Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Pesto and Shrimp Socca Pizza

I’ve discussed my love for socca before.  So quick and easy to make when you don’t have (or want) a tortilla or pizza shell.  My go to recipe is incredibly simple (makes 2 small flatbreads), but I love to add herbs into the mixture before grilling it on my fajita pan.  This time I used rosemary and thyme.

I had a pesto and shrimp pizza at a dinner party once and loved the combination – I figured goat cheese could only make it better.  And I was right.

Topped with roasted tomatoes…

And grilled shrimp (excuse the “playing with my new camera” photos).

The combination made one delicious main dish, but would also work as an appetizer.

Garbanzo bean flour is my favorite “non-traditional flour” that I’ve purchased.  Aside from socca, it makes the best “healthy” pancakes that taste good enough to be loaded with fat, sugar, and refined flour.

Have you tried socca yet?  What alternative flours do you use most often?

6 responses to “Pesto and Shrimp Socca Pizza

  1. sprint2thetable October 18, 2011 at 12:44 pm

    I love socca! Chickpea flour has been one of my favorite discoveries too – I love that you can add all sorts of spices/herb/onions/the kitchen sink to socca. My other favorite has been peanut flour. Nut butter in flour form – genius. 🙂

  2. Shanna, like Banana October 18, 2011 at 2:54 pm

    I haven’t tried socca yet, but based on the above, I really should!

    This isn’t an alternative flour, but if you try the self-rising flour with beer and a bit of sugar, you get a delicious bread that is beyond easy!

  3. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate October 18, 2011 at 11:45 pm

    I’ve never tried socca. It’s on my list now!

  4. Alexa @ SimpleEats October 19, 2011 at 2:59 am

    This looks awesome! I always forget about putting shrimp on pizza. I bought garbanzo bean flour to make socca but haven’t gotten around to it. I’ll have to make this!

  5. Pingback: Semi-homemade Pizza « Live and Love to Eat

  6. Pingback: Greek Pizza Bites and Asking for Advice « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

