Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Sweet and Savory Quesadillas

Yesterday I saw Melissa’s Apple Bacon Paninis and couldn’t wait to get home and caramelize some onions to make a meatless version.

I love caramelized onions, but often don’t have patience to make them.  The incentive of white truffle oil caramelized onions was enough to make me give in.  The rosemary smelled amazing while cooking!

image

I’ve had paninis in the past that paired pears (hehe) with strong, salty cheeses, so I used pear slices instead of apple.  No, they are not potatoes.

image

I raided the fridge for a mix of shredded Gruyère, provolone, and reduced fat smoked gouda (about 1/3 cup of each).

image

I had a feeling that the bacon was key to the appeal of this dish – enter Morning Star veggie bacon.

image

I didn’t have any crusty bread at home, so I turned the paninis into quesadillas.  I spritzed a bit of the white truffle oil on the outside of the tortilla to help them crisp up.

image

The first trial (of 3) turned out too watery once the pears heated up, so I pre-grilled them for the remaining 2 quesadillas.

image

Caramelized onions, bacon, and cheese – can’t go wrong!

image

I made one “bacon”less for my mother (she doesn’t do the faux-meat thing), and she said it was delicious.

image

With the 90 calorie tortilla and 30 calorie slice of “bacon”, this dish isn’t too bad nutritionally – even with the amazing three cheeses.

image

I can’t wait for lunch to have the leftovers.  Thanks for the great recipe, Melissa!

image

What’s your favorite quesadilla filling?  I also love my black bean and goat cheese or classic mexican versions.

Happy Friday, foodies!

18 responses to “Sweet and Savory Quesadillas

  1. Melissa October 14, 2011 at 11:44 am

    YAY! So glad you liked it! I love this quesadilla version–and how you “paired the pears” with the salty cheese! 🙂 Have a great weekend!

  2. peaceloveandoats October 14, 2011 at 12:20 pm

    I like just about anything in a quesidilla!!! But definitely cheese and beans and some kind of spicy sauce is always a classic!

  3. Tiff @ Love Sweat and Beers October 14, 2011 at 12:40 pm

    Mmmm, those sound great! I think caramelized onions are my fav filling, but maybe that’s because I haven’t had a goat cheese quesadilla yet.

  4. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance October 14, 2011 at 1:03 pm

    Now, I’m not a huge quesadilla person, but these look phenomenal! Which brand of tortillas do you use?

    • Claire @ Live and Love to Eat October 14, 2011 at 1:39 pm

      They are actually Giant Eagle (a local grocery store)’s brand. I’ve seen similar La Tortilla Factory high fiber ones for 90 cals, too!

      🙂

  5. Oats n' Bows October 14, 2011 at 2:29 pm

    YUM! I haven’t had quesadillas in forever. You might’ve just convinced me here 😉

  6. Lisa ♥ Healthful Sense October 14, 2011 at 2:34 pm

    I Love quesadillas and the sweet/savory combination!!
    These look great!!

  7. Shanna, like Banana October 14, 2011 at 3:13 pm

    Oh how I love quesadillas. I love a mix of cheese and also spinach and TONS of onions…yum yum!

  8. Kris | iheartwellness.com October 14, 2011 at 8:26 pm

    OHHHH WOW!!! I love Quesadillas and these look fab! Goat Chedda and Beans are probably my fav too. I love creamy melted goat cheese…swoon…

    xxoo

  9. Annette @EnjoyYourHealthyLife October 14, 2011 at 9:58 pm

    Pretty sure I love any meal with Grueyere or good cheeses….I am mostly Swiss after all 🙂

    Have a great weekend!

  10. sprint2thetable October 14, 2011 at 10:48 pm

    I can smell the truffles from here! I can’t wait t use my white truffle oil from Italy. I have already broken into the truffle salt. Love the idea of making this into a quesadilla too – any way to make food more “Mexican” gets a thumbs up from me. 🙂

  11. teabagginit October 14, 2011 at 11:26 pm

    yay! i just bought some cheese made with coconut cream – it will be great in quesadillas like this!

  12. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate October 14, 2011 at 11:52 pm

    Sweet and savory is so good.

    Try figs and bleu cheese. You will swoon 😉

  13. Genie @ Healthy Living Now October 17, 2011 at 3:12 pm

    Yummilicious I love it! I am a black beans filling with hot sauce girl, but your recipe looks delicious. I should try it!

  14. candice October 17, 2011 at 4:49 pm

    hi! I’m a new reader! congrats on your recent wedding and glad you had fun on your honeymoon!~ Ive never been to europe so I’m excited for the recaps! LOVE quesedillas! so delicious and versatile!

  15. Nicole October 17, 2011 at 5:10 pm

    I LOVE veggie quesadillas with cheddar cheese and salsa on the side! 🙂 SO good!!

  16. Pingback: Friday 5 « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

