Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

90 Calorie Pumpkin Muffins

image

Hold everything.

Did you hear the news?

There might be another pumpkin shortage.  Who’s stocking up ASAP?

I’ve almost exhausted last year’s hoarded case of canned pumpkin.  I think being down to 4 cans justifies purchasing another case, don’t you agree?

Even if you don’t have pumpkin mania like me, I’m telling you now – you HAVE to try this recipe.

I’ve been looking around the blog world and recipe sites for the perfect pumpkin muffin recipe.  Pumpkin is an ideal ingredient for low fat baking because it acts as a fat replacement while keeping products moist.  Sometimes when you modify basic baking recipes too much, you change the characteristics of the final product – without enough sugar or fat, you can get a very dense, chewy product, which is not what I hope for in a muffin.

I came across a recipe for pumpkin muffins on Chobani’s site.  I didn’t have any Greek yogurt on hand and wanted to experiment with some new flours that I got from Swanson, so I changed a few things (the products are linked within the recipe).  I’m sure any combination of flours would work, but I used coconut, garbanzo bean, coconut, and oat.  You may have to adjust the liquid components.

image

How do you like my 50+ year old muffin tin?  It’s clean, but that lovely aluminum has discolored after so much love over the years.

But honestly, I think these were the best things this pan has ever held.

image

I can’t tell you how excited I was when I saw the perfect consistency of the batter.  I might have even tasted a tiny bit as I was scooping it into the cupcake liners.  Salmonella who?

I already raved about Love Grown (in this post), but I thought these muffins were worthy of a little love.  As good as the batter tasted, they needed a little cosmetic boost.

I might have munched on some the amazing clusters mid-bake.  Seriously, THIS is why I love Love Grown:

image

A little Sweet Cranberry Pecan love did just the trick.

image

image

After 20 LONG minutes of waiting… my new favorite muffins were born.

image

Perfectly puffy, toasty, and pumpkin-y.

image

Perfect Pumpkin Muffins (adapted from this recipe)

1 C canned pumpkin puree

1/2 cup egg substitute (or 2 eggs, or 2 flax eggs)

1/3 cup low fat vanilla yogurt

1/4 cup cottage cheese, pureed

1/3 cup cinnamon applesauce

1/4 cup garbanzo bean flour

1/4 cup coconut flour

1/2 cup cake flour

1/2 cup old fashioned oats

1/4 cup Splenda blend (can sub stevia, sugar, or other sweetener)

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp cinnamon

1/8 tsp cloves

1/8 tsp nutmeg

1/4 tsp salt

1) Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees.

2) Mix wet ingredients.

3) Combine dry ingredients and whisk to mix well.

4) Gently fold liquid mixture into flour mixture just until combined, being careful not to overmix.

5) Scoop into sprayed muffin tin (or cupcake liners), filling 2/3 of the way.

6) Bake 19-21 minutes. 

7) Cool in pan for 5 minutes and then transfer to cooling rack.

The batter made exactly 12 beautiful muffins.

image

Approximate nutrition (per muffin): 90 calories, 1 g fat, 16 grams carbohydrate, 3 grams protein

This is absolutely my favorite pumpkin recipe to date.  Please let me know if you try it with any of the above substitutions.

I had one for breakfast toasted with cinnamon raisin peanut butter.  To die for.

Do you modify your baked goods or make them from their original recipe?

34 responses to “90 Calorie Pumpkin Muffins

  1. char on a mission September 22, 2011 at 12:27 pm

    I think I need to pick up some more canned pumpkin – these are looking good my friend! Especially with the little addition added on top!

    I like to modify baking recipes when I can, especially if they have eggs and dairy milk in them!

  2. sprint2thetable September 22, 2011 at 12:27 pm

    Don’t you love when a baking experiment delivers? 🙂 Those look wonderful. Great idea topping with the granola!

  3. LizAshlee September 22, 2011 at 12:40 pm

    I always modify my recipes!! 🙂 These look delicious! I am loving pumpin too!! I think we have gone through 4 or so cans within a week…pumpkin spice lattes, pancakes, raw cookies, pudding and ice cream which will be up tomorrow! 🙂

    Have a great day!

  4. Sarah @ The Smart Kitchen September 22, 2011 at 1:22 pm

    Haha I don’t think I know how to NOT modify a recipe. 🙂

  5. The Coffee Crazed Teacher September 22, 2011 at 2:14 pm

    A-Ma-Zing! Those look SOOO GOOD! I am going out and stocking up on pumpkin ASAP. I have a slight obsession with it 🙂 Thanks for the great recipe!

  6. Tessa @ Amazing Asset September 22, 2011 at 2:49 pm

    These look wonderful… I like that they are healthier too! Thanks girl 🙂

  7. Andrea @ Vegvacious September 22, 2011 at 3:14 pm

    You almost caused my heart to stop when you said there was going to be a pumpkin shortage LOL — I love pumpkin & squash in anything & everything and I’ve been on a total muffin craze lately! I can’t wait to give these a try!

  8. Melissa September 22, 2011 at 6:18 pm

    Oh my heavens! Those look incredible! I usually do pumpkin or applesauce in place of the fat in muffins & I also really like to use flax instead of egg. I have to find coconut flour, though! That sounds amazing!

  9. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance September 22, 2011 at 6:34 pm

    These look so simple, and for under 100 calories? I love it 🙂

    I’m a huge fan of subbing flax eggs for real ones– I have an egg white intolerance that is no bueno 😦

  10. Jamie @ Food in Real Life September 22, 2011 at 11:48 pm

    Those muffins look delish, and that granola cluster is drool worthy! I did hear about the pumpkin shortage but I still have a supply. Unfortunately my store was out of spice cake mix the other day, which is another one of my fall baking favorites!

  11. Paige @ Running Around Normal September 23, 2011 at 1:52 am

    I did not hear about this!! That would be just blasphemy!!
    Those muffins look super yummy:)

  12. teabagginit September 23, 2011 at 2:05 am

    thank you so much for alerting us of the shortage! i’m going on amazon to order some right now! 🙂 … well, i’m serious. 🙂

  13. The Candid RD September 23, 2011 at 11:27 am

    Ok, maybe you can help me with this question, where the heck do you get your garbanzo bean flour?? I have had a couple customers ask me this question, and I’ve never seen it before! I want to try some but I can never find it.

    I can’t believe there is another pumpkin shortage. I swear I read an article about a month ago that said there was not going to be one this year. Now Im just depressed 😦

    • Claire @ Live & Love to Eat September 23, 2011 at 3:12 pm

      I’ve only used it from Bob’s Red Mill, and I’ve found it in higher end grocery stores, typically in the organic/health food section. It’s also really cheap if you order it online – I linked to Swanson, where it’s about $3. Best of luck! 🙂 It’s great for pancakes!

  14. Cait @ Cait hates Cake September 23, 2011 at 5:39 pm

    90 calories? That’s awesome. I always modify recipes if it is possible to make them healthier. I use applesauce as a sub all the time and use egg replacer instead of eggs.

  15. Pingback: 5 Things Friday « Live and Love to Eat

  16. Pingback: Manic Monday « Live and Love to Eat

  17. Mai October 17, 2011 at 12:52 am

    Looks SO good. Can the greek yogurt be substituted for cottage cheese ?

  18. Pingback: Lightened Up – Pumpkin Pie Blizzard « Live and Love to Eat

  19. Pingback: Pumpkin Granola Perfection « Live and Love to Eat

  20. Pingback: Roasted Eggplant Spread « Live and Love to Eat

  21. Pingback: Big Lots and Big Wins « Live and Love to Eat

  22. Pingback: Lightening Up: 2011 « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

