Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

What I Ate (and Why I Want Guest Posts) Wednesday

Party time!

 Peas and Crayons

I’d bet at least a dollar that pumpkin pie oats show up in at least half of the posts over on Peas & Crayons today.  Hope you get reconnected more permanently soon, Jen!  ❤

image

Mine are the steel cut variety, with 1/2 cup pumpkin, lots of cinnamon, and vanilla cake batter protein powder mixed in. 

image

Lots and lots of tea – trying to get over this cold / cough / sinus infection yuckiness!  Trucking along through the work day since all of my PTO will gone after next month!

image

Lunch was weekend dinner leftovers – steamed broccoli and 2 pepper mac and cheese, which I’ve shared on the blog before.  Extra jalapenos this time helped clear my sinuses temporarily! 🙂

After work snackage…

image

A pluot!  Half plum, half apricot, extra juicy and delicious!

image

A few spoonfuls of cottage cheese for some protein, since my MIL (mother in law) invited me over for “soup” – which I interpreted as “not a full dinner”.  I also had a string cheese and some carrots with hummus.

I think my MIL was extra excited for me to try the soup – she more TOLD me to than ASKED me to – because it’s hard for her to make something I can eat.  She cooks lots of polish food, usually pork, beef, or something deep-fried that she can’t promise doesn’t have meat in it.  Her mushroom croquettes are DELISH, but pretty high calorie, and pierogies have just never been my favorite. 

She made a creamy cauliflower soup using this mix:

She added fresh cauliflower, carrots, onions, and celery.  Anyone want to translate it and tell me I didn’t eat chicken broth last night? 😉

I’ve briefly mentioned before that my new husband and I are off to Poland and Italy for our honeymoon starting next Tuesday.  We’ll spend the first few days in Poland with his family for a wedding and then navigate through Italy ourselves, flying out of Rome.  At first I was going to just take a blogging break, but now I’m thinking about guest posts. 

I’ll be the guest poster on Laura’s blog on September 30th (and I’m so honored!), so I figured I might as well reach out to you guys!

E-mail me at clairetherd @ gmail dot com (preventing spam ;)) if you’d like to be a guest post-er!

Would you eat a packaged food if you couldn’t read its nutrition facts or ingredient label?  My MIL didn’t give me much choice!

11 responses to “What I Ate (and Why I Want Guest Posts) Wednesday

  1. loftyappetite September 21, 2011 at 12:50 pm

    haha your mother in law didn’t trick you, it is vegetable soup. Polish soup mixes are so much better than the ones here, less weird ingredients with hard to pronounce names. i keep a stash in my desk at work. i hope you enjoy Poland! have you seen my recent recap as an intro? it’s a beautiful place and I can’t wait to here your perspective on it as a first timer!

  2. sprint2thetable September 21, 2011 at 1:14 pm

    Poland is such a cool places to go! I’m so excited for your guest post on my blog AND to read all about your trip when we both get back. Viva Italia! 🙂

  3. The Coffee Crazed Teacher September 21, 2011 at 2:54 pm

    You ate a deliciously home-cooked polish soup! I would eat it up, quick! 🙂 I hope you get over this thing soon so you can enjoy your honeymoon!

  4. Katie @ Peace Love and Oats September 21, 2011 at 3:26 pm

    I love ethnic foods so I would try just about anything! Sounds like you’ve got a fun trip ahead!

  5. kristina@beancakes ★ September 21, 2011 at 3:33 pm

    my husband is polish ~ never been to poland before! have so much fun claire!! 😉
    xo ~ ks

  6. Melissa September 21, 2011 at 4:37 pm

    Ooh, love the look of those oats!

    Oy. Yep, that’s pretty much broth. I would have been starving even with the cottage cheese & snacks! What a good sport you are! 🙂

  7. Shannon September 21, 2011 at 6:39 pm

    Aw, hope you get over that cold really soon and that you and your husband have a great time in Poland and Italy!! 🙂

  8. mindrunningwild September 22, 2011 at 2:04 am

    ahahah she invited you over for soup- that’s so funny!!
    love cottage cheese and pumpkin mixed- they are such a good combo. That and oats. all together would be heaven. speaking of mixed I love plouts!
    that’s a good Q about the nutrition facts. I think I’d have to think about that but I guess sometimes you don’t have a choice, do you?

  9. Lindz @ happyorhungry September 22, 2011 at 3:24 am

    Looks like a yummy WIAW day!

    I’d like to say no about the prepackaged foods, but I’m pretty sure I’ve eaten tons of things in my life without knowing what was in them. It is something I try to be conscious of, but don’t stress over 🙂

Leave a Reply

