesome to me!

  10. pbbrittany August 26, 2011 at 6:06 pm

    These look fantastic! &I just got a new camera last month too! I’m lovin it but I haven’t had the chance to REALLy use it!

  11. Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun August 26, 2011 at 7:03 pm

    I love having my own domain. We purchased mine through the same place who does my hosting – Stablehost. It was a good deal all together that Peter found. He’s the tech person for my blog so that’s about all I know though. LOL

  12. char on a mission August 27, 2011 at 8:28 pm

    I did what Holly did, so physically the blog still looks the same, but at least now I own the domain. I most definitely would like to switch up the design one day in the future, but for now I’m fine with it resembling other bloggers. It’s the actual content in our blogs that set us apart!

    Ok I saw those bars Angela made too, and I think it’s awesome you experimented around, but I definitely want to try her original recipe haha!!! That’s sweet you got a comment from her too! 😀

  13. tea-bag August 27, 2011 at 10:01 pm

    i think we’re always harder on ourselves than other people! your co-workers probably loved it!

  14. debbie@accidentlydelish August 28, 2011 at 1:14 pm

    i purchased, bigger server, less problems! and the more you blog and gro you’ll end up buying one anyways, so buy it while your name is available! when i first started i waited and had to choose a different blog name because someone bought my other domain name!

  15. Kjirsten- Balanced Healthy Life August 29, 2011 at 3:10 pm

    I have mine through wordpress and love it so far. Plus it only costs about 10 bucks for the year! Such a great deal!!!

  16. Lauren @ Sugar Coated Sisters August 29, 2011 at 3:46 pm

    Haha that comment about Xzibit is too funny!!! I secretly wished he would pimp out my ’92 red explorer but alas, he did not. I’ll add my 2 cents, I agree with everyone, buy your domain through WordPress!

Leave a Reply

