Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Lightened Up – Baked Oatmeal

A recipe for traditional baked oatmeal has 394 calories and 15 grams of fat.

For all of you oat lovers who haven’t tried baked oats yet, you haven’t lived.  And no, the microwaved version isn’t quite the same (in my humble opinion).

Of course you can make lots of variations to this recipe – play with the fillings, fat replacers (pumpkin for applesauce, etc), or use flax/chia eggs.  This time I used a combination of overripe banana and applesauce, with raisins and toasted slivered almonds.

image

Light Baked Oatmeal

2 cups old fashioned oats

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp cinnamon

2 Tbsp slivered almonds, lightly toasted (I did them in a skillet with no fat)

1/4 cup brown sugar

2 Tbsp Splenda blend

1/4 cup raisins

1 egg white, beaten

1 1/2 cups almond milk

1/2 tsp vanilla

1 super ripe banana, mashed

1/2 cup applesauce (I used the sweetened Mott’s variety because it was all I had)

1) Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees.

2) Combine dry ingredients, mixing well.

3) Combine wet ingredients, add to dry, and mix until combined.

4) Pour into greased 8×8 pan and bake 25-35 minutes, until lightly browned and solid.

image

Makes six large servings.  Best served hot.

Approximate nutrition information (per serving): 200 calories, 4 grams of fat, 44 grams of carbohydrate, 6 grams of protein.

image

I had intended to add some protein powder to increase the protein content, but completely forgot.  Some protein “frosting” (powder + almond milk) and a shake of extra cinnamon did the trick.

This breakfast, which feels more like dessert, will keep you full and satisfied for hours!  It’s also good reheated.

Have you tried baked oatmeal yet?  What’s your favorite ingredient combination?

A blueberry coconut, strawberry cocoa, or pumpkin spice version is next on my list!

29 responses to “Lightened Up – Baked Oatmeal

  1. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance November 15, 2011 at 11:05 am

    When I saw this on your post yesterday I was very excited 🙂 The original recipe looks a little too rich for my taste, so thanks for revamping it!

  2. Sweet and Savvy November 15, 2011 at 11:30 am

    I’ve never had baked oatmeal…but this light version sounds amazing! 🙂

  3. allieksmith November 15, 2011 at 1:55 pm

    I never thought to bake oatmeal… this sounds pretty amazing 😀

  4. Shanna, like Banana November 15, 2011 at 1:59 pm

    I’m pretty sure I”d LOVE baked oatmeal. Anything with oats is a win. And as long as it has cinnamon, I’d be happy. But I think maple would be a nice touch as well 😉

  5. sprint2thetable November 15, 2011 at 2:31 pm

    Love the lightened up version! I could make this Sunday and eat it for breakfast all week. Wish I’d seen if before using my super-ripe banana last night. Next week! 🙂

  6. peaceloveandoats November 15, 2011 at 2:57 pm

    I tried baked oatmeal before, Katie, on Chocolate Covered Katie, has several single serving recipes. I thought it was good, but I much prefer my normal oats! Haha I think I just like the volume.

  7. Emily November 15, 2011 at 3:55 pm

    That looks fantastic. I will have to give it a try. I love banana bread, so I bet I will love this. Thanks for sharing!

  8. teabagginit November 15, 2011 at 9:00 pm

    i’ve tried baked oatmeal before and wasn’t a huge fan – it went a little too quick for my liking and then breakfast was over! i like regular (cold) oats because i can savor them & truly feel satisfied!

  9. Brittany @Little b's healthy habits November 15, 2011 at 9:43 pm

    I have been addicted to my overnight oats lately, but this looks really good! Going to have to give it a try for sure 🙂

  10. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate November 16, 2011 at 12:55 am

    I’ve never tried baked oatmeal. I’ll about the rich creaminess of cooking it in milk with bananas and peanut butter 🙂

  11. Alexa @ SimpleEats November 16, 2011 at 3:34 am

    Love baked oatmeal! I like mine with tons of frozen berries in it, and then they get soft and sweet from being in the oven!

  12. Allison @ PickyEatingRD November 16, 2011 at 4:20 am

    Ok so I have yet to try baked oatmeal but I think it would actually be something I would enjoy. I don’t like the texture of regular cooked oatmeal but baked appears to be a bit different!

  13. jessgobananas November 16, 2011 at 12:09 pm

    I have never tried baked oatmeal before! But after this recipe I think I must! 😀

  14. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday – Bologna (Italy, not the lunch meat) Edition « Live and Love to Eat

  15. Gina @ Running to the Kitchen November 17, 2011 at 4:14 am

    Ahh, we did have twin posts a day apart 🙂 Yours looks great, I love the banana in it. I was tempted to do that but thought it might be weird with apples. Next time!
    PS- totally jealous of those polish pancakes in the WIAW post!

  16. Pingback: Childhood Craving « Live and Love to Eat

  17. Pingback: Friday 5 « Live and Love to Eat

  18. Pingback: Lightening Up: 2011 « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

