Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Fantastic Fritatta and Favorite Soup

Anyone who takes spin classes on a regular basis knows that the instructor (and the music they choose) makes the all the difference between a good class and bad class.   My gym has been open for about two years now and they just recently started posting the names of the instructors on the class schedule.   Now I know which classes are worth attending and which ones aren’t (Tuesday at 6:45 and Thursday at 5:30 are the BEST).

I was so disappointed when I saw a substitute walk in to the spin studio last night.  I planned my whole Thursday evening around attending that instructor’s class.  I stayed and pushed myself as hard as I could to still get a decent workout, but it was nothing like I was hoping for.

Regardless, I was still starving when I got out of class at 6:30.  I was craving eggs, and Gina and Courtney both posted delicious looking fritattas recently.  I went to Aldi to pick up some egg substitute and spinach to supplement the veggies I already had at home (mushrooms and peppers left over from my enchiladas).

Does anyone shop at Aldi?  It’s owned by the same company as Trader Joes, and sells mostly their own brand of products – but they’re just as good as name brands, and WAY cheaper.  They also get overstocks of some name brand stuff (I saw Pringles there last night), but you can’t ever count on finding those things a second time.  The main reason I go there is for their produce – I got a bag of 5 Honeycrisp apples for $1.99 and 3 heads of broccoli for $0.99.  They also sell a light spreadable cheese that tastes identical to Laughing Cow for $1.99 – I refuse to pay 4 times that amount at Giant Eagle for the name brand.

Anyway, I got really lucky yesterday when I spotted a soup that looked like my favorite Pacific Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato.  Similar container and all, just not marked as Organic.  I was excited to get home and see if it tasted like the real thing (and I was really hoping it did, since I bought 8 cartons!). 🙂

image

My frittata plan: spinach, red onion, mushroom, swiss cheese, veggie bacon.

image

Using one egg (along with a cup of egg substitute) really enhances the flavor and helps to emulsify everything.

image

My frittata reality: spinach, red onion, mushroom, swiss cheese, veggie bacon, shallot,  gruyere cheese.  Just like spin class, this meal didn’t go as planned. 

image

Ingredients

  • 1 shallot, minced
  • 1 cup mushrooms
  • 1/4 cup shredded cheese
  • 3 slices veggie (or real) bacon, pre cooked
  • 1 cup egg substitute + 1 whole egg, lightly beaten

image

The key to a frittata is adding the eggs to the hot pan and letting them sit.  I always struggle to not use my spatula to mess around with it, try and flip it, etc.  But last night I was good.  I waited just until the eggs were cooked enough on the bottom to start to pull away from the pan…

image

Then put it under the broiler for a little over 5 minutes, until the top was solid and golden.

image

No sticking!  It came out of the pan very easily.

image

I’ll get 4 servings out of this beautiful egg pie.  Sure, I went to Aldi specifically for spinach and forgot to add it.  But that’s okay, it was still delicious. 

Approximate nutrition facts (1/4 of frittata): 115 calories, 5 grams fat, 6 grams carbohydrate, 12 grams protein

image

Perfect light meal after a disappointingly easily spin class.  The verdict on the soup?  Good, but not EXACTLY the same as the Pacific version.  But for $1.89 per quart, I’ll take it!

image

Do you have an Aldi near by?  Do you shop there?

Would you walk out of a spin class if you didn’t like the instructor / it wasn’t challenging enough?

Have a great weekend, especially all of you at FoodBuzz!

19 responses to “Fantastic Fritatta and Favorite Soup

  1. sprint2thetable November 4, 2011 at 12:24 pm

    I had no idea Aldi was owned by the TJs people. There isn’t one near me, but I’ve seen them before. I’ll have to explore it next time.

    Delicious-looking fritatta!

  2. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance November 4, 2011 at 12:55 pm

    This has nothing to do with this delectable recipe, but I bought FF re-fried beans at the store yesterday in your honor 😉

  3. Melissa November 4, 2011 at 2:18 pm

    I need to get on this fritatta bandwagon–I love the idea of doing it with soup for dinner.

    We have an Aldi in town, but I haven’t been yet. I had no idea it was the same company as TJ’s. I’ll have to check it out!

  4. loftyappetite November 4, 2011 at 3:39 pm

    I am the same way about classes at the gym and i get so frustrated when it’s not a favorite. especially for yoga and zumba. Body pump is pretty much the same always, but those other two totally need the right teacher/music to be good!

    I am also a huge Aldi fan! It has such a bad rep, people thing it’s damaged goods or something, but you are totally right! I love the produce, tho it goes bad quickly (not sprayed down on the regular like other grocery stores, which is a good thing!).

    I like getting basics there (condiments, milk, eggs, and i love their cheap but soft toilet paper, lol!) and they have some awesome seasonal gourmet items! but I’ve learned that not everything is good. For example anything with spices or in a can or even chips or pretzels doesn’t taste good to me. It is waaay oversalted than regular versions. Like their taco spice, or canned soups. The carton soup does look like the TJ version so that’s different and in the “gourmet” category, but I’ve never been happy with their canned items. Do you have any items you don’t buy there?

    • Claire @ Live & Love to Eat November 4, 2011 at 3:57 pm

      I’ve stocked up on pumpkin there two years in a row and it’s been good – they even had Libby’s there yesterday! I like their canned beans and tuna as well. I’m not a big fan of their tortillas, or the few kinds of chips I bought. They have nice seasonal candy and baking products for sure!

  5. Tiff @ Love Sweat and Beers November 4, 2011 at 3:58 pm

    I haven’t made a fritatta, but I’ve been wanting to try it. As for the spin class, I don’t think I’d walk out, but I certainly wouldn’t come back. I don’t really like the classes at my gym. They don’t have any early morning ones, which is really frustrating for me since I ❤ spin!

  6. peaceloveandoats November 4, 2011 at 7:33 pm

    I’ve never shopped at an Aldi, I actually didn’t even know what it was! But I just looked and there are plenty in Chicago! I should check it out.

  7. Jess @ Jess Go Bananas November 4, 2011 at 9:14 pm

    I once tried to make a fritatta and it came out as an egg pancake! I’ll have to try your method! 🙂

  8. Kris November 4, 2011 at 9:17 pm

    Ooo what a fun recipe!!!! I love frittatas!!

    I’ve never tried spin class…tell me love, is it super hard??

    xxoo

  9. Bianca @ Confessions of a Chocoholic November 4, 2011 at 11:34 pm

    I just made frittata last night too – it really is the perfect, easy meal after a long day! I’ve never heard of Aldi, but I do love TJs!

  10. Baking Serendipity November 5, 2011 at 2:54 am

    I didn’t know Aldi was owned by the same people as Trader Joe’s! I love them even more now 🙂 There is an Aldi in my hometown in Ohio, but none out where I live now (Phoenix). I wish more were closer! PS: I love reading about Aldi and Giant Eagle…makes me feel like home 🙂

  11. Shannon (Healthiful Balance) November 5, 2011 at 3:42 pm

    That looks yummy! 🙂
    YES. I go to Aldi all the time! It’s the only good grocery store near where I live..

  12. teabagginit November 6, 2011 at 10:01 pm

    i’ve totally walked into a spin class, seen the unannounced sub instructor, turned around and left. i’ll definitely give new instructors a chance, but if i know the instructor is bad, i’m NOT wasting my time!

  13. Pingback: Second Round WIAW « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

