Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Stir(fry) Crazy

I had a bunch of bell peppers in the fridge that I really didn’t want to go bad – and I ate as many as I could! – and I knew they’d be great with the tofu I bought at Trader Joe’s.

image

I was also cooking for my brother since my parents were out of town, and he loves General Tso’s chicken – but I wanted to make him a healthy version.

image

image

I kept some steamed broccoli separate for his dish before I added it to the rest of my veggies.

image

Delicious broiled tofu – with a simple marinade of garlic, lemon juice, and liquid aminos.

image

I started with a basic sweet and sour sauce and added heat with hot sesame oil and hot sauce.

image

I also tried my first batch of Mama Pea’s Mmm Sauce.

image

Carnivore’s plate:

image

My plate:

image

Perfect for lunch leftovers the next day.

image

As much as I usually love blog recipes (especially Mama Pea’s), the Mmm Sauce just didn’t do it for me.  I’m not a fan of curry, which was the overpowering flavor in my opinion.  What do you think of the Mmm Sauce?

11 responses to “Stir(fry) Crazy

  1. sprint2thetable November 10, 2011 at 2:22 pm

    You didn’t like it?! I loved it, but I am a big burry fan (as evidenced by the curried carnival on my blog today!). If you liked the idea of it, you could always experiment with other flavors. Make it more Mexican-inspired with cumin and cayenne?

  2. char on a mission November 10, 2011 at 7:09 pm

    You know what…I thought the same thing! I thought this Mmm sauce was going to blow my socks off, but it was alright. I definitely thought (from the look of it – before reading the recipe), that it would have a more cheesy flavour. I know she’s made a few variations since that one, so maybe I should give one of those a try instead!

    I always love how creative you are and so darn good you are at adapting recipes. I seriously need to try this more!!! And you’ve reminded me that I need to pick up some tofu soon lol

  3. Melissa November 10, 2011 at 7:23 pm

    Hmmm, I have been wanting to try that, but I’m not sure how much I like nutritional yeast. I haven’t had it in years, but I really hated it when I did. I might just have to give it a try for myself and see.

  4. Alexa @ Simple Eats November 10, 2011 at 10:54 pm

    I’m iffy about trying the MMM sauce because of the nutritional yeast…I just can’t stomach it. Could you taste it in there?

  5. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate November 11, 2011 at 12:51 am

    That dinner looks amazing. Baked tofu is the best!

  6. Carlene's Figments November 12, 2011 at 10:36 pm

    Love broiling tofu! In the beginning my husband (then boyfriend!) thought he hated tofu, but broiling is a total win.

Leave a Reply

