Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Eating Our Way Through: Poland

I already shared a  post on the plane food to and from Europe.  The first half of our honeymoon was spent in Poland, at my husband’s cousin’s home in Poznan.

They lived about 30 minutes from the center of the city, but had an adorable market less than a mile from their home.  It was similar to a convenience store (very small), but had a deli and bakery for the freshest products.

I enjoyed the candy aisle!

And the cookies too!

They didn’t drink milk with their meals but used it in their coffee (which was instant, by the way, and not too bad!).

3.2% fat… and they left it out on the counter all day!

Breakfasts and lunches were always pretty similar… freshly baked buns from the market, lots of different meats, and cheese for me!

One morning our hostess served us these mini pierogie type treat – they were filled with sweet cheese and peach jam and boiled.  They reminded me of crepes or blintzes – delicious!

The yogurt I purchased was insanely creamy and delicious – raspberry cheesecake flavored.  I’m so used to fat free yogurt that a little bit of fat makes it taste so decadent.

Another breakfast – with scrambled eggs this time.

I made a sandwhich of sorts.

Caprese salad was my dinner several times.

My husband’s cousin brought me this special pastry since he knew I love chocolate.

I’d never buy a packaged baked good here, but it seemed much more acceptable in Europe!

I have one more post of Polish eats and then I’ll start the Italy recap, city by city.

Do you find international or new foods interesting, or do you stick to products you know?

 

 

 

18 responses to “Eating Our Way Through: Poland

  1. stephsnacks November 1, 2011 at 2:35 pm

    What fun! Some of those foods look a bit similar to food I have had while traveling in Italy. I absolutely love trying a different countries cuisine… it is so much fun.

  2. thehealthyapron November 1, 2011 at 3:55 pm

    I’ve never been a fan of trying international products. But this sounds like a fune xperience!!

  3. Laura @ Sprint 2 the Table November 1, 2011 at 5:48 pm

    One of my favorite things to do in a foreign country is explore gorcery stores. They have the coolest stuff!

    Those European breakfasts kill me. You are so lucky you got eggs!!!

  4. Melissa November 1, 2011 at 8:29 pm

    Like you said, I get a little nervous when I can’t read labels–I like to know what I’m eating! But when you’re in a new place, it’s kind of fun to let go of that and explore a little, ya know?

  5. loftyappetite November 2, 2011 at 12:16 am

    Oh no! now that you changed your address your blog is blocked for me at work 😦
    But I just wanted to say that I totally agree about the packaged products in Poland. Since I know the language, i can tell you that they are much better for you because I can understand all the products listed. They don’t use half of the chemicals Americans put into their packaged food, which is why it tastes so much better there! I also never buy packaged desserts here, I rather make them myself. But in Poland whether its fresh or packaged dessert, it’s all equally delicious!
    The milk on the counter thing is definitely weird, and I don’t really have an explanation for that except that it’s different. Did you taste it?? It tastes so weird. I’m not really a big fan of milk when I’m there.

  6. Katie@Real Food Katie's Way November 2, 2011 at 1:05 am

    That is an intense candy aisle!!

    New foods make my world go round! It keeps things fresh and exciting!

  7. Kris November 2, 2011 at 5:24 am

    How fun!! I’m torn when it comes to traveling to places in europe…my family is from germany and they rarely eat a green! I would die! But I can’t lie the cheeses look tasty and ever so fresh 🙂

    xxoo

  8. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday – Bologna (Italy, not the lunch meat) Edition « Live and Love to Eat

  9. Pingback: WIAW – Five Star Italian Breakfast « Live and Love to Eat

  10. Pingback: WIAW – Florence (Day One) « Live and Love to Eat

  11. Pingback: What I Ate in Florence (day 2) « Live and Love to Eat

  12. Pingback: Rome, Part 1 « Live and Love to Eat

  13. Pingback: Rome, Part 2 « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

