Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Fondue For A Cause

Last night, I attended a fundraiser for the Susan G. Komen foundation called “Girls Night Out”.

image

It was $25.00 per person for a cheese fondue course, chocolate fondue course, and a cocktail.  When my friend asked me on Monday if I’d want to go, how could I turn it down?

[Warning: dark, terrible cell phone photos ahead]

image

The Melting Pot is as dimly lit, romantic restaurant where they prepare the fondue on heating elements at your table.  It’s typically almost $100 for a full dinner for two, so we really got a great deal last night – and half the cost went to the foundation. 

image

I started with a Cosmo, and my two girlfriends got the signature “Love Martini”.

The strawberries were cut into little hearts!

image

For our cheese fondue course, we chose:

image

They must have melted two cups of fontina and butterkase into the sherry and white wine base, but the few tablespoons of gorgonzola contributed the strongest flavor to this fondue.

For the cheese course, you dip pieces of bread (sourdough, rye, and pumpernickel) and raw veggies into the fondue.

image

Choosing a chocolate course from all of the amazing options was much more challenging!  We ended up deciding on a dark chocolate and marshmallow flambe:

image

The “dippers” for this course were much more exciting: rice krispie squares, strawberries, chocolate and graham cracker encrusted marshmallows, bananas, pound cake bites, and brownie bites.

image

We really savored all of the melty chocolate goodness – we even dipped our after dinner mints when the waitress brought our check!

image

The chocolate covered marshmallow was almost too sweet. 

image

Even after only about 10 bites from each course, we were stuffed! 

Have a great Thursday!

Have you ever been to a fondue restaurant?  Now I want to make fondue at home!

15 responses to “Fondue For A Cause

  1. Katie October 27, 2011 at 1:23 pm

    How fun! If you ever go to something like that agin, let me know!

    Happy Thursday love! xo

  2. Melissa October 27, 2011 at 1:54 pm

    Wow, that looks insanely delicious! I’ve never been to a fondue restaurant, but it looks like fun!

  3. sprint2thetable October 27, 2011 at 2:17 pm

    I’ve been to The Melting Pot, but it has been years! There something extra fun about getting to set your dessert on fire. 🙂

  4. Annie @ Naturally Sweet Recipes October 27, 2011 at 2:20 pm

    Looks so fun! And delicious. 🙂 Hope you had a wonderful time!

  5. Heather October 27, 2011 at 3:38 pm

    I’ve never had fondue, but love cheese and chocolate. I’m glad you had a good time, that’s a great deal!

  6. peaceloveandoats October 27, 2011 at 6:49 pm

    I went to the Melting Pot about 12 years ago… for my friend’s 12th birthday! Haha. I’ve been dying to go back for years!

  7. Kjirsten- Balanced Healthy Life October 27, 2011 at 9:54 pm

    I love fondue! It is one of my favorite meals! My husband and I love making our own at home. We usually do one or two different fondues! It is just so much fun! I’m glad you girls had a great time and for such an amazing cause!

  8. Kris | iheartwellness.com October 28, 2011 at 6:02 am

    Hey Doll!! I have never been to a fondue restaurant, but this looks nice!!! I think I would die over the dessert….hubba hubba fruit and chocolate!!!!

    xxoo

Leave a Reply

