Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Simplicity

Ever since I saw this post on Iowa Girl Eats I was dying to make Baked Panzanella Caprese.  I knew I’d have dinner by myself (after hitting the gym and the mall, of course) since my husband was working until 9, and when a coworker brought in home grown tomatoes, it all fell into place.

image

Glad I used up some of the last fresh basil leaves – there was frost on my car this morning! 

image

I may have chosen a too-large piece of garlic – my poor husband.

Can you tell I love saying that he’s my husband? 😉

Instead of regular olive oil, I used this amazing truffle oil I picked up last weekend.

image

Fresh, local, Mancini Italian bread.

image

image

image

And a plain omelet on the side for some protein.

image

image

Protein, carbs, and fat – yes please!

image

I have a few more tomatoes left over – maybe I’ll pour the eggs over top before baking and have a caprese souffle this weekend for breakfast.

image

Kristin rocks.  Pumpkin frozen yogurt for dessert?

Any foods you’re in a hurry to use up before they go bad / are out of season?

Happy Friday, all!

17 responses to “Simplicity

  1. Katie @ Peace Love and Oats September 16, 2011 at 12:43 pm

    any kind of summer fruit! I’m also trying to have as many of my smoothies as I can before it’s just too cold!

  2. Tiff September 16, 2011 at 1:17 pm

    That looks tasty! I’ve never had panzanella, but it sounds like a winner.

  3. vegansunshine September 16, 2011 at 1:21 pm

    Truffle oil? Fancy! That sounds really good.

    Whitney

  4. sprint2thetable September 16, 2011 at 1:58 pm

    That is one impressive dish! You must pour eggs over it for a souffle – I can’t even imagine how good that would be. 🙂

  5. Cait @ Cait hates Cake September 16, 2011 at 5:39 pm

    That looks so delicious and totally right up my alley! I’m trying to get my fill of iced coffee before it gets too cold!

  6. bakebooks September 16, 2011 at 5:53 pm

    That looks so good! I love anything that resemble lasagna 🙂 Hmm…maybe berries? Although I’ll just buy the frozen ones this fall and winter!

  7. Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun September 16, 2011 at 5:55 pm

    That looks really really good. I don’t know if I have ever had truffle oil…but I want some!

  8. Jenny September 16, 2011 at 9:46 pm

    I have never had truffle oil before but I saw a video of someone putting it on top of pizza, I was intrigued lol

  9. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate September 16, 2011 at 11:51 pm

    Truffle oil is so good. I can’t believe how much I spent on that bottle though!

  10. Meg September 17, 2011 at 2:20 am

    Yum! Looks good. How’d the truffle oil go? I sometimes worry it would be too strong? For me, I’m using as many tomatoes as I can, while I can.

  11. kristina@beancakes ★ September 17, 2011 at 5:32 am

    claire ~ this looks delish!! and that’s too cute that you like saying “my husband,” congratulations to you again!!!
    xx ~ ks

  12. Stephanie September 19, 2011 at 12:45 pm

    I have been roasting red peppers like a fiend because they’ve been on sale here and I know that won’t last long. I’m also going to go nuts with orchard fruit, I think. Nothing beats orchard-fresh apples ❤
    Panzanella is one of my favorite things when I want something filling and fresh. Baking it looks like it takes the dish to a whole new level of comfort!!

Leave a Reply

