Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Miscellaneous Monday

Trader Joe’s got a good portion of my paycheck this week.  It’s not a short trip to the east end of the city, so I stock up when I do get the chance.  I can never leave without their almond milk, goat cheese, tofu, or pizza dough.

image

I finally found a parter for my favorite cranberry walnut bread (5 ingredient whole grain perfection).  As delicious as it is with PB & Co Cinnamon Raisin, it was meant to be with pumpkin butter.

image

+

image

=

image

LOVE.  Carb-phobes not welcome. 

image

Delicious, but messy when opened from the wrong side.  Blast.

Sunday was spent cheering on the Black & Gold.

image

With my fabulous little brother.

image

In the most beautiful city in the world.

image

Stadium food begged to be followed by a healthy dinner – enter eggplant parmesan “lasagna”.  

I’m typically a homemade sauce snob but this jarred variety was delicious!

image

Steamed eggplant…

image

Sauteed TJ’s tempeh and onion…

image

+ 30 minutes in the oven and mozzarella and parmesan.

image

A slightly healthier Italian meal.

Hoping to get back to normal blogging this week! ❤ 

What are your Trader Joe’s (or other grocery store) staples?

20 responses to “Miscellaneous Monday

  1. Sweet and Savvy October 17, 2011 at 7:56 pm

    Dark chocolate with carmel… and sea salt? Wow. I NEED some of that in my life! 🙂

    And I absolutely love Pittsburgh! Glad you had a good weekend!

  2. Melissa October 17, 2011 at 8:09 pm

    I am obsessed with TJ’s peanut and almond butters. And I love their roasted gorgonzola crackers! Hmmm, what else? Pizza dough, for sure, and they have these chocolate chip biscotti cookies dipped in chocolate that have a hint of coconut flavor. Those things are addictive!

  3. Leanne @ The Skinny Architect October 17, 2011 at 8:09 pm

    I actually live not too far from the TJ’s in Pgh so I manage to do more damage to my paycheck than most people (well, Whole Foods seems to do more damage).

    My TJ’s staples:
    -Baked Teryaki Tofu
    -Chipotle Hummus
    -frozen sauteed peppers and onions
    -goat cheese medallions
    -Hand tossed whole wheat tortillas

    I ❤ TJ's!

  4. foodsweatandbeers October 17, 2011 at 8:20 pm

    Ahh!! I just got the pumpkin butter yesterday too!! Already used it to make chewy (not PILLOWY) pumpkin cookies a la How Sweet Eats! Delicious. Also, big fan of their frozen Indian foods and their pizza dough, can’t get enough!

  5. coffeeandthepaper October 17, 2011 at 9:02 pm

    Aw I’m glad you and your brother enjoyed the game. I love seeing family pics!

    I miss Mediterra so much! Their bagels are to die.

    TJ’s appeals to me for prices more than anything else, so I stock up on the items where they beat out the other stores. Namely: almond butter, sunflower seed butter, almond milk, larabars, chocolate, beans, raw nuts, and organic produce.

  6. Katie October 17, 2011 at 9:22 pm

    Oh I wish so badly we had TJ’s in CO..so jealous! I love their flattened bananas!

  7. The Teenage Taste October 17, 2011 at 11:40 pm

    Whoa, whoa, whoa! How on Earth did I miss the recipe for that cranberry walnut bread?! It looks so yummy! Definitely the perfect vessel to carry the TJ’s pumpkin butter. 😀

  8. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate October 17, 2011 at 11:44 pm

    I’m glad there is no TJ’s here.I’d be broke!

  9. sprint2thetable October 18, 2011 at 1:25 am

    That looks like a fabulous meal! It’s supposed to get quite cold here at the end of the week – perfect of a good Italian dish. 🙂

  10. Alexia @ NamasteYoga October 18, 2011 at 6:33 am

    oh dear how much i love walnut bread! havent had a good piece of bread in weeks! I am literally living of grains, and chappatis every once in a while, here in india!

  11. Pingback: Three Pumpkin Recipe Thursday « Live and Love to Eat

  12. Pingback: Pumpkin Granola Perfection « Live and Love to Eat

  13. Pingback: Halloweekend Recap « Live and Love to Eat

  14. Pingback: Stir(fry) Crazy « Live and Love to Eat

  15. Pingback: Lightened Up – Sweet and Savory Pumpkin Butter Crepes « Live and Love to Eat

  16. Pingback: Bread Pudding – Two Ways « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

