Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

What I Ate: Venice Edition

It’s the best day of the week!  Thanks Jenn!Peas and Crayons

Ahh, Venezia.  My love. 

Our first full day in Italy was spent in Venice, the epitome of romantic Italian charm.  We parked, took the people mover over to the island, and just explored on foot all day long.

From what I’ve read, it’s best to just get lost in Venice – it’s an island, so you’ll eventually find your way.

We wondered straight in to a seafood market, already bustling at 10 AM.

It didn’t smell fishy at all – a sign that everything was incredibly fresh.

I love that merchants have “shops” right on their boats on the canal.  There was fresh fruit everywhere – but I would have wanted to wash it so we didn’t grab any.

Midmorning fuel – a chocolate covered macaroon for me and strawberry cheesecake treat for the hubby.  His was frozen, which we didn’t expect – we thought it would be most custard-like.

We found an adorable cafe and wine bar for lunch: Teamo.

There were hundreds of cafes with paninis, pizzas, and other finger food type lunches. 

It was a little early for me to have wine (around noon), but we still had some fancy “Coca Light”.

I got a wrap with eggplant, roasted veggies, strong cheese and arugula.  I loved that the wrap was thin and soft, even after it was warmed on the panini press.  It was similar to a super thin pizza crust.

Gelato of the day: tripe chocolate for me and panna cotta for the hubby.  His tasted like pure cake batter – definitely the best that either of us had the entire trip.

To balance out the gluttony, we had a light mid-afternoon snack.  I got the mixed berries and Adam chose the watermelon.  So fresh, light, and flavorful.

Dinner found us at a waterside restaurant.  We only had one day in Venice and didn’t want to spend a few hours on a gondola, but we still got to listen as they went by.  All of the gondoleirs had incredible voices.  So romantic.  We almost had the restaurant to ourselves since most Italians eat late (8-9pm), but we had to get on the road to check in to our next hotel.

The hubby chose a primi that we both went gaga over: gorgonzola ravioli.

The pasta had the most amazing, thin, melt in your mouth quality – topped with a divine cheese sauce.

For my main dish (segundi) I had my favorite fish: sea bass, in a light lemon butter sauce.

The simplicity of the presentation complemented the decadent flavors in both dishes.

We headed out of Venice right after sunset to check in to our amazing 5 star hotel, Villa Franceschi.  We stay in some budget hotels, but this was definitely our best splurging decision.

I mentioned that it was our honeymoon when I made the reservation, and the concierge had champagne and fresh fruit sent to our room.

See you over the next few Wednesdays for food recaps from Bologna, Florence, and Rome!

What’s the nicest hotel you’ve ever stayed in?

26 responses to “What I Ate: Venice Edition

  1. foodsweatandbeers November 9, 2011 at 2:22 pm

    Venice might be in my top 2 favorite places on the planet. Great food recap!! My envy knows no bounds at the moment.

  2. Melissa November 9, 2011 at 2:56 pm

    Claire, this looks INCREDIBLE!!! I need to get myself to Europe! I love the pic of you at dinner–your wine glass looks enormous! 🙂

  3. sprint2thetable November 9, 2011 at 3:29 pm

    How wonderful! Everything is so beautiful there. I can’t wait to read about Bologna – that’s one place in Italy Iv’e never been!

  4. Leanne @ The Skinny Architect November 9, 2011 at 3:34 pm

    Oh my goodness that all looks so good! Enjoy Italia!! I lived in Florence for about 6 months in college and loved every minute of it!!

    If you have time, a restaurant called Mamma Mia (in the piazza with the bronze boar, Piazza Mercato Nuova) has the absolute best pizza and Tiramisu. I’m drooling right now.

    I can’t wait to see more pictures so I can live through you. Have fun and happy honeymoon!!!

    • Claire @ Live & Love to Eat November 9, 2011 at 4:07 pm

      Unfortunately our trip was back in October so we’re back in the states, but I’ll be sharing more recaps soon! 🙂 Living in Florence must have been amazing – we stayed right near the Duomo at a little B&B and it was incredible. We could walk everywhere!

  5. Emily Blackburn November 9, 2011 at 3:53 pm

    Now I wish I was back in Venice! Can’t wait to read about the rest of your trip 🙂

  6. Annie @ Naturally Sweet Recipes November 9, 2011 at 4:15 pm

    That looks incredible!! I think Venice should be my next vacation! How fun!

  7. brokencookiesdontcount November 9, 2011 at 5:24 pm

    Venice is unbelievable!! A good friend of mine is there now on a tour. So jealous, but he’s an amazing photographer so I know I’ll feel like I was there.

  8. peaceloveandoats November 9, 2011 at 7:30 pm

    ahh so jealous! your WIAW is way better than mine! haha

  9. IHeartVegetables November 9, 2011 at 11:12 pm

    That wrap looks soooo good!!!!

  10. Shanna, like Banana November 10, 2011 at 2:00 am

    Such gorgeous photos and what a romantic time! I absolutely loved Venice — it was my favorite city in Italy because it was so very unique.

    It’s hard to say what the nicest hotel I stayed in has been…hmmm…maybe somewhere in Madrid? Or perhaps NYC a long time ago?

    I usually try to stick to mid-range 😉

  11. Kris November 10, 2011 at 8:16 am

    What a beautiful time!! I can’t wait to travel to Italy…I’m just excited to travel more now period!

    I would leave Italy fatter than fat as I can pack away a lot of food and all of this looks delish!!!! How fresh tasting was all the cheese???? xxoo

  12. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday – Bologna (Italy, not the lunch meat) Edition « Live and Love to Eat

  13. Pingback: WIAW – Five Star Italian Breakfast « Live and Love to Eat

  14. Pingback: WIAW – Florence (Day One) « Live and Love to Eat

  15. Pingback: What I Ate in Florence (day 2) « Live and Love to Eat

  16. Pingback: Rome, Part 1 « Live and Love to Eat

  17. Pingback: Rome, Part 2 « Live and Love to Eat

  18. Pingback: Rome, Part 2 « Live and Love to Eat

  19. Pingback: To Whom It May Concern… « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

