Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Roasted Eggplant Spread

I enjoyed reading your thoughts on the best snacks for watching the game!  I got a few requests via email for the buffalo chicken dip and spinach dip recipes – both are lightened up, of course – and I’ll post them soon!

Today I want to share a recipe that I brought to a family gathering last month.  I have a whole jar of Tahini thanks to the nice people at Swanson, and I wanted to try to make an eggplant spread similar to one I’ve had at a local tapas restaurant.

I consulted two Ina Garten recipes and modified them to make my own version.

The first step was roasted the veggies – I used a red onion, eggplant, and red pepper.  They were tossed with cayenne, lemon juice, garlic, extra virgin olive oil, and salt before roasting.

I love the convection setting on our oven – it makes everything cook significantly more quickly.  These vegetables were soft after about 30 minutes, and I turned them once.

I hardly ever bust out the food processor – I usually turn to my Magic Bullet whenever I need to blend anything, but this was a pretty big batch of vegetables!

It turned into a paste-like spread instead of a light dip – not what I was expecting, but it had an intense, deep flavor from all of the roasted vegetables and the tahini.

Ingredients

1 eggplant

1 red bell pepper

1 red onion

2 cloves garlic

1.5 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil

1/2 tsp cayenne pepper

salt and pepper to taste

2 Tbsp lemon juice

1.5 Tbsp tahini

1) Preheat oven to 400.

2) Chop all vegetables into 1 inch pieces and mince garlic.

3) Toss vegetables and garlic with olive oil, cayenne, salt, and pepper, and spread on a nonstick cookie sheet.

4) Roast for 35-45 minutes, turning once, until vegetables are soft and brown at the edges.

5) Combine roasted veggies with tahini and lemon juice in a food processor, pulsing until desired consistency is reached.

Those 4+ cups of veggies yielded about 1 cup of spread!

It had a nice spicy flavor – but you could make it more savory by adding fresh herbs before processing.

Thank you to Swanson for the tahini!  I’ve also used to it to make some fabulous hummus!  Other Swanson products I’ve used: coconut flour (for my 90 Calorie Pumpkin Muffins and chia toffee granola squares), almond flour (which can be used for cinnamon raisin energy bites), and liquid aminos (in my black bean sweet potato burgers). 

Check out the Swanson Health Blog for more great ideas on how to use their products!

Which recipe are you more interested in: buffalo chickpea or lightened up spinach artichoke dip?

[Swanson provided me with these products free of charge]

9 responses to “Roasted Eggplant Spread

  1. Melissa November 8, 2011 at 2:00 pm

    Wow, that sounds delicious! I love the eggplant spread from TJ’s and I sometimes make my own baba ghanoush which is SO delish! Yummy recipe!

  2. sprint2thetable November 8, 2011 at 2:20 pm

    I’ve been eating eggplant drizzled with tahini sauce… definitely time to blend it into a dip! Don’t you love the way lemon makes it even more incredible? I’ve also tossed Chinese 5 Spice into the mix lately for a little different heat.

  3. Kjirsten- Balanced Healthy Life November 8, 2011 at 9:02 pm

    I’m interested in both recipes! I don’t think I could pick one! I love dips but never make them so I can’t wait to see the lightened up versions!

  4. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate November 9, 2011 at 12:51 am

    This is the same thing as baba ganoush right?

Leave a Reply

