Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Waffles and Wedding Tasks

*Note: I don’t know what’s going on with WordPress, but it won’t let me link anything in this post.  Please check back later in the day if you’re interested in clicking through.  I apologize!

This might be my only post this week.  Or I might post every day before the wedding.  I’m not sure, we’ll see how the week goes!

Thanks for the advice on domains/hosting.  If I make a move, it will be after the honeymoon.  Too much else to think about these days!

This weekend was great – a nice balance of getting things accomplished and having fun.  Friday after work I found a studio that does “$5 Friday” hot yoga classes, no appointment needed.  It was only the second place I’ve taken a hot yoga class, but it was MUCH more challenging and I was still feeling sore Sunday morning!  I actually felt light headed (and of course soaked) afterward, so I know I burned a ton of calories and really pushed my body.  The studio is very close to where the fiance’ and I are going to live, so it might become a new Friday habit.  Speaking of our new neighborhood, I found out Katie (www.healthydivaeats.com) & I are going to be neighbors.  How lucky am I? 😉  Congrats on the great news!

Saturday night I got to go to the preseason Steeler game with one of my bridesmaids.  We had a blast in the beautiful weather watching the Steelers beat up on the Falcons.

I had very few structured “meals” this weekend.  I’ve mostly been snacking, especially on this delicious granola.

image

You can still order Warrior Crunch directly from Nuts About Granola (www.nutsaboutgranola.com), too!

image

image

image

Kate (www.ahealthypassion.com) made some delicious looking strawberry pistachio pancakes last week and also adapted the recipe to make donuts.  I wanted to try this flavor combination so I used her idea with Tina’s (www.carrotsncake.com) basic protein pancake recipe (with some almond milk and vanilla added) and made a protein pistachio/strawberry waffle.

image

image

I wasn’t wild about the texture of the pancakes when made with mostly protein powder but it definitely worked for the waffle.  I was sure to spray my waffle iron really well in fears that it would stick.

image

I love toppings on waffles, but I think it’s key to bake in the flavors – so the pistachios and strawberries were both in the batter and on top, with some greek yogurt (+ vanilla stevia) for an extra protein punch.

image

Can you spot the pistacios?  The flavor was great and delicately nutty, not at all too overpowering.  Definitely a winning breakfast!

image

I sat in the sun yesterday and got some wedding tasks accomplished.  I hope you all survived the hurricane with no incident, but we had amazing Sunday weather – sunny, breezy, and about 75 degrees!

The first thing I worked on was my “something blue”.  I love the idea of the “I Do” on Pour La Victoire’s bridal shoe line, but didn’t love the shoes themselves (and I tried several pairs, thanks to Zappos.com’s amazing return policy).  I finally settled on Stuart Weitzman pumps as my bridal shoes but stole the PLV idea to make them extra special.

image

Just so you understand, I have no artistic skill.  I can barely color in the lines.  I started a scrapbook once and quit after 1 page because it annoyed the heck out of me.  I just have no patience for such things.  Considering my short attention span and the tiny little sticky backs of these crystals, I’m really happy with how they turned out!

 The next task was wrapping the favors.  We’re giving guests a Sarris candy bar (a local company with amazing chocolate) with a custom wrapper.  Of course nutrition facts are included! 😉

image

The front (without our last name!):  I also colored in the center triangle of the design with metallic gold ink and think I might add a crystal or two (if I come up with extra time in the next few days). 

image

image

Bella kept me company most of the afternoon, but was really no help.  🙂

I’m taking off Wednesday-Friday of this week for last-minute prep.  I just can’t wait for Saturday to get here already!

Again, I apologize for the link situation.  Tell me something about your weekend – food, football, or favor related!

26 responses to “Waffles and Wedding Tasks

  1. loftyappetite August 29, 2011 at 3:51 pm

    I love love love the “I do” on the shoes!!! What a great idea to make it yourself! Have fun at your wedding! I look forward to seeing some pictures!

  2. Melissa August 29, 2011 at 4:46 pm

    Those shoes are adorable. Totally worth the crafty diligence! Glad you got a chance to have some fun this weekend and de-stress a little. A good workout and a tasty breakfast are always good for that!

  3. Lauren @ Sugar Coated Sisters August 29, 2011 at 4:52 pm

    pistachios are so great in “baked” goods! something food related – last night turned into a SUPER random pizza + salad party at my house. I thought it would be me and my friend sarah and it turned into a group of 10 people (my mom + 7 of her friends showed up) strange but fun!

  4. Katie August 29, 2011 at 4:58 pm

    I am soooooooo excited we will be neighbors!! U got to give me the dregs on the hot yoga too! I found a place in peters I was going to look into for yoga! So excited I will meet u!

    Love the something blue! U did a great job! Love the favors!! I’m actually good friends with Candace sarrris, she is one of the daughters ! She is super sweet!!

    Happy Monday!! Thanks for the love!!!

  5. Kjirsten- Balanced Healthy Life August 29, 2011 at 5:12 pm

    I love the I do on the shoes! What a fun and cute idea!!! Your waffles looks amaze as well!!!

  6. Katie @ Peace Love and Oats August 29, 2011 at 5:18 pm

    That’s so exciting that your wedding is so close! I’m glad you had a good weekend; just remember to try and relax and enjoy this week as best you can! It’s going to be gone before you know it!

  7. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) August 29, 2011 at 5:50 pm

    I feel like your wedding was just like 50+ days away!! SO SOON now!

    I love the shoes and favors! 🙂

  8. Tiff August 29, 2011 at 6:42 pm

    I love the little sparkles! Such a clever idea!

  9. Allie August 29, 2011 at 7:00 pm

    So jealous you got to go to the steelers gam!

  10. tea-bag August 29, 2011 at 7:20 pm

    man, i wish i had a waffle maker now … hey, that’d be a great wedding favor gift! now all i need is a wedding!

  11. Allison @ PickyEatingRD August 29, 2011 at 10:49 pm

    That is such a great idea!!! I have never seen that before (though I am way out of the bridal loop). It looks so cute.

  12. Tessa @ Amazing Asset August 30, 2011 at 12:21 am

    What a great idea lady!
    And these waffles…oh my 🙂

  13. Mary @ Bites and Bliss August 30, 2011 at 12:37 am

    Protein powder can really, really dry out the texture of pancakes and other stuff like that. Good to know it works well with waffles, though!

    Love the shoes- too cute!

  14. Mallory @ It's Only Life After All August 30, 2011 at 12:43 am

    Those candy bars are such a cute idea!! The waffle sure did look good, even if it didn’t taste great!

  15. vegansunshine August 30, 2011 at 10:05 am

    Ok, so I need a waffle maker. 🙂
    I bet you are so excited for the wedding!

    Whitney

  16. Alexa @ Simple Eats August 30, 2011 at 6:35 pm

    Eee! I bet you’re so excited…I’m excited for you! I love the “something blue” idea…too cute!

  17. char on a mission August 30, 2011 at 8:17 pm

    I love your artistic ability despite you saying you don’t have any!! You must be so excited. I can’t believe your wedding day will be here soon!! Gonna be great! I guess I’ll let that Falcon comment slide seeing as you are getting married…but, I think I’m kinda a Falcon fan (by association) because my husband’s friend’s dad works for them, so you can see where this is going…

    Waffles look fantastic. I haven’t ate pistachios in a long time!

Leave a Reply

