Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Lightened Up – Pumpkin Pie Blizzard

This will be my last pumpkin post [this week].  Seriously.

As much as I love pumpkin (and am nowhere near getting tired of eating it), I figured the blog world is a little burnt out on pumpkin.  I figured I wouldn’t even post this, but last night’s post-workout treat was too delicious not to share.

I loved my pumpkin pasta, pumpkin muffins, and pumpkin frozen yogurt, but this is epic.

Who doesn’t like DQ’s Pumpkin Pie Blizzard?  My husband introduced me to them and I fell in love – but haven’t had a second one since I saw the MINI size (6 oz) has 370 calories, 14 grams of fat (10 saturated) and 43 grams of sugar (55 total carbs).  43 grams of sugar! [source]

I knew I could do better than that.  The ingredients:

image

  • 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin
  • 1/4 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp ginger
  • 1/8 tsp allspice
  • 3 drops NuNaturals Vanilla Stevia

+ Magic Bullet:

image

= pure decadence.

image

We all know that the pie pieces mixed in are what truly makes the blizzard – otherwise it’s just pumpkin flavored soft serve!  So I “bulleted” 4 animal crackers to make my own “pie pieces”. 

image

Some of my favorite Sweet Cranberry Pecan Love Grown made the whole thing complete.  See the sad, empty bag above? 😦  I hope a local store starts to carry Love Grown soon, I keep asking!

image

My version (approximately 8 oz): 225 calories, 6 grams fat, 40 grams total carb, 13 grams protein.

image

Sorry DQ, I won’t be back for your version.

Hope you all have a great weekend!

What’s your favorite blizzard flavor?  Mine was Mint Oreo before I tried the Pumpkin Pie!

11 responses to “Lightened Up – Pumpkin Pie Blizzard

  1. Tiff @ Love Sweat and Beers October 21, 2011 at 12:44 pm

    Yum! That looks great. I’m a choc chip cookie dough blizzard fan myself, but I don’t think I’ve had any Blizzards since high school (sad, I know).

  2. sprint2thetable October 21, 2011 at 1:14 pm

    I love smoothies with winter squashes. They are so creamy! I have a whole pumpkin I need to roast so I can join in the pumpkin mania. 🙂

    My fav blizzard: Snickers. Extra Snickers. There’s something about them frozen… yum!

  3. Kylie@ohsomicellanea October 21, 2011 at 1:58 pm

    This looks absolutely amazing and I cannot wait to try it!

  4. Melissa October 21, 2011 at 5:10 pm

    I loved the Pumpkin Pie blizzard when I tried it last weekend, but that’s a lot of badness for a little bit of goodness! I’ll definitely try your version. 🙂

    I love Heath bar blizzards, but the pumpkin pie definitely gives them some competition!

  5. Nicole, RD October 21, 2011 at 6:27 pm

    Without a doubt the pumpkin pie blizzards are my favorite! Love the lightening up here! It sounds just as delicious as the original!

    And P.S. there’s never too many pumpkin recipes, I don’t think!

  6. Rach@ Girl on the Run October 21, 2011 at 8:16 pm

    I usually can’t choose between chocolate chip cookie dough or the reeses blizzard…so I ask i I can do both!

  7. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate October 21, 2011 at 11:48 pm

    I don’t like pumpkin, but I like Blizzards! I used to love the chocolate chip cookie dough ones!

  8. Pingback: Friday 5 « Live and Love to Eat

  9. Pingback: Lightening Up: 2011 « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

