Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Pumpkin Granola Perfection

 These fall mornings are feeling more like winter in Pittsburgh.

I’ve even turned on my heated mattress pad the past two nights (my husband thinks I’m crazy).  Bella snuggles up in bed as soon as I jump out, then gives me a look that says, “You got a problem?”

image

Since I can’t stay in bed all day, I make warm, fall flavored food instead.  Like pumpkin ricotta oats, or pumpkin muffins, or apple crisp

I’ve been on the hunt for a pumpkin granola recipe, but I didn’t want to use up my TJ’s pumpkin butter or spend 30 minutes digging through the pantry for hundreds of ingredients.

I started with Chelsea’s awesome Pumpkin Spice Granola Bar recipe and made some changes based on what I had in my pantry.

image

I substituted honey roasted cashews for almonds and butterscotch chips for cocoa nibs.

image

Instead of pumpkin pie spice, I used a mix of cinnamon, allspice, ginger, and nutmeg.

image

I also used a butter flavored maple syrup and substituted most of the agave for apple juice concentrate from my freezer.

Since I was adapting her bar recipe, I baked mine at 350 for about 30-35 minutes, until it started to brown. 

image

And it turned out PERFECTLY clustery – the only way to eat granola!

image

The only hard thing about this recipe?  Not eating it before it cools – it smelled SO amazing while it was baking.

Sorry Matt, I’ll be done with pumpkin recipes soon.  Like 4 months from now or so. 😉 

Any blog food fads (like pumpkin) that you can’t stand?

21 responses to “Pumpkin Granola Perfection

  1. Melissa October 25, 2011 at 1:08 pm

    Ugh. Chia seeds. I just cannot get on board, no matter how good they are for you. The idea of biting into one of them skeeves me out. I don’t even like seeds in my jam. Just can’t do it.

  2. sprint2thetable October 25, 2011 at 1:22 pm

    People talk about getting sick of hearing about pumpkin… I don’t though. I love the seasonal obsessions and all the crazy concoctions!

  3. Shanna, like Banana October 25, 2011 at 3:22 pm

    Hmmm, I’m not a huge fan of OOIAJ — I love my hot oats in the AM too much to go this route.

  4. Liz @ Southern Charm October 25, 2011 at 3:23 pm

    Oh wow!!! This looks so good!

    One fad that I’m over, because I’m not a fan of even thought I try to be, is butternut squash. I want to like it so every time I see it, I get mad that it looks so good but I know I won’t enjoy it! haha.

  5. char on a mission October 25, 2011 at 5:08 pm

    I forgot how good those pumpkin bars looked. I should totally make something like that, too! And can pumpkin get old…let’s be honest. I’m actually quite ashamed to admit that I haven’t used pumpkin in AT LEAST over a week. More of a reason I should make pumpkin bars. Thanks Claire 😛

  6. Kjirsten- Balanced Healthy Life October 25, 2011 at 6:04 pm

    Goat cheese. I can’t even get myself to eat it, so reading about it all the time on blogs doesn’t help! 🙂

  7. allieksmith October 25, 2011 at 10:05 pm

    I TOTALLY agree with the first statement of this post!

  8. Alexa @ Simple Eats October 25, 2011 at 10:33 pm

    This looks awesome! Pumpkin butter is a gift from heaven!

  9. Annie @ Naturally Sweet Recipes October 25, 2011 at 11:25 pm

    Yummy! I love all those foods! And I’m with you on the goat cheese, LOVE IT!

  10. Pingback: What I — Wednesday « Live and Love to Eat

  11. Pingback: Mushy | Hungry Healthy Happy

  12. Pingback: Lightened Up – Low Fat Pumpkin Spice Granola « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

