Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Halloweekend Recap

Good afternoon! 

Did you notice I bought my own domain?  Update your readers to clairetherd.com, please! 🙂

Actually, I bought hosting too – then decided I didn’t have the time/effort/money to spend on customizing too many things.  I know one of the main reasons to go self hosted is for high traffic, money making blogs, which has never been my goal.

I just want to talk about food! 🙂

This butternut squash quinoa risotto that I mentioned Friday was much better reheated with some sauteed spinach and goat cheese.

image

But what isn’t better with goat cheese on top?

The world’s easiest pumpkin cookies are 1000 times better with butterscotch icing. 

image

1/3 cup melted butterscotch chips

 2 Tbsp almond milk

3/4 cup powdered sugar 

3-4 drops yellow food coloring

My little brother said the icing “takes the cookies from good to amazing”.  Try it.

One of my favorite things to do on the weekend?  Take my time and make a real breakfast.  Oats are great during the week, but there’s nothing like taking your time to make something different.

Saturday morning I made myself an egg white omelet with 2% american cheese, my favorite bread with pumpkin butter, and coffee with pumpkin spice creamer and sugar free caramel.  Decadent.

image

Saturday night we were invited to two different Halloween parties.

Both of our hosts went all out – themed food, delicious drinks, decorations, the works.  I didn’t have my camera so all I’ve got is one terrible photo from the hubby’s phone.

None of my ex-boyfriends were ever in to the “couples costume” thing. 

image

Apparently my husband is not, either.  He’s a German at Oktoberfest, and I’m a baseball player (thanks to the fact that my little bro used to play little league!). 

I refuse to spend $50 on a crappy polyester outfit that won’t fit me and I’ll never wear again.  I also don’t subscribe to Halloween being a reason to wear as little clothing as possible.  It’s the end of October people, cover up your cleavage and your bottoms!  Guess I’m becoming an old lady.

😉

The Steelers beat the Pats yesterday (yeah!) and we feasted on homemade pizza (on Trader Joe’s dough, of course), and I made Kristin’s french fry/chips that were a big hit!  I also got my thank you notes all written – I just need to address and mail them now!

What was your skankiest/most ridiculous Halloween costume?  I was Britney Spears once (with a bit of my belly showing) – but who wasn’t?!

17 responses to “Halloweekend Recap

  1. Jamie @ FoodinRealLife October 31, 2011 at 7:02 pm

    You look so cute! That Steeler game was awesome! Yay!

  2. karinacocina17 November 1, 2011 at 1:49 am

    go steelers! i dont know if i can beat this years costume…..i was a cation….(see pics on my blog) haha i loved it

  3. Alexa @ SimpleEats November 1, 2011 at 2:45 am

    Butterscotch frosting sounds fantastic! I was a naughty teacher one year…yeah it was not my highest moment haha

  4. peaceloveandoats November 1, 2011 at 12:35 pm

    I completely agree about the costume thing – I refuse to spend money just for one night when I can easily throw together a costume from what I already have! And my clothes are way comfier…

  5. Laura @ Sprint 2 the Table November 1, 2011 at 12:54 pm

    Congrats on the domain!!

    Last year I went as Tome Cruise from Risky Business. Complete with the whitey tighties. 😉

  6. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance November 1, 2011 at 1:12 pm

    Aw yey on the domain! I know that you’ve been thinking about it for a while so I’m glad that you finally made the move! 😀

  7. char on a mission November 1, 2011 at 2:39 pm

    Congrats on buying the domain!!

  8. allieksmith November 1, 2011 at 5:16 pm

    I love how you said “I just want to talk about food!” that is why I love your blog 🙂

  9. Melissa November 1, 2011 at 8:31 pm

    So cute! 🙂

    I need to buy my own domain, but I have no idea what I’m doing. Self-hosting? I don’t even know what that means. Plus, I don’t want to make money on my blog–I just like the food/fitness part, too!

  10. Pingback: What I Planned To Eat But Was Stolen « Live and Love to Eat

  11. Pingback: Greek Pizza Bites and Asking for Advice « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

